We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous ”
Review of Bel Soggiorno

Bel Soggiorno
Ranked #13 of 133 Restaurants in San Gimignano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$57
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Locale storico, situato sulla via principale di San Gimignano. L'ambiente e ricercato ed elegante con una terrazza panoramica che si affaccia sulla vallata. Cucina tipica toscana ricca di varieta e scelta.
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

Highly recommended restaurant. Stunning views of Tuscan rolling hills. We came here for lunch and it was just perfect.

We enjoyed the sliced beef for antipasti followed by 2 pasta dishes. Meat ragu and the creamy pistachio cheese pasta with speck were amazing. Grilled lamb cutlets and kebab was another highlight.

A big shout out to Roberto the waiter. Fab service and super attentive. The rest of the crew are amazing too. The white wine recommended by Roberto was crisp and perfect for our lunch dishes. Overall a great experience. Highly recommend for dinner too.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank varneyvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 1 695 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We ate at the restaurant and had a very mediocre meal. The food was just ok... nothing compared to other restaurants we went to in the area. But the worst was their service. They were not welcoming or pleasant at all. The maitre de was barely accommodating. We waited quite a while til someone took our order. The waitress never came back to the table to check on us. They really don’t deserve some of the positive reviews. There are plenty of other really good restaurants.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank firenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Our group enjoyed our dinner at Bel Soggiorno so much that we went back for lunch a few days later and were lucky enough to book a table by the window!
The food is so delicious. Some highlights were: the pistachio cream ravioli, truffle linguini, and the wild boar polenta. The pasta is so fresh and the sauces so rich that you need to savour every bite! One of my travel mates shared three dishes with me so I was able to really sample a good selection of the menu choices. The staff is happy to plate two individual servings when sharing one choice which is nicer than trying to split the dish at the table between yourselves. This is definitely a restaurant you need to enjoy when visiting San Gimignano!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed an excellent meal for our anniversary at Bel Soggiorno. The room is comfortable with high windows that offer a view of the countryside. The service was some of the best we had in Italy, knowing the exact time to check and helpful with suggestions. Our meal was excellent. Of particular note was the pork loin wrapped in pastry and the fried vegetables as a side. All of our dishes were excellently prepared. They have any extensive wine list with offerings for everyone's price point. In our two visits to San Gimignano, this was our favorite dinner restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Bel Soggiorno ristorante is the dining room of the hotel of the same name. Service was inobtrusive and helpful. A table along the high windows affords a great vista over the tuscan hills. Wine list is extensive and caters for all price points. We had a 2012 Tuscan rosso for 24 euro. The lamb tenderloin was juicy and the slow cooked cinghiale on a bed of polenta with fried vegables as a side were a treat. A complimentary limoncello at the end topped the evening of nicely. Not the cheapest place to eat in San Gimignano but we thought it was readonble value for the ambience and fare provided.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Soggiorno also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Bel Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing