We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of Podere 39

Podere 39
Ranked #146 of 3 065 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

You have to book, local restaurant. Six of us visited twice in the five days we were in Florence. Off the tourist trail. Menu in Italian only, very accommodating and friendly front of house / owner. Food was excellent. Amazing quirky interior, nothing matched other than the wine glasses.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AlanJ150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2018

This small restaurant is an absolute gem if you enjoy fresh, homemade pasta.

The menu is not extensive but what is on it is simply delicious - I had a starter of fried crumb encrusted mozarella which had slivers of anchovy sitting atop the cheese and between the crumb - yummy and easy to share if you think it too filling. For mains I had the calamari pasta which is fresh spaghettit/taglatelli (sort of in between) in a very rich ink sauce.

The menu is only available in Italian but they will explain it to you in English if you can't speak the language.

Very reasonable bottle of red wine (Nero) for 16 euros and the same for a good Pinot Grigio, so not expensive.

Staff were fantastic - run by a husband and wife (he's the chef, and she looks after front of house) plus one waiter.

You will need to book at least a day ahead as you cannot get in if you just turn up - it's always full of locals with only the odd tourist group ( we were 6)

It's quite a long way out of the centre of Florence and uphill but walkable in 25 - 30 mins without too much exertion!

We were staying at the Hotel Villa Betania which was much closer and downhill going, but uphill on the way back.

When you visit Florence and you fancy eating away from the centre and all the noise then you must eat her.

Cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrDavidHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

The waitress was friendly and very helpful especially as our Italian is a work in progress.She explained the ingredients of the many local dishes patiently and we chose a delicious tuna spaghetti dish and artichoke salad.This restaurant not perhaps the best choice for gluten intolerant people or vegetarians but otherwise for everyone else the food is wholesome and freshly made. You can tell the cook has talent.The pudding which was a ricotta stuffed sponge with brandy was delicious and the wine was good.The atmosphere is really super with lots of wine bottles and ancient weighing machinery neatly arranged in front of distressed brick walls. The lighting is not too harsh. I'd be very happy to take a friend there and it is on the 36/37 bus route so easy to get home from.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Strandskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Beautiful food and wine, real local's restaurant (no English menu). Highly recommend! Lovely ambience too...

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank MarGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

We dined here as a last-minute reservation. Extremely pleased. The menu is limited to 2 courses plus a ham and cheese platter. However the price points were outstanding most this is really between nine and €15 the pastas were exceptional and the first courses were unbelievable. The desserts were also equally out standing. Simple home cooking made with love my family that cares about what they produce.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Raqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Podere 39 also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Podere 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing