We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Earth in Heaven”
Front facade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front facade
East Garden View from the Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Front facade
East Garden
View from the Balcony
Rear Facade
Entrance Hall
Living room, facing South
Dining Room
Eat in kitchen with professional stove
Breakfast Room
Study/library
Wisteria tunnel
Upper Hall
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Master Bathroom
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5- Blue Room
Outdoor dining
Swimming pool
Dining Room set for dinner
Pool - looking West
Pool - looking South
The Blue Bedroom
The olive grove
View of the church from the rear meadow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
ctice2016
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Earth in Heaven”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Bell'Estate is a beautiful property to which I've returned twice with family and friends. The house is immaculately maintained, the grounds are exceptionally beautiful, and the wonderful swimming pool is very large, wonderful for lap-swimming and overlooks the hills south of Lucca. We were so very joyful, happy and comfortable in the house, or lemon grove, playing table tennis, or swimming, and dining al fresco on wonderful local produce, that we could think of no other holiday we'd enjoyed so much; we plan to return every year for as long as we can. The housekeeper and groundskeeper are wonderful, discreet, professional, and the villa and grounds glow with their loving care. There are many lovely details and thoughtful touches in the bedrooms and house too numerous to fit in this review. Bell'Estate is a very special place indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I got stung by a nasty fly. That was no one's fault@
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s s
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid it!”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

I visited this place during the week beginning 7th August. I was not planning to write a review as both my husband (review awaiting submission) and my friend (gautam S) were giving a balanced and constructive feedback. It seems from the owner's response to the previous review (and all other slightly negative reviews in the past, not just our group) that she is not interested in anything but positive feedback. Unfortunately this place is not as great as claimed by her!

- Yes, the furniture has an antique feel to it but does antique furniture need to have dust and dirt on it? We could feel the dust rise into our noses as we sat down!
- We would have gone to Dubai if we wanted to and it is not upto the owner to tell us that. We weren't looking for a 'modern' villa but a clean and easy to use place. Specially the kitchen which was dirty, had sticky surfaces and we had to wash all the crockery and cutlery before use as they were not up to any standards, Modern or antique!
- Mosquitoes were a problem and my friend (ref to previous review) even said it is out of owner's control. Having said that it did hamper our holiday and the ability to enjoy the outdoors and its important for other people to be forewarned! We didn't ask for the area not to be fumigated!
- Finally, even though the owner had sent the floor plans to us, the sizes were not mentioned. The bathroom sizes were a shock to put it mildly.

It seems like the owner doesn't want to make any improvements, seeing her response to previous reviews. I would have given this villa a 3* but seeing the owner's attitude has put me off this even more and I WOULD NOT recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
This guest is part of the same group, which gave us a review with 4 stars, then went to 3 as a reaction to my unguarded answer, and is now down to 1 star. In thinking about my own reaction, and with the benefit of a few days’ interval, I will say that perhaps I am too emotionally attached to this place to not take things personally. Its upkeep occupies me entirely throughout the year, even as I am working on my actual job. I do welcome constructive criticism, have in the past, and will in the future. Some of the comments from this group were useful: for instance one person complained about the absence of a microwave. I have never needed one, but I will get one in the end, and make it available for whomever needs it. My sister will be happy about it, too.
In the many years that we have rented this house, we have never, absolutely never, had a complaint about cleanliness. I feel that I can respectfully and firmly disagree with this qualification.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkkersTri...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overall 3/5. Some minor improvements by the owner would make a decent difference.”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Note to all: This is a very long review. For those who don’t need all the detail, you can read the “Overall” section.

I have tried to provide as much detail as possible and have spent hours on this review – I didn’t have to, but I believe in “giving back” and informing others. Websites like Tripadvisor have been of enormous help to me over the years, and I think it’s only fair to try to help and inform others.

Note to the owner of the villa, Alessandra: Please take my review in the manner in which it is meant – objective, balanced, with both positive and negative points, and suggestions for improvement. This is nothing personal – you and I haven’t even met.

We were a group of 11 (6 adults; 5 children age range 9-15), staying mid-August 2016.

Overall (3/5)
- This is a decent “three star” equivalent villa in terms of the quality of its facilities (kitchen, bathrooms, bedrooms, living areas) and its practicability and convenience – for that “three star” quality, it is overpriced. I have not done a detailed comparison of prevailing prices of other accommodation in Lucca or Tuscany or Italy etc. but we have stayed in many villas around the world over the years and I believe the sum of those experiences gives me a reasonable feel of “value for money”.

- There are pros and cons to staying in an old country house. The pros include the charming elements of the house e.g. big size, heavy wooden bolted doors, shuttered windows, antiques and mementos collected over generations by the family etc. The cons are that there is poor natural light, low circulation in a number of areas in the house, dated facilities, poor plumbing (kitchen, bathrooms). Depending on one’s perspective, the house either has a “charming, rustic” feel or a “tired, needs updating” feel – that is purely subjective, and I want to avoid subjectivity/emotion in this review.

- The villa is 3-3.5/5 but charges and markets itself as a better quality and standard than that. Based on scanning through Tripadvisor, VRBO, homeaway, I expect Alessandra (the owner) to reply robustly to me. I can’t stop her doing that. What I can do is to stay objective in my review. After that, it’s up to the individual reader to decide whether to stay here or not.

- One cannot expect the owners to make drastic structural changes to the house (more windows for natural light, replan kitchen, replan bathrooms, drainage etc.) due to the cost. But also note that if you plan any structural changes in the future, that does not mean you have to lose the character of the property or the charm of staying in a country home. And if some of the internal bathroom or kitchen walls are not supporting walls, then changes are possible. At the same time, the owner could make some less drastic adjustments that would benefit guests, some minor (professional cleaning company, mosquito nets on all windows, shower curtain in main bathroom, aircon in all bedrooms, fans in all the rooms not just the bedrooms), some major and possibly structural (update, redesign bathrooms, plumbing, drainage, replan kitchen/dining room area). So the reason I am writing this is that potential future renters are informed and prepared when they make their decision to choose to stay here or not.

Impact of Mosquitoes on overall stay

- They do impact the holiday and your ability to enjoy the outdoors of the house to its full extent (depending on time of year, time of day, weather conditions etc.).
- We stayed in August: lovely sunny days, hot (~low 30s C/high 80s F), not particularly humid. You can definitely enjoy the outside from 9am to 5pm with relatively few mosquitoes and midges (smaller flies that don’t bite, but do irritate). Before 9am, there are many midges, especially by the pool (they seem to come out in the cooler morning and late afternoon temperatures). And in the later afternoon (5pm onwards), the mosquitoes do become more active and it does really mean that it is not possible to stay outside (e.g. for sunset or for dinner on the outside table).
- The outside dinner table has an overhead light, but putting that on after dusk is an open invitation to mosquitoes, so an outdoor evening meal is unworkable. And with outdoor lights off, it is too dark (you could keep kitchen etc. lights on, doors shut, while outside but that still attracts mosquitoes to where you are sitting at the outside dinner table). We used insect repellents, creams, sprays, Citronella candles etc. but realistically you can’t stave off the mosquitoes. That compels you to stay inside.
- Inside the house (this applies to daytime and night-time) you can open the windows which have mosquito nets to get some circulation but, for a house this size, it is insufficient and the house does become stuffy. The owner has given some very helpful and detailed pointers in her guidebook/guestbook re mosquitoes– for sure, she has thought long and hard how to make her guests’ stay more comfortable.
- I am sure the owner’s family has enjoyed the house for many many years, but they have the benefit of knowing the house inside out and know how to get the most out of it, and the various work-arounds to issues like mosquitoes, light, circulation, baths etc. (and as said, the owner has tried to give pointers in her guidebook). But as a 1-week guest, it’s not really practicable to be on top of these from Day 1 onwards….realistically by the end of the week, once we had worked out a number of the work-arounds, we were far better at making the most of the house and all its benefits, but by that stage it was the end of the week.
- Suggestion: Is there any bio-/eco-friendly insecticide that you can spray around the property on a regular basis? Or plants etc. that you can plant that help mitigate mosquitoes and midges? I understand that this is the middle of a luscious verdant area – one can’t control or fight nature, but maybe there are products and plants out there that can help reduce the issue? For information, we have stayed in numerous villas in Italy and around the world located in wonderful green areas such as Lucca, and they have managed to treat the surrounding areas to prevent mosquitoes, midges, ants etc.
- Suggestion: Put mosquito nets on all doors, windows of the house so that guests know they can open all doors/windows as they please to allow more light, circulation into the house while still preventing mosquitoes.

Bathrooms (2.5/5) (see photos*)
- The villa is advertised as 3 bathrooms. On paper, that is correct, but realistically 2 are galley bathrooms (long and narrow) – they are functional and clean but not comfortable.
- The owner does provide a floorplan before you book, but it does not have dimensions. I measured some of the dimensions of one of the galley bathrooms to give future potential renters an idea of what to expect if they rent this villa: bathroom width 1 metre (= 39 inches); shower tray dimensions 55cm x 75 cm (21” x 29”).
- If you are having a shower in one of the galley bathrooms, you will come into contact with the shower curtain (it will stick to you) and the walls – for information, everyone in our group is average height, average build. They shower curtain and walls appear clean but this inevitable contact may not be to everyone’s taste, and the bathroom and shower size may not be appropriate for all.
- The galley bathroom shower trays are prone to occasional blocking/flooding – maybe only when more than 1 bathroom is in use, maybe there’s only 1 common outlet for all 3 bathrooms, I don’t know. But fortunately (or unfortunately) it blocked when the cleaner was there, so we were able to show her the problem. Suggestion: improve the drainage, plumbing (I know this is more than just a cosmetic fix, but a blocking shower tray is not to your benefit as a landlord).
- The main middle bathroom – excellent size. But no shower curtain. That is an easy fix. The ceiling is high, but you can buy shower curtains and tracks that can be affixed to the walls and don’t need to run up all the way to the ceiling.
- Galley bathroom window doesn’t open for ventilation (I don’t know about the other bathrooms). Suggestion: adjust to allow window opening (with mosquito net).

Bedrooms (4/5)
- All bedroom sizes excellent. Sufficient storage in the ones I looked at (2 of them). Not all bedrooms have over-bed mosquito nets (the guidebook says they have added mosquito nets over each bed but that was not the case during our stay – from memory, only the 2 bedrooms with air conditioning had mosquito nets).
- The 2 air-conditioned rooms are wonderful – given the lack of air circulation in the house and the impracticality of keeping windows open at night for fear of a mosquito slipping through a hole in a net (see later), these rooms are perfect. One of the other rooms I slept in for a few nights did not have air conditioning and, even with a fan, it was a restless, broken sleep at best.
- Main beds in all the rooms are very comfortable.
- 1 extra single bed was provided on request. It was very poor – minimal spring resistance and minimal firmness. A straightforward solution would be for the owner to buy 1 or 2 decent quality portable extra single beds which they can provide if guest numbers require.
- There are a decent number of power points in the bedrooms. Suggestion: provide additional multiple adapters so that one can run/charge a couple of devices off one power point (safety requires that you don’t run too many devices off one point, but you can easily run/charge a couple of phones off one point safely).

Kitchen (2.5/5)(see photos*)
- Too narrow. Too small for a house of this size, catering for 10 people. The photos show my wife and son in the kitchen (i.e. just 2 of our group of 11) and you can see the lack of space between the cupboards, drawers and the table, chairs.
- Cupboards, drawers (the wooden doors, more than the handles): not clean; sticky to touch. Suggestion: your cleaners are very good to excellent for the most part, but these kitchen doors, surfaces require attention and there is a simple solution – arrange a professional cleaning company to come in. Even though one opens cupboards, drawers using handles, one still comes into contact with the doors.
- Cutlery, crockery: some were greasy and dirty to touch, some had dried food on them. Suggestion: cleaners to check that all cutlery, crockery, pans etc are properly clean, and clean or run a dishwasher as required.
- Spoons: there are sugar spoons, teaspoons and pretty large serving spoons; but there are no cereal spoons. Suggestion: please buy some cereal spoons, it’s a cheap, easy solution.
- No microwave. Not a necessity to have, but in this day and age, no reason not to have one, especially given low cost and range of sizes available. It would be helpful and quicker for, say, mothers with young babies for sterilisation etc to use a microwave than to boil everything (that’s just one example).
- Toaster takes 5 minutes; not ideal, but not a problem.
- Kitchen sink doesn’t drain sufficiently well, especially for a house that says it caters for 10 people. Also, kitchen sink drainage hole is small, so it kept blocking up with food etc. Suggestion: improve drainage, sink system when you refurbish/update the property.
- Some shelves sagging and need replacing or reinforcing (especially some kitchen cupboard shelves).

Natural Light (2/5) (see photos*)
- Common areas (main living room, upstairs hall) are too dark and have poor natural light away from the windows (and the window shutters also impede light). As said above, one would not expect you, nor is it practical, to add windows to the house, and it is clear that you have tried to address the situation by proving numerous lamps etc. in the common areas. Suggestion: use bulbs and lampshades that provide a brighter, more natural light as opposed to a dimmer, duller yellow light. Provide more lamps, lighting in the areas of the house that are further away from windows.

Stiff doors, locks
- Some need lubrication, maintenance (especially ground floor guest bathroom door and lock).

Furnishings, coverings (3/5)
- Sofa coverings etc. are tired, worn out and dusty. I totally understand that they are likely original and very old, and therefore important to maintaining the feel and character of the property, but a professional clean would be a benefit.

Washing machine (3/5)
- Guidebook says wash cycle takes more than 1 hour. Sonia (owner’s sister) told us it takes 2 hours. Washing machine is old. Solution: Buy a new one (and with a dryer facility) – they are not expensive, and it will also be more efficient on electricity (although that would be offset by adding a dryer facility). Alessandra has commented on previous responses regarding time (e.g. with regard to the time it takes for a Nespresso machine to make a coffee) that “you are on vacation, in Tuscany, in a glorious villa.. and you worry about wasting 60 seconds of your time? Really? Again, very sad.” I understand her sentiments but at the same time there is an easy, low cost and more eco-friendly solution by buying a new machine, so there’s no downside in doing it. Investing in these minor, cosmetic items for your property can only add to the comfort of your guests’ stay and benefit you as a landlord.

Outside patio area furniture (i.e. outside the kitchen doors, where the garden swing is) (3/5) – suggestion: buy better quality, more robust furniture
- Poor quality chairs (I am referring to the foldable chairs near the garden swing, not the ones around the outdoor dining table). They are not stable, prone to toppling over or buckling.
- Garden swing needs adjusting (on the forward swing, it tends to hit the right hand side frame). If it cannot be adjusted, then a suggestion would be to buy a new one.

Available seating (2.5/5)
- Insufficient seating for a house that caters for 10 people e.g. main dining table has 8 chairs, kitchen has 6 chairs (it’s too small for any more), pool area has 4 deckchairs, 4 foldable chairs. Suggestion: please buy more chairs, especially poolside deckchairs, so that there are sufficient for 10 guests at any time. And please buy better quality, more robust ones (as commented in ‘Outside patio area’ section).

Swimming pool (4.5/5)
- Excellent. The highlight of the villa. Great size, lots of fun.
- More deckchairs please (10 in total please).
- Midges (small flies) are there in the cooler hours (before 9am, after 5pm, and even more so by 7pm) which means you can’t sit around the pool comfortably before/after those hours.
- No toilet, outdoor shower facilities by the pool. The pool is about 60-75 seconds’ walk from the main house, which is obviously manageable but maybe something for the owner to consider as and when they do a refurbishment/update of the premises.

Table Tennis table (5/5)
- Great. Lots of fun. Good quality outdoor bats and sufficient balls. Table is positioned in the shade under a tree – great.

Linen/Towels (2/5)
- Towels are not changed during the week. Suggestion: as with many hotels, villas, motels, b&bs, guesthouses etc., guests should be given the (free) option of changing their towels, say, every 2 days (when the cleaners come to clean the house). This way, an eco-friendly option is given to the guests and they will appreciate that. Using the same towel for a week (especially in the summertime heat and with swimming, when you are likely showering at least twice a day) is not ideal. Similarly, bedsheets are not changed for the week – given the low cost required to offer this as a (free) option to guests, offer this, say, in the middle of the week (on the Wednesday when the cleaners come for their 2nd visit of the week).
- One could argue that guests could wash the towels and bedsheets themselves if they choose to, but people don’t usually have to do that on a 1 week holiday stay.

WiFi (3/5)
- It is intermittent and it is not available in various areas of the house (too far away from WiFi hub or booster, I guess). Not available in the outdoor areas (garden swing area, outdoor dining area, pool). I am not a fan of WiFi while on a lovely country holiday in Tuscany, but we live in an increasingly connected world. Solution: either provide WiFi that works everywhere, all the time, or not provide it at all (“escape from it all!”). Add more boosters, and obtain better WiFi package from provider that has greater consistency.

Gate remote control (3/5)
- 1 didn’t work (tried to call Sonia, the owner’s sister, but no reply, see below), so we only had 1 working remote. This did cause us inconvenience as different groups came/left the villa at different times.

Car access
- Please note that the main gate is tight if you have a large car or van (we had a 9-seater van). So be careful on entry/exit, and also on turning circle once you exit the property.

Management during the week (2.5/5)
- Sonia (owner’s sister) met us on arrival and gave us a very detailed overview of the house. Useful, important information but also very long (and quite a stern manner), especially if guests have had a long journey to get to the villa. Suggestion: Give a shortened version of the key points to start with, offer to come back after an hour or so once guests have had time to refresh? Additionally, leave detailed notes in the appropriate rooms (e.g. kitchen appliances, washing machine operation, importance of locking doors) so that Sonia doesn’t have to run through everything herself.
- We called Sonia 3 times during our stay for issues relating to the house. She didn’t return our calls. She says that no calls were registered on her phone. This will be a case of “he said, she said” but hopefully my review is sufficiently balanced and objective to give credibility to the fact that I have no reason to lie. We did not contact the owner, Alessandra – we could have even though she was in New York, but the matters were not so significant as to disturb her. Also at the time, we were expecting Sonia to call back in a timely manner and resolve the issues.
- Sonia pointed out a torn mosquito net on arrival (top floor, front balcony). She said she would have it addressed during our stay, it wasn’t.
- Sonia greeted us with her dog, Argo. I love dogs and had lots of fun with Argo on arrival. Other guests may not be so dog-friendly and some people are scared of dogs. Sonia did take Argo outside when she realised this, but it’s probably better to let guests know in advance that she has or is bringing a dog, or leave Argo at her house when she comes to greet guests the first time.
- Home-cooked meal offered by Sonia at Euro35pp excluding drinks. We did not have this so I do not know how good it is, but purely from a cost perspective, an outside meal at decent quality restaurants in the vicinity, including drinks, was ranging Eur15-25pp (our most expensive one being Eur30pp, at a very high quality restaurant in Lucca).

* - having trouble uploading photos, will try to sort out with Tripadvisor

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
I appreciate the long, detailed, and thoughtful review. Many of the issues this guest raises I do not agree with, but I understand and respect that we all have different tastes, needs and sensitivities. Other issues, I would say, are objectively inaccurate. For instance, the bathroom windows are all operable, and all have screens. The light issue disappears when you open the shutters (please see the photos of the house to see the amount of light the house receives). I will let the readers draw their own conclusions about the negative comment on my sister’s dinner rates when those guests had not tried her services, but I will add that I recently had dinner at La Buca di Sant’Antonio in Lucca, and Il Porto, in Viareggio, in both cases spending 70Euros per person. About the mosquitoes, we were at the house in June this year and in August last year, and we always swim late at the pool and then have dinners outside with many guests of all ages. At dinner, our table is lit by candles, we have incense burning, and we hang out well into the lovely night with absolutely no issue with mosquitoes or insects of any kind. In any case, I'm very sorry that these guests experienced this problem. The list is too long to continue. If anyone is interested in my specific reaction/explanation point by point, please contact me and I will be happy to share my thoughts. These particular guests probably felt offended by my caustic answer to their first review. I was rash in answering, maybe because so much energy and love goes into the upkeep of a house like this that those comments really struck me. I am an architect, and I have plans and projects concerning this house that will keep me busy for the rest of my life. They will be implemented as I painstakingly gain approval from the local authorities, which is a long process. As the improvements are made, they will be documented on these pages by photos and descriptions. Many guests have come and loved this house and its atmosphere - so much so in fact that they return year after year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GautamS16
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Homely not Luxury”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful



Review #15601111 “Bell' Estate”

Homely not luxury
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Depending on your expectations, this place is going to either wow you or leave you slightly disappointed.

The description of luxury is a subjective one and changes with time. Having stayed at newer properties around the world, I think its questionable whether the home is still in the luxury category as bathrooms are small, furniture needs updating, a/c not everywhere, kitchen on the smallish side, wifi not throughout property etc, etc. The only reasons there is a debate at all are the undoubted luxury of the pool and the grounds. I would also add that all these facts were known to us before we booked, but having read past reviews the shortfalls seemed somehow very understated.

As a family home it is first class. I can understand the pride of the owners and am slightly envious of them. Family homes tend to have imperfections which add to the charm and in this case, rustic feel. Anyone looking for this kind of experience is going to be very pleased.

The owners themselves were very responsive and Alessandra was a joy to communicate with. She even called from New York to make sure we were settled in properly. Sonia was less available than we had anticipated, though she was able to orientate us very thoroughly. She also organised the cleaning etc very well.

Though totally out of the owners control, the mosquitos were a problem to us. It made it very difficult to sit outside especially in the evenings even though we used repellents and other such measures. That was probably the biggest let down, and may have changed the whole mood of the party.
I dont know what the owners could do, but they should give this some thought as other reviewers have mentioned the problem. Perhaps consider citric plants, insecticides, nets, check drains or other areas that might attract mosquitos, etc.

In summary, this is a flawed luxury property making it a fine family home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
It seems rather unfair to complain about the bathrooms if you have seen plans of the house before booking, and accepted the layout. I always send our guests the plans, specifically so that they will know what to expect. The location of the air-conditioners is likewise described in detail. As for the decor, if our guests wanted new and "updated" furniture, perhaps they should have chosen a nice condo in Dubai, not a villa in Tuscany full of antiques - which yes, I will happily admit, are not updated. The Dubai idea would also solve the mosquito problem quite nicely. It is absurd to get somehow blamed for mosquitoes in the area. Anywhere you go in Italy in the Summer has mosquitoes: the problem has only got worse with global warming, but I can hardly be expected to solve that single-handedly (I wish!). We do fumigate regularly, but since these guests were traveling with children, I specifically told our gardener to not spray that week. Indeed, no good deed goes unpunished.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCW990
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Villa in Northern Tuscany”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This lovely, elegant country house was a perfect base for our extended family's trip to Lucca and Northern Tuscany. Everyone said "Wow!" when we arrived. Ten of us fit here comfortably in five bedrooms on the second floor. The 90' long pool offers total privacy. A well appointed kitchen and herb garden allowed us to prepare a wonderful meal that we ate outdoors on a long table under a large Linden tree. Lucca is a 10 minute drive away and worth several days of sightseeing. Florence is an hour away by car or train. Pisa and the beach resort Viareggio are closer. The touristy Tuscan hill towns south of Florence were too far out of reach, so we spent a day north of Lucca, heading toward the Alps, and discovered the beautiful, unspoiled tiny hill town of Castiglione di Garfagnana, about a 15 minute drive north of Castelnuovo, in terrain that is more verdant and lush rather than arid and brown. This villa in Northern Tuscany is truly a memorable place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Elegance and privacy
Liked least: Hard to find in the dark at night
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing