We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice apartment in an Old villa With splendid...”
other travellers have booked this property
charming ancient country house inside beautiful vineyards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
charming ancient country house inside beautiful vineyards
the location sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
charming ancient country house inside beautiful vineyards
the location
sitting room
fiesole anfiteatro
vineyards
the property
our bell
kitchen
my favourit beach! Only 1 hour driving!!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Florence, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Charlotte...
Granna, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice apartment in an Old villa With splendid views and very welcoming hosts.”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a very Good stay With our little son at Susanna and Mario's place. They were very considerate and gave us Good advice and small Italian treats. We will also remember the big and friendly dog Baloo. Even in summer the apartment was pleasantly cool located in a charming Old villa With a garden and great views of the surrounding hills and vineyards. We hope to come back. :)

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
thank you Charlotte e Christian your family is a wonderful sweet family!

Kisses to Giovanni

SUsi e Mario
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter D
Lockport, New York
1 review
“Wish we could have stayed longer...”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

If you are reading these reviews, trying to decide on a comfortable and convenient place to stay during your travels to Florence and Tuscany... Stop right here!
No need to look any further... Don't hesitate any longer... contact Susanna and begin the vacation of a life-time!

Our first trip to Italy couldn't have been any better when staying with Suzanna and Mario at their lovely and scenic villa nestled in the Northern hills of Tuscany. Remote enough from the city-center, yet easily reachable by car; their villa provided the perfect escape. A short drive from the town of Fiesole (where Mario and Susanna arranged to meet us), we were pleasantly surprised by how much the town offered. If we could have stayed longer, we would have continued to frequent its quaint cafes and restaurants (in many cases offering spectacular scenic views of Florence in the valley below). The small history museum and ancient Roman theater and baths provided a context and background to the vast history of Italy that we quickly came to expect throughout our travels.

Day trips down into Florence were most easily managed by metro bus. Parking our rental car and taking the bus in Fiesole (the final stop and turning point for the metro line) made travel to and from the Florence city-center extremely simple.

Suzanna and Mario are extremely hospitable and accommodating hosts!
When we arrived, we found that the villa was a perfect place to stay. Clean, comfortable, and neatly decorated; we quickly felt right at home. Following a brief introduction to their property, Susanna and Mario readily prepared and served a several course meal with complementary bottle of champagne. Many of the side dishes were prepared with vegetables picked fresh from their garden. Hands down, this was one of the best meals we enjoyed throughout our travels!

Easy to communicate with and always genuinely wiling to accommodate, Susanna made several recommendations for us throughout our stay and was even wiling to place calls and make arrangements for our visits. Our tour of a local olive oil farm on the last day of our stay was particularly enjoyable.

Our advice for future travels:
1) Extend your stay! (you won't regret it)
2) Make arrangements to tour a winery (or two) and/or the olive farm ahead of time. I'm certain that Susanna could make recommendation.

Thank you, Susanna and Mario!
We had a lovely time and hope to visit you again someday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Susanna & Mario's welcoming and warm-hearted spirit.
Liked least: The little bit of construction across the street - out of their control, little/no noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dpr0
Worcester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Elegant luxury”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful house within easy reach of Florence but tucked away in the hills in vineyards so you won't hear any traffic! We hired a car from "Thrifty" at Pisa airport (WARNING - DO NOT RENT FROM GOLDCAR UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES) and Susanna kindly led us to the house from Fiesole, the nearest town. We were delighted with the whole experience - the sauna is a real plus on those cooler evenings - and our hosts could not have been more helpful and friendly.
Travel notes:
We drove the car from the house a few km and parked near the bus-stop when we wanted to go to Florence - frequent, cheap service, tickets available at kiosks and some cafés, don't forget to STAMP your ticket as soon as you get on the bus!
Massive supermarket in Pontassieve where we drove, on Mario's recommendation and stocked up with delicious fresh food for the week, hardly needing to eat out at all; there were dozens of choices of buffalo mozzarella, aged parmesan and glorious yellow-fleshed peaches along with all the Mediterranean veg you'd hope to find in a street market.
Drove to Siena and Lucca during the week and parked in the railway station car-parks in both places - convenient and cheap.
Eating out was a joy, too, with surprisingly inventive vegetarian menus and to-die-for ice-cream :-).
Everywhere we drove, driving was easy and drivers were courteous - contrary to what we'd been warned - and at the end of every excursion was the superb villa to come back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Ohio
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in October 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most beautiful setting and the kindest hosts we have ever had.
Liked least: That our trip had to come to an end!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tasanaa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had ten days staying at Villa Gemella and had a fabulous time. We were delighted when we saw the apartment, so spacious, beautifully furnished and set in beautiful gardens in the picturesque Tuscan hills. Hosts Susanna and Mario are lovely people, very welcoming and helpful about where to visit and best places to eat. There is a large selection of local wines to choose from in the apartment-pay for what you drink. The local prosecco and chianti favourites! Our son and his wife recommend Villa Gemella and we were not disappointed.
It is advisable to have a car as it is a little distance to nearby Fiesole and there is lots of lovely countryside to explore. Susanna and Mario must be congratulated for their wonderful holiday haven.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing