We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Valerie H
Vernon, Canada

Lovely central hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Jun 2024
The hotel has a great location. It’s central, and the sights, shopping and restaurants are all nearby. Our room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were great - varied and delicious. Something for everyone! I highly recommend Hotel San Michele.
Date of stay: June 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel San Michele, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at Hotel San Michele.

Your compliments about our location truly make our day. We take pride in being centrally located, allowing guests easy access to Cortona's sights, shops, and restaurants. We're thrilled you found your room clean and comfortable, and that our staff were friendly and helpful.

A delicious and varied breakfast spread is important to us, and we're happy to hear you enjoyed it! Knowing we offer "something for everyone" is fantastic feedback.

We wholeheartedly appreciate your recommendation of Hotel San Michele to others. It means a lot to us!

Warm regards,

The Staff at Hotel San Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 527
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
0.5 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Room service
R 5 683
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Room service
R 1 647
R 1 621
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Website
0.2 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Restaurant
R 1 655
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 3 183
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 7 913
  • Official Website
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Hotel San Michele
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 634
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 741
0.0 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 343
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Hotel San Michele
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 760
  • Priceline
0.0 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Room service
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 7 273
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 087
4.0 km from Hotel San Michele
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cortona
Reviews (1 051)
Filter reviews
1 051 results
Traveller rating
681
265
83
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
681
265
83
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main square lovely hotel valet parking per day historic building old world i highly recommend this hotel room was large breakfast was excellent two night stay third floor boutique hotel charming town the air conditioning incredible views the location is perfect breakfast room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 051 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2024

We had the 4- bed room with a double bed on the lower level and two single beds on the upper wooden mezzanine . The room had the size of a suite with a generous sitting area and a comfortable bathroom. All in a historic building with lots of charm, common areas with antiques and nice art. The hotel is but a short walk from Cortonas main square, shops and restaurants. Try Taverna Pozzoviglio around the corner!!

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streetfoodie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel San Michele, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in our spacious quadruple room. It sounds like the double bed on the lower level, the two single beds on the mezzanine, and the generous sitting area created a comfortable and convenient space for your group.

We appreciate you mentioning the charm of our historic building, the beautiful common areas with antiques and art, and the convenient location just a short walk from Cortona's main square, shops, and restaurants. We're also thrilled you recommend Taverna Pozzoviglio around the corner – we'll be sure to pass that recommendation on to future guests!

We strive to offer a unique and comfortable experience for all our guests, and your feedback lets us know we're on the right track.

Cordiali saluti,

Lo staff dell'Hotel San Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2024

A charming and a lovely former palace in the heart of Cortona. Exceptional gem right in the heart of lovely Cortona.
From the check in staff, breakfast and the restaurant next to the hotel, just exceptional. Thank you Amalia and I believe Michelle too, just wonderful staff and terrific breakfast. Keep in mind, all the towns in Tuscany, one needs to park a bit below and walk up to the hotels. In addition, any booking one does, one needs to take responsibility and the staff is just to guide and assist. They are all wonderful, including Amalia mother, right next to the restaurant. Love her tie! ☺

Room tip: if travelling by car, drop your luggage(s) and then park below by the Gas Station. White lines, free parking.
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel San Michele, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled that you found our hotel to be a "charming and lovely former palace" and an "exceptional gem" right in the heart of Cortona.

We take great pride in our historic building and its central location, allowing guests to easily explore the beauty of Cortona. We appreciate you mentioning the need to park a little further down and walk up in most Tuscan towns – it's a small trade-off for the stunning hilltop settings!

Your feedback about our breakfast being terrific is fantastic to hear. We aim to start your day off right with a delicious and plentiful spread.

Thank you again for choosing Hotel San Michele and for sharing your lovely review. We sincerely hope to welcome you back someday!

Warm regards,

The Staff at Hotel San Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2024

Great experince from front desk guy getting our backpacks out of the taxi to leaving. Take the €15 taxi to hotel or wait on the cheaper hourly bus, we didn't want to waste any precious vacation time. Exceptional stay and can walk to famous Piazza Repubblica in 1 minute from hotel. If we return to Cortona it WILL be here.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel56204775027
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel San Michele, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We're delighted to hear that your entire experience, from the moment the front desk staff helped you with your backpacks to your departure, was exceptional.

We understand how precious vacation time is, so we appreciate you choosing the taxi for a quicker arrival. Knowing you were able to walk to the famous Piazza della Repubblica in just a minute from the hotel must have been incredibly convenient.

Your decision to stay with us again if you return to Cortona truly means the world to us. We strive to create a memorable experience for all our guests, and your feedback lets us know we're on the right track.

Warm regards,

The Staff at Hotel San Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2024

A very nice welcoming, a beautiful hotel in an old palazzo, but well renewed, comfortable and quiet room, delicious breakfast. The hotel is close the principal museums and monuments. The restaurants are nearest. We've had a very nice staying in Hotel San Michel in Cortona.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Françoise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel San Michele, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Dear Mrs. Françoise,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review!

We're delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at Hotel San Michele. It brings us great joy to know you enjoyed the warm welcome, the beauty of our restored palazzo, and the comfort and quiet of your room. We strive to create a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere, and it sounds like we achieved that for you.

We're happy to learn that the delicious breakfast fueled your days exploring Cortona. The hotel's central location, near the main museums, monuments, and restaurants, is a big advantage, allowing you to easily discover the town's treasures.

Your positive feedback truly motivates us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel San Michele again soon.

Warm regards,
Zoe
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2024

Welcome. Charm. Beauty. And absolutely unmatched hospitality.

I felt like royalty here - the staff is warm, courteous and made every effort to provide top quality service.

I have traveled the world and this hotel will stand out in my memory as one of the best, for the entire experience. I wish every hotel in NY would send their staff here to experience what true hospitality can be.

An absolute gem.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abstractmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel San Michele, Direttore generale at Hotel San Michele, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2024

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to share this incredibly kind review. Your words about "Welcome. Charm. Beauty. And absolutely unmatched hospitality" perfectly encapsulate what we strive to achieve for every guest.

We are deeply honored that you felt like royalty during your stay. Our staff takes immense pride in providing warm, courteous service, and it means the world to know they exceeded your expectations.

Your comment about inspiring other hotels is especially meaningful, and we will certainly share it with our team.

We are thrilled that you discovered this "absolute gem," and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmly,

Zoe
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews