We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment and gracious host especially for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious and bright living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious and bright living room
Second bedroom with balcony Master bedroom with ensuite. Spacious closets.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Spacious and bright living room
Second bedroom with balcony
Master bedroom with ensuite. Spacious closets.
Kitchen with modern appliances-dishwasher, oven, microwave, coffee makers, toaster, fridge and more
Third bedroom
Spacious living room
More dining space
3rd bedroom with sofa bed
Second bathroom with big shower
Small balcony where you can sip your wine and watch local life go by, la dolce vita!
Designer bathroom with shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
spikedesm...
Redwood City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartment and gracious host especially for longer stays.”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoy travel and can't help being tourists - but we do like to try to experience what it would be like to actually live in cities we visit and this apartment fit the bill perfectly. Some of the highlights:

1. The apartment has plenty of space for a small family which was great especially if you are a longer trip with your family and need to have a bit of breathing room.
2. The owner of the apartment was very helpful - I believe she was traveling when we were in Florence but was very responsive to text messages.
3. The gentleman who showed us the apartment (Richard) was also very helpful - not only did he show us the apartment but also took the time to walks us around the neighborhood and point out the bakery, caffè, bus stop, supermarket, etc.

Between the owner and Richard it really felt like we had extended family in Florence looking after us!

4. You are really in "local" Florence - as noted above, there are plenty of amenities close by (great to get a quick bite at the bakery and caffè before walking into the center) and you have a great opportunity to practice your Italian with the locals.
5. The amenities in the apartment were as advertised - good WiFi, washer/dryer and ironing board (these seem like necessities when traveling) - also a nice kitchen (which we did not really use)

TIPS
1. You can walk downtown - as advertised and in other reviews it's about 20 - 25 minutes if you walk; you can also take buses (which we didn't take advantage of). It is a long walk but you can familiarize yourself with caffès, bakeries, gelaterias, etc. along the way to break it up.
2. I would not recommend walking to / from the train station with luggage - I thought at the time it was a good idea to walk from the train station but there can be allot of construction and traffic if you don't know the best routes around the city.
3. Speaking of routes around the city, the best way we found to get to the center was to walk under the train tracks and cut straight through the Piazza della Vittoria (which is just south east of the apartment) and keep going across a main road (SS67) at which point you basically keep going straight (veer a bit left as you cross SS67) and keep going until you you hit Via Giorgio and take a right. Now you will be walking directly towards the Duomo and will pass the Galleria dell'Accademia on your way. The Piazza della Vittoria also has a station where you can refill water bottles (both still and sparkling) so it servers as a good landmark for your walk.
4. If you enjoy pizza you should check out the Pizzeria Spera which is a few minute walk from the apartment (very close to the Piazza della Vittoria) - it boasts winning a world championship (the pizza that won is on the menu). It can fill up relatively quickly at night so it might be a good idea to try to get there when it opens.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Wow! What a great review. Thank you for taking the time, guests like you really do make it all worthwhile! Hope you will be back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
englishma...
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“spotless, spacious - and a very helpful owner”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We enjoyed the spotlessly clean flat, about 20 minutes walk into town. We liked that it was in a residential area, with supermarket, deli and bakery nearby. A reasonable walk into town -which was heaving with people. Nice to have relative calm. Two bathrooms were essential as we were two couples. The owner, who was not in the country but was ably assisted, got us a doctor's home visit quickly when we needed one. Lift up to second floor. Very happy with this rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: helpful owner
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review and so happy that your friend is feeling better. We try to do our best. I hope you will be back soon! A presto!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathybuss...
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot!”
Reviewed 17 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

My sisters and I stayed here last September. The apartment was lovely. If we go back to Florence we will definitely stay here again.
The apartment is not centrally located, we had about a 20 minute walk to the main area of town. We like to walk so this was fine with us, but it might discourage non walkers.
The apartment itself, was spotless, beautifully decorated, all the amenities we needed and we just loved it. We found a chocolate store a few blocks away (made us grateful for the walk) that was wonderful, a deli that served up great meals and a bakery across the street, as well as a very short walk (couple of blocks) to a grocery store.
The only problem we had was a tremendously long line (over an hour) for taxi's on our arrival at the main train station, and no taxi on our departure, due to some kind of festival or parade and we ended up having to take a bus. Neither of these had anything to do with our lodgings except on our departure the house keepers were kind enough to figure out why our taxi did not arrive, walk us to the bus stop and make sure we got on the right bus and she helped us with our luggage! I highly recommend this rental!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked the location, although not central it was perfect for us
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane D
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic stay at Casa della Gioia. The apartment is very clean, spacious and in a perfect location. It was nice to come back to the peace and quiet after a whole day of site seeing. Rita arranged tours for us that catered to our children too. The local shops and cafes are very welcoming. All in all, a perfect stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
We are so delighted that Marilena has decided to join our team to help out with the tours. I know your kids loved it too. Looking forward to seeing you next year. Ciao!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$152
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing