We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alle Pietre

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Trav11er
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for seven night in June and the accommodation is as advertised. The pictures are accurate and I agree with most of the previous reviews. Location is fantastic - quiet side street yet close to the main squares (3 min walk). One note: the church bells a couple hundred meters away do go off at 7am every morning for a few minutes but we didn't find this to be problematic.

If you don't have a small car to drive down the narrow lanes, you will have to bring them from the car park (200 meters). Our car Peugeot 208 was small enough to navigate the streets so no issue for us beyond stress of driving in narrow spots. We were able to free park a short walk away.

Ester was very easy to deal with and very responsive and helpful. One of the best we've used. Provided a fruit basked, selection of breads, water and juice as a welcome gift upon arrival.

The stairs are fairly narrow in the house so getting large bags upstairs is a bit of a chore but luckily only one short flight of stairs. Bed was very comfortable and we had plenty of nights of good sleep.

Not that I come to Italy to watch TV but it would have been nice to have more than 2-3 English TV channels. Oddly enough about 80% were in German. We did ask if they had a DVD player (we had a TV series with us) and they didn't but went out and bought one for the house so it now should have DVD player - such great service. WiFi worked great too.

Only other issues we noticed was the downstairs felt a bit damp (as basements do) and the main sofa upstairs isn't the most comfortable (I have a bad back). Again, these weren't major issues for us.

No a/c and even though we were here during a very warm stint, the fan and night time cooling breezes kept the house cool all day.

The major downside: we were required to book this via Trip Adviser and it was not a good experience. If we are forced to book thru Trip Adviser again, we will not book the accommodation. 1. We had to pay an extra 35 euro fee (a % of spend - never had this before with other booking services). 2. We had to wait 10 days to get the security deposit back from Trip Adviser (AND they took it a month prior - WHAT?!? Again, never had to do this with another agency). We have provided all this feedback directly to Trip Adviser and they acknowledged by saying the would take the feedback on board.

We'll stay here again when we return (if another option to book beyond thru Trip Adviser).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: booking via Trip Adviser
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie7292...
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Cortona”
Reviewed 5 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Elle Pietre for a week in May - myself, my partner and my daughter and her partner. It is a beautiful house in a quiet location and yet close to the two main piazzas. The large shared terrace that looks across the valley is wonderful for an evening glass of Prosseco. Esther was great with information before we arrived, the meeting to get the keys was straight forward and she was very helpful with explanations about the house and info about the town and the area. The house is very well equipped and has everything you could need,including a welcoming bottle of wine. Thanks, Ester.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arnaq
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning apartment in magical setting”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Situated on the city wall of Cortona with views across the valley - this apartment has everything you could want from a holiday let. Very close to restaurants, cafes and shops. Yet situated in a quiet part of town. It is charmingly decorated, cozy and comfortable. Ester the owner was very hospitable. Our train was delayed due to a medical emergency on board and we arrived much later than we had planned. Ester was very understanding. She met us in the snow in the town square and took us to the apartment. We loved it and will definitely be back. Thanks Ester for a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
owsky
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming house in a great location”
Reviewed 6 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This has been one of the most charming houses I have ever rented. It is furnished with a lot of care and style. All the amenities work perfectly and it is very comfortable. But take note that it is a centuries old house so the stairs can be narrow and the headroom too cozy for some tall people. The house sits on the outer wall of the city so once you step out, you will have a priceless view of the valley and hills. This area outside the house along the wall merits some description. It is a small cobblestone road that a few residents are bold enough to squeeze their little Fiats through to park outside their doors. There was just enough space to put a small table and chairs without blocking the cars so we could sit outdoors and have a bottle of wine while appreciating the magnificent view. Our kids also thoroughly enjoyed running up and down this little street. The house also opens out to another narrow street on the other side from which you can reach the piazza in 5 minutes and find a range of grocers, restaurants and shops. Essential to us was a friendly pizzeria and gelateria just by the piazza. Perhaps one or two things we wish Esther had told us more clearly before we arrived was (1) how to drop off big bags and (2) where to take the trash to. After dragging heavy bags up an incline from the public car park which is 100m away outside the city walls, we figured there must be a better way. After reading the zoning regulations we learnt that non-residents can drive into the city at certain hours. So before departing, we drove our rental car to the house (on the wider street) to pick up the bags. But do take note that there is only one possible way to drive in without damaging your car (unless you have a tiny car) and you have to figure the route out before your try it. As for trash, you do have to walk it out of the city walls. Inconvenient but a trade-off for a cleaner looking city. In sum, Cortona is a lovely little city with an inviting village feel and Alle Pietre is a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cobblestone street and the view
Liked least: Parking outside the city walls
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrymac2...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If your thinking about visiting Cortona, then look no further!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Alle Pietre is a beautifully restored and modernized medieval cottage on the City walls of wonderful Cortona. The accommodation is perfectly located, about midway in elevation of this sloping City. The main Piazza is approx. 100mts away and therefore many cafe's, restaurant's and shops are just a stroll from the door. However there is an amazing quirk? No matter how noisy it is in the Piazza, you will only hear the birdsong from the house!!
The owner has been very accurate with the description of the house and the photographs are an exact reflection of what you will find. Pay particular attention to the image of the little green table and chairs - this comes with the house. The views of the valley far below and the sunsets are truly spectacular!!!
We had an added bonus on our trip - we hired a small car (Citroen C1) which we were able to park at the house at no charge - this facility is rarely available in City accommodation.
Overall my wife and I were delighted with our stay in Alle Pietre in Cortona.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the property
Liked least: The bed is just a bit hard. But I'm picking at straws here!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing