We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable stay, in a great location for touring...”
other travellers have booked this property
Relax on the terrace and in the garden surrounded by beautiful views of mountains and olive groves
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax on the terrace and in the garden surrounded by beautiful views of mountains and olive groves
Meals on the patio and sunbathing on the lawn surrounded by spectacular views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Relax on the terrace and in the garden surrounded by beautiful views of mountains and olive groves
Meals on the patio and sunbathing on the lawn surrounded by spectacular views
The terrace is in the shade in the afternoon, a relief after a day of sight-seeing!
View across garden
A wonderful spot for sun-bathing, in the sun all day with beautiful views
Relax in the garden
House and garden from South
Complete kitchen corner
With the sofabed out, there's still plenty of room and another sofa.
Newly refurbished bathroom
Aperativi in the garden, looking towards Castelvecchio
Swimming Pool
Walk from the house through woods and up the mountain to be rewarded by this view of Castelvecchio
A short walk through olive groves to the village of Colle di Compito (view from house)
View from house towards Castelvecchio
House viewed from the North
View from up in the woods of Colle di Compito (house is on far right of photo)
View of Castelvecchio di Compito from the garden
Climb the Guinigi Tower for this fantastic view of Lucca's rooftops and surrounding mountains.
The beautiful beach at Marina di Vecchiana
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Northernf...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay, in a great location for touring Tuscany”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a week's comfortable stay at the Colle Farmhouse whilst touring Tuscany in July. The accommodation was nicely presented, clean and well-equipped and provided a convenient base to visit places like Lucca, Florence and Pisa, as well as slightly further afield to Cinque Terre.

Lucy and Clive were excellent hosts, always available to offer advice and guidance, but equally when we were relaxing in the garden we had a sense of privacy which was also very considerate. Their sons (3 of their 4 boys being around during our stay) were also polite and pleasant to be around on the few occasions the garden area was shared.

July this year was very hot, but the inside rooms remain quite cool with the shutters closed, although the desk top fan in the bedroom was an essential piece of kit at night! Although we didn't spend a lot of time at the house (we went with the intention of seeing the region) when we did find time to chill in the garden, midges and mozzies can be a problem so be sure to take plenty of sprays, creams and deterrents! The plunge pool was fabulous to help cool down, and was well used.

We enjoyed nearby Lucca - we visited at the time of their summer music festival which was a bit of a bonus, but even just wandering the streets was fun, with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants to break the day up!

More locally there are a handful of dining options - il Giardinetto looked great but was closed the night we wanted to eat, but we managed a glass of wine outside on another occasion which was pleasant. A cheap dinner option was La Cicala E La Formica in nearby Capannori - nothing grand but great value for money, and loads of food!

We would happily recommend Colle Farmhouse to be used as we did - it seems Lucy and Clive have responded positively to previous reviewers by continually improving their offering which is to their credit. This is a beautiful region, and if you want a rustic Tuscan experience then this certainly ticks that box.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hospitality
Liked least: Midges and mozzies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rich189
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Base to Explore Tuscany”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Have just returned from a week's stay at Colle Farmhouse with my wife and baby.

The holiday rental apartment is light and airy and has al the facilities needed to enjoy a break in the Tuscan countryside. It is within driving distance of Pisa and Lucca and offers a great base to explore further afield but is itself located in the Tuscan countryside giving a real taste of Italy.

Lucy and Clive (the villa owners) have a wealth of local knowledge and are more than willing to help with any queries you may have and have a wealth of experience and knowledge of the best restaurants to eat at, places to see etc.

Overall - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lenniezon...
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014

What a wonderful week we had in Lucca. The rural location was what we had hoped for, genuine Tuscany in both landscape and architecture. Acres of olive groves, charming local bars, mountain walks and the slow rhythm you would expect to life. What was really great was the contrast to Lucca, Pisa and Florence which we had only seen before in magazines, but quick to get to by car (although we took the train to Florence!. The beach is just over half an hour drive but is well worth the effort. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Would happily recommend it and have done so already to a couple of our friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowler123...
Blois, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The owners were hospitable and the apartment was lovely. Being near a small village we had been under the impression the place would have been quieter and more private.
Having a car allowed us to explore Tuscany and the apartment was a good base to return to. We brought local produce and cooked every night. There is limited cooking utensils, no microwave or toaster and no staple ingredients provided so you need to provide everything.Having to share the family washing machine for two weeks was awkward so we did a lot of hand washing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owners were great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to respond to some of your thoughts. The apartment is in a typical Italian courtyard on the edge of the village, shared with 3 families who live here full-time, so there is some noise and comings and goings. The advantages are that you can experience real life here in Italy, and the convenience of good road communications, but some may prefer more isolation in the mountains.
We provide a welcome basket with tea, coffee, water and wine, but the kitchen is not stocked with any other food for hygiene reasons. As indicated in the details we don't provide a microwave or toaster, mainly because of the risk of overloading the 3KW limit allowed by the Italian electricity supplier. The washing machine is no longer listed as a facility, although guests are still welcome to use it or there is a 24hour launderette 5km away. Thank you for your review which will help other travellers make an informed choice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing