We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jessica F

Nice Hotel in a Central Location but Needs an Important Room Amenity

Review of Hotel Italia
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Oct 2023via mobile
Excellent location just off Piazza Republica. Friendly and helpful staff. Decent sized room with a very nice view. But I have a very important suggestion for the hotel: Please put a mini-fridge in the room. I would have really liked to buy a few things from the grocery store to keep in my room, especially some bottled water, fruit and maybe a bottle of wine. Not having a mini fridge detracted from my enjoyment of the downtime that I had in my room. Another suggestion would be to keep the 4th floor breakfast room open all day so guests can use it as a lounge and enjoy the beautiful views. One thing about Cortona which is no reflection of the hotel: If you don’t have access to a car, staying in Cortona is difficult. There are no metered taxis and private cars, even for a short ride to the train station, are very hard to come by. You have to rely on a public bus that goes to the train station and the bus is very reliable and even pleasant, but hours are limited.
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Don’t stay in Cortona if you don’t have a car
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Website
  • Lol.travel
    R 5 243
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Room service
R 2 551
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
0.5 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 8 927
  • Expedia.com
    R 9 767
2.0 km from Hotel Italia
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 657
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 672
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 372
  • Hotels.com
0.0 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 216
  • Booking.com
4.1 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 709
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Room service
R 5 139
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 139
9.9 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 424
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Hotel Italia
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cortona
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveller rating
227
148
43
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
148
43
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast room main piazza pigeon droppings perfect location medieval festival your luggage the hotel staff week trip would definitely stay here again beautiful hotel a lovely stay wonderful place chiara
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 440 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2023

very nice hotel for the money. The innkeeper is excellent to deal with and seems to care about his customers. The location is exceptional, in the heart of town. The rooms are nice, and the breakfast is very good. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank H4049UJalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

The room was large and spacious which was ideal for our 4 night stay for a friends wedding. Air con worked, views from our room across the roof tops and all the facilities in the room you may need such as hairdryer and safe. Breakfast was in the top of the hotel with panoramic views and the breakfast itself was good. Location fantastic being just off the main square but also not too noisy.

Room tip: Get a large room like we did if staying for more than a few days as the space helps
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 305rachelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

Wonderful place to stay. Located minutes from the main piazza and close to many good restaurants. Good value for the money. Be sure to reserve the valley view room. View is phenomenal! Excellent, complimentary breakfast - be sure to tip the young lady serving the coffee. She’s a wonderful and deserving woman.

Room tip: You’ll probably arrive by rental car. If so, the best place to park is at the 3rd entrance gate to Cortona. All lots are 1.5 euro per hour
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DanielT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2023

Hotel Italia was my home for 3 months during a study abroad and I can't stress enough how wonderful my stay was. Staff members are kind, accommodating and will make your stay comfortable. The hotels location is perfect for those who want to experience the heart of Cortona being in prime location for visits to museums, restaurants and the main piazza. My favorite part of the hotel must have been the view from the breakfast room which is in itself a reason to stay at the hotel.
If you are looking to stay in Cortona Hotel Italia is the place to stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Taydem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2023

I stayed at Hotel Italia for 3 months whilst studying abroad and had a great experience. Franz and Chiara were both very helpful throughout my entire stay and Franz was an absolute delight to be around. It's and older building but the beds are comfortable, the amenities are nice, and the cleaning staff were very kind. It's also located in the heart of the city, making it easy to get groceries, go to restaraunts, the laundromat, and public transit without having to walk too far. I would absolutely recommend staying at Hotel Italia, I look forward to coming back here in the future.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews