We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
30
98
37
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
98
37
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location large room railway station comfortable bed fridge cereal piazza key toilet
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while we were visiting Florence for the weekend. The room was small but it was all we needed. We had a nice balcony and bathroom. Breakfast was good in typical Italian fashion. Great location close to the train station and just off of a very nice plaza. It was a short walking distance to great restaurants and all the main sights. We were only using the hotel for a place to sleep so it was exactly what we needed. They lock the door at night and there is not someone at the desk 24/7 so if you show up late at night without a reservation you probably won't get in. The hotel was very nicely decorated. We would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vince70, Direttore at Hotel Tourist House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Thanks Adam!
We hope to welcoming you again in the next future.
Kindly regards,
Vincenzina, Cristina, Lucia, Milena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for a night while we were staying in Florence. The first thing we noticed was the great location, a few minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella station. The price is average but considering the location we were happy with it.

We didn't see many members of staff during our stay but the ones we did come across were friendly and helpful.

We stayed in room 3 which was equipped with a very comfy double bed, TV, mini fridge and wardrobe. The shower was a little on the small side but neither of us are particularly large so it was not a problem. At times you could hear noise due to the close proximity of the room to the front entrance but thankfully they lock the door at 20:00.

I noticed some complaints on TripAdvisor about the breakfast prior to arrival but we thought it was very reasonable. It consisted of cereal, a bread roll and a croissant. There was a selection of spreads and drinks including fruit juice, tea and coffee.

Overall I'm happy to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a basic hotel in Florence with decent amenities and a great location.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This felt like a small, boutique type hotel where you were treated as an individual. The hike in city tax was a surprise (booking.com's error). The bathroom and room was well appointed with lovely old antique furniture. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JudyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Right in front of Santa Maria Novella square and the train station.Very clean, simple yet honest breakfast. Our toilet was a bit stinky but so did the streets, so I guess its an issue of an old city with old plumbing. Hotel's reception closes by night.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony, the view from the garden is nice.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leonardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Mixed feelings about the whole place. The location is absolutely perfect: close to the main station, tourist agency, tour meeting point and city center. The bathroom is new and clean. The rooms have sizes that depend on the type you pay- me and my mother booked a basic double room, but the size felt more like a single room, it was quite small, which doesn't matter, but the description said that the bed should be 130-150 cm big, and ended up being only 120 cm big so we were very squished on it. On the other hand the air-conditioning is included in the price, so that's good. I prefer sleeping with an open window- in this case open balcony door, but that's a mistake in this hotel as there were a lot of mosquitoes and be got bit A LOT. One other thing is the weird decoration- their intention was probably vintage Florentine style, but ended up very kitsch and almost ridiculous- yellow walls, golden floral paintings and a lot of strange applications in the rooms- we had this huge silk bow above the bed, even if I visited with my boyfriend, I would not find it romantic, but rather funny. All the decorations even in the halls were more like a collection of antique cheap stuff friends and family member brought from their homes to help decorate this place. I would suggest to get rid of it all and make the place more simple. You get a fridge in each room, so again this is convenient. Also the price you pay includes a breakfast so we decided to give it a go- big mistake. The breakfast is from 8 to 10, which we thought was quite late for a tourist place- as tourists usually like to wake up early to enjoy the city from early morning. Also we had two early morning trips, so we asked if it was possible to get breakfast earlier, or take it in the evening, but the staff said its not possible... Now for the breakfast itself- tiny room where its served plus a TINY balcony- fits 4 two chaired tables and to get there you have to go up on a metal construction which is so narrow its really terrifying to carry your tray and make it with your coffee still in the cup. We are not very greedy in terms of breakfast choices, but this was quite too much even for us- whether you are a tiny woman or a big man, you get the same thing- one croissant and one bread only, plus you have a choice of coffee, few flavors of tea and orange juice. There is either Nutella or jam and butter to put on the pastry, 3 yogurts and 3 peaches and some biscuits in a basket for the whole hotel and THAT'S IT. Literally nothing salty, no ham, no eggs, no cheese, just two pieces of different types of bread for all. I feel like you should only have this breakfast if you want to save up in the city, otherwise its better to pass. Mixed feelings about the staff too- the receptionist was ready when we arrived, she immediately pulled a map and started a huge lecture about every place in Florence before we even managed to settle and refreshen in our rooms. I think she wanted to get over with it, as all questions were answered very fast and almost a bit rudely. You also have to pay a city tax, which is not included in the initial price, so don't be surprised about it. Generally the staff in this hotel was quite strange and not very welcoming for people who work with tourists- they don't want to help you with things you need, they wouldn't let us enter the breakfast room a minute before the official start, they said it is not possible to stay in the room even a few minutes after check out and an absolute no was the earlier breakfast. Not sure if I would stay in this hotel again- the pluses are the location, the fact that you get a key from the main door and can arrive at whatever time you want and the fact that it was quite cheap and you get a decent bathroom including some basic toiletries, otherwise pretty weak.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nikita206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews