We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Fontocchio is magical !!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Cortona, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sumisia
Sopot, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Villa Fontocchio is magical !!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We’ve rented Villa Fontocchio through terretrusche.com, and right from the very beginning, they did a wonderful job. By the accident we were cheated before and they really tried to solve our problems, especially Michela from terretrusche. Villa Fontocchio is located about 40 minutes’ walk from Cortona or a 5 minutes’ drive up the hill, in between Camucia and Cortona. The property is located in the middle of olive trees fields a couple hundred meters off the road. There is five bedrooms in a main house, all with private bath. The rooms are all very very nice same of them with a great view of Cortona up the hill, (but the bath are not so nice, could be better for this price). It's a beautiful old building a former olive oil mill. The main living and dining area has a big table, the kitchen is not large, but ok. There's a nice wine refrigerator.
Outside the villa is a long covered table where while sitting outside you can enjoy the view of Cortona and beautiful big fig tree. The pool is quite big, next to the pool there is another bathroom and laundry facility. The location between Camucia and Cortona is almost perfect. The COOP supermarket is 5-10 minutes away in Camucia only walking distance to Cortona is a bit too far. Wi-fi at the villa much to my surprise worked well. Villa Fontocchio is magical- the house is perfect. The view is amazing and the town is outstanding. We have stayed in this villa 1 week. I really recommend this property!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the old architecture of the house and the pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LovinEuro...
LovinEurope
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful villa”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I made arrangements to lease Villa Fontocchio through terretrusche.com, and right from the very beginning, they did a wonderul job. I want to especially thank Michela from terretrusche who made this an incredible trip for myself and 15 others. Terretrusche also assisted by arranging a wonderful catered meal one evening at a very reasonable price. Villa Fontocchio is located about halfway up the hill to Cortona, in between Camucia and Cortona. Cortona is about a 5 minute drive up the hill. The property is located down a tree-lined lane, a couple hundred yards off the road. There is parking for several vehicles. Villa Fontocchio has a main house with five bedrooms, all with private bath. The rooms are all very very nice, and my bedroom view included a great view of Cortona up the hill. It's a beautiful building which I believe was an olive oil mill many many years ago. The main living and dining area has a long banquet table that seated all 16 in the party, which made for good times at evening meals. The kitchen is not large, but most of our meals consisted of local breads, meats, cheeses, and wine, so we didn't cook much. There's a nice wine refrigerator which we took advantage of. The COOP supermarket is 5-10 minutes away in Camucia. The annex is adjacent to the villa, just up a short flight of steps. It has two beautiful bedrooms, and two nice baths, along with a good sized kitchen and table. In between the two spacious bedrooms is a smaller bedroom, which would be perfect for a child or two. The annex was beautiful as well. Outside the villa was a long table under a covering in a small courtyard, again seating all 16, which made for good times while sitting outside and enjoying the view of Cortona up the hill. The group used the pool quite a bit, and there's another bathroom and laundry facility next to the pool. I didn't know it at the time I leased the property, but the location between Camucia and Cortona is just about perfect. It's 5-10 minutes to the Camucia-Cortona train station. It was 10 minutes to the Terentola train station, which is the location of Il Girasole auto rental where we rented a couple of vans. It was a half hour drive to Montelpulciano, and about an hour to Siena, Orvieto, and Assisi. One day the group took the train to Florence, so the 5 minute drive to the train station made it easy. We had some of our group that just had to be connected to their work (what's up with that!?) and the wi-fi at the villa worked well. One couple from our group was from Switzerland and they drove down with their dogs, so the property will accommodate pets, with additional security deposit. I can't say enough nice things about the property and the great time our group had this last week. Tuscany is such a beautiful place and staying at this property made our stay that much more enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, view, convenience.....it was all good
Liked least: It was all really nice
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Reviewed 12 October 2012 for a stay in July 2008

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NH USA
Reviewed 11 October 2012 for a stay in September 2007

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed 5 November 2009 for a stay in May 2009
5
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing