We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Return Family Visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Woodland1...
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Return Family Visit”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We visited Il Villino di Cortona in August 2013 and couldn't wait to return to the house and the area. We stayed again for 2 weeks in August 2015 and the villa was just the same with some great improvements of outdoor rattan furniture to sit and relax in on a night. Michele, the owner is so attentive without being intrusive and is always contactable by text. Unlike other holiday rentals you are provided with all the extras (dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, washing liquid etc) and then some mornings you wake up to baskets of juice, pastries and wine with leaflets on the local area. Such a lovely touch.
The only very TINY negative points are, the depth and lovely large size of the pool means that it's temperature can stay cool and there are days when you wish it was heated. The wi-fi is very slow compared to UK broadband and did frustrate the children (however it meant they read a lot more rather than being attached to technology which is never a bad thing!). The only English satellite TV channels were two news channels as all the rest were mainland Europe.
Suggested improvements would be, an additional freezer in the room where the washer is kept as the fridge freezer is very small, some plastic wine glasses (and a wine cooler!) and plastic normal glasses to use outside.
We love the fact that you can easily drive to Camucia station and catch the train into Florence (1hr 20mins) so we spent a night there. Pisa was only 2hr drive, Perugia is 30mins and lovely, Castiglion del Largo is stunning and only 20mins drive and Cortona is 10mins away. You will never run out of places to visit. We would definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and outside space
Liked least: The wifi was slow compared to UK
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Gent.mo Andrew and Rachel,

for us there is no better satisfaction than seeing a guest return.
Your family has been, is and will always be welcome.
I thank you for having chosen yet.
I thank you for the many beautiful pictures of your holiday.
I thank you for the best advice, which will allow us to improve.
Thank you.
I hope to see still your wonderful Family in Cortona (Michele)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Michele's friendly nature and everything else
Liked least: Nothing in particular
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnnieCara...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best family holiday!”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in August 2014

My family and I stayed for a week in August.
We had the most fantastic time and totally fell in love with Tuscany.

Great base to travel and explore,definitely need a car to do so.

The Villa itself had everything we needed and more. Our children wanted to stay in the pool every day(&evening) so I think that sums up how much they loved the villa.

Michelle-well what can I say? He was the most gracious and kindest of hosts and we felt thoroughly looked after. The attention to detail and gifts left on the outside dining table were so kind and very much appreciated.

Unfortunately we left it too late to book for this year but will be booking for next year.

Thank you so much for a truly magical Tuscan experience.
☺️
The Eardley Family

Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeKelly...
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and can only repeat the glowing reviews of the refurbished farmhouse, the lovely pool and the setting in a large garden on the edge of the hamlet of San Lorenzo next to a small racehorse stable and with views of the rolling countryside but only a few minutes from good road and rail connections to most of the places you would want to visit in Tuscany and Umbria.

Michele is a fantastic host and really works hard to make your visit special. We were sad to leave and would love to go back again.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Dear Mike,
I enjoyed your review.
I'm so happy to read that our "engagement" is recognized;
I and my family have decided to host people (now 4 years) as our hobby summer.
I hope that in the coming years will spend a few more days to Cortona.
Our small Etruscan town is nice both in summer and winter.
See you soon ....
(Michele)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesmb15...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a great two weeks at Il Villinio and loved every moment. The location is a great base for exploring both Tuscany and parts of Umbria.
The owner, Michele, was extremely helpful and we were grateful for the gifts and flowers he left after his morning visits.
The villa is a home from home and very well equipped. The garden and terraces provide plenty of space to soak up the sun or to have shade and the pool is a real bonus. The main bedroom and bathroom are very spacious.
Most basics are provided from BBQ fuel to soaps, shampoo and toiletries so you can just sit back, enjoy and relax
The whole experience exceeded our high expectations!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
Dear Jim and Marian,

Thank you very much for your stay here and for your patience.
I hope to see again in Cortona next years.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing