We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect apartment to appreciate Lucca”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Appartamento Paola

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Carol H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect apartment to appreciate Lucca”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ideally located 2 streets back from the main gate into the old walled town. Ideal if you have a car because you can park but are less than a 5 min walk to Santa Maria Gate. Internally it is a mix of Italian antiques and modern furniture all very comfortable and the apartment is very tastefully decorated. Everything you could possible need is provided. Even with 2 young kids (7 and 9) we had space and they loved the bedroom. Outside the walled town you live like a local and the delis/shops and cafes on your doorstep are fab. Try and learn a wee bit of Italian if you don't speak any as it makes life a lot easier here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IAINY825
EDINBURGH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at Appartamento Paola”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We, a family of four, had a great stay here in October 2015. The owner, Massimiliano, and his son were so helpful on our arrival, picking us up from the train station at 9pm (he also dropped us off at the bus station when we were leaving).
The apartment was roomy, spotless, comfortable and had all the facilities you would need , including wi-fi. Its location was ideal i.e. close to the city wall (North) with cafes, ice cream parlours and pizza places just round the corner. A 15 minute walk to the west is a large supermarket which had all the provisions you would need for your stay.
Lucca old town was just the other side of the wall, with the north end of its main street (Via Fillungo) in front of you, just after the bike rental shops.
It is a 20-25 minute brisk walk through the old town to get to the train station which was just beyond the south wall - we did this several mornings when we went by train to Pisa and Florence.
All in all I would highly recommend this apartment and if we ever return to this part of Italy we would definitely try to rent Appartamento Paola once again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: space and comfort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R_and_D_N...
Waikato
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good apartment overall”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is spacious, clean, and conveniently located a few minutes walk outside the walls of Lucca. It was quiet, sunny, good wifi, and generally with good amenities, including a clothes washer. The master bedroom was large, lounge and dining are a good size for up to 4 guests (there were three of us). Good stores nearby, and a 15 mins walk away is a full supermarket.
There were a couple of shortcomings. There is no air-con, one fan is suppied and this is not enough to cool both bedrooms. Leaving windows open allows noise and bugs in, so that's not an option. There are not two full bathrooms, the shower has been removed from the 2nd bathroom, so it is toilet, bidet and handbasin only. The large bed in the master bedroom was uncomfortable for us. We've stayed in approx 20 hotels in the last 4 months, and this was the only one that gave us both back pains - but that may not be the case for you.
Unfortunately on the day we left Massimiliano forgot that he had offered us a ride to the station. When we called after he was 30 mins overdue, he was apologetic and called a taxi for us (we don’t speak Italian). Fortunately we had allowed extra time and got to the station with a few minutes to spare.

I would be happy to stay again in this apartment anytime apart from the height of summer when the lack of air-con would be a problem for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2015
Ms. Rae
Thank you for your review regarding Apartment Paola.
I understand your discomfort for the lack of air conditioning, covered in our maintenance programs and will be available next year, unfortunately this summer was particularly hot, but this is not intended as a justification.
I'm sorry for your pain in the back, but I do not think it can be the fault of the bed, no previous guest has ever complained.
The shower rooms are just one as described, and this for our choice.
I apologize for being late, and I have no excuses, actually, my English is not good.
Sincere greetings
Massimiliano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy J
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Apartment Paola is beautiful, exceptionally clean, has everything you would need for a long or short stay, the owner is very flexible and helpful and its less than 5 minutes walk to the entrance to the walls on the north side. It's situated on a fairly busy street, with restaurants, bars and a good few shops only a minute away. The nearest big supermarket is also only a 10 min walk if that. (take a big strong bag or trolley though, as 10 minutes in the height of summer with carrier bags, seems like miles) The only problem we had was the WIFI, it was intermittent but I think this is reasonably standard for Italy. You can get some English channels on the TV with a quick change on the language settings menu. We wouldn't hesitate to return. Thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan985
Kefalonia Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High class, very comfortable apartment just outside Lucca's walls.”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a large, beautifully decorated apartment with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. It has a dishwasher; washing machine; full cooker etc. and the furnishings are exactly as shown in the photographs. It was exceptionally clean.

The owner was kind enough to collect us from Lucca train station & drive us to the apartment. He did the same when we were leaving. Thank you Massimiliano.

In the next street there is every shop you could possibly need for self-catering. It's very convenient.

It was very hot the 4 days we stayed so a fan had been provided. We are told that next year the apartment will have air conditioning which will make it an even more comfortable place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing