We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mnytalks1
Largo, Florida

Awesome place friendly staff. Just a great place to stay.

Review of Villa Marsili
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jun 2024via mobile
This is a great little hotel/Bed and Breakfast. The pictures on this site depict exactly what the property and grounds look like.

Our room overlooked the valley and view is spectacular and the room was very nicely decorated and spacious.

The grounds outside were clean, the interior was clean, and the rooms were spotless. The morning breakfast was very good especially considering European breakfasts. They had plenty of selections to eat and everything was very good especially the pastries.

We dealt with Sonia from start to finish and she was awesome also. She communicates well and follows through. She set up our transports to and from the train station.

We had a minor issue after checking in as the AC in the room didn’t work. We tried swinging it with a fan but that didn’t work either so the owner, Maria, moved us to another room that had the AC working. Maria was always on the grounds and very friendly.

They also have a nice little cocktail hour with snacks and in the evening they put out some desserts. This all made for a nice treat.

I should also mention the day we were set to leave the taxi didn’t show up on time which is no fault of theirs, however, the co-owner was on the property this day and she going to have a friend drive us to the train station so we didn’t miss the train but our taxi arrived just before her friend. This was something that was very nice and they didn’t have to do but it’s obvious from the start they want you to have a nice vacation and enjoy their property.

If you are in Cortona and looking for a place to stay this property is it.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the valley you won’t regret it.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Website
  • Lol.travel
    R 4 873
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Website
  • Lol.travel
    R 7 297
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from Villa Marsili
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 087
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 425
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 459
0.5 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
R 3 115
R 2 679
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 2 504
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 714
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 366
  • Official Website
6.1 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Website
  • Lol.travel
    R 1 926
  • Hotels.com
6.5 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 183
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from Villa Marsili
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cortona
Reviews (1 070)
Filter reviews
1 070 results
Traveller rating
976
83
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
976
83
9
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews biscotti breakfast buffet elegant hotel vin tuscany europe valentina antiques
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 070 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2024

My mom and I stayed here for 4 nights this April/May for our birthday trip to Italy. Cortona was our home base for touring multiple areas in Tuscany. I can’t say enough good things about this hotel. Everything was beautiful and the staff were amazing and friendly. They had nightly aperitivos, vin santo and cookies and the morning breakfast spread was amazing. The room and facilities were very clean and it was a quiet, peaceful hotel. The staff knew us by name, which made it a special stay. All of the other guests were friendly. If you are planning on spending time in Tuscany, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Thank you so much to Martina, Sonia, Victor, Mark and all of the amazing staff for making our stay so special.

Room tip: Just FYI- there is no pool or gym facilities if those are things you’re looking for in a hotel.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2024

On our previous Italy trip 2022 we stayed at 4 different 5 star hotels...none matched the quality of Villa Marsili. I can't recall ever being treated with such attention and kindness by a staff in all the annals of travel. Sentiment aside, this team headed by Marina are consummate hospitality professionals whose attention to detail is truly a joy.
Believe all the fabulous reviews! Thank you Villa Marsili.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynandTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2024 via mobile

We spent hours and hours searching for the best hotel in Cortona to celebrate our 35th anniversary. We were thrilled with our selection of Hotel Villa Marsilli. The hotel is stunning, the staff are so kind, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and lovely. The breakfast was divine. We have never stayed in such a well cared for property with off the chart service by EVERYONE on the staff. We reserved a parking spot at the hotel months in advance and it was definitely worth it for us.
The views from our room were so stunning…we simply cannot say enough positive things. If you are thinking of Cortona, this is the best place to stay. We are already planning our return!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 April 2024

I recommend this place 100%!!! They went above and beyond to help my daughter after she sprained her ankle. Constant ice, room service (which they don’t have) and attention. All the staff were incredibly hospitable. Genuinely caring for her well being. You don’t see that from a hotel ever!! We will be back!

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2023 via mobile

This lovely villa was simply marvelous! Welcoming attentive staff, comfortable spacious rooms and baths, and a breakfast feast to die for. We also took advantage of the nightly spread of tasty appetizers in mini ramekins followed later by cookies and vin santo. The decor is lovely, and the hotel is ideally located about a 10 minute walk up the hill (somewhat steep) into Cortona.

Room tip: Best not to have a car and parking on site is VERY limited.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bi-coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews