We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
52
65
35
24
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
52
65
35
24
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

The hotel is in Piazza Stesicoro, very central in Catania. When you get there you see a small door, hardly noticeable. Behind it, 2 floors of stairs, which lead you to the reception.

The staff were very, very friendly. Stressing on the "very" because they go out of their way to be helpful. When we got there, we realised that parking is a nightmare, so we called and asked whether there's anywhere we can leave the car to drop the suitcases. The receptionist immediately told us that she'll come down to help and they came down and took our suitcases.

They also gave us pointers on where to park and directed us towards a paid and guarded carpark in the area.

When we checked in, they gave us room for four, which was actually a flatlet with 2 bedrooms, shower & toilet, kitchenette and dining table. This was also air-conditioned.

The only reason that I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is that the hotel itself requires some TLC. Otherwise everything is perfect (staff, location, amenities, etc...)

--------------

Some additional notes for potential travellers. There is a McDonald's just below the hotel that stays open till midnight.

A restaurant that is very popular is also around 20 metres (1 minute walk) away from the hotel - Trattoria del Cavaliere. It has very good prices and genuine food. Cover charge of €1 per person.

Round the other corner there is Via Etnea which leads to the Cathedral at one end and to the public garden at the other end.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dave_travel_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019 via mobile

So we booked this place via BA Holidays, and arrived late on a Sunday evening.
We were shown to a room right next to the reception area marked with "PRIVATE" on the door, which had no external view from the window at the back, as it was totally "frosted" (like bathroom glass, etc).
The bathroom was tiny, there was a noisy fridge in the room, and most strangely there was a hatch in the wall, which was boarded up with thin plywood. Reception was just the other side of this, and all night we could hear every tiny squeak, whisper, step, and conversation in the reception area.
We asked to be moved for the next night, and we were, to a room at the far end of the hallway (marked simply "B" while all the other rooms had numbers), right in the corner of the building. It was quite shabby, and while we readied ourselves for that night we decided to call it quits and booked elsewhere for the rest of our holiday, having found a much nicer place online through Trip Advisor.

I wish we'd checked Trip Advisor first before booking this place through BA. We have let them know about our issues here.

It's a place which is fine for a night or two if you're on a tight budget, and just need a bed & basic bathroom, but it's certainly not "palacial" as the name suggests, and not a place I would recommend. It's more like a glorified hostel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SideshowMatt77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

we just stayed there the 1 night, after being in a really bad place.
Really helpful, excellent service, very helpful staff they go out of their way to assist, speak really good English. Walking distance to a lot of the attractions.

Room tip: All the rooms are lovely but try and get one at the back of the hotel
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn31r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Now here is a place right in the centre of Catania.... the rooms are old... yes, it has a charm too but.... it just needs an uplift. Bathroom with shower... the shower wall is just cracking and old... air conditioner sometimes stops working if the net is over used... and when you come in there is a pretty steep staircase to climb... I did not book this place myself ... But.... the very positive thing about this hotel is its staff... they are just wonderful!!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank HarTeeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Went to the Stesicorea Palace with friends after spending a few days in Malta, we decided to go Sicily. I researched several hotels, and this hotel suited our budget but most importantly we wanted to stay in a central location and the location is perfect, right in the heart of the city. I booked a room for myself and my two friends booked a room to share.

We caught the bus from the airport to the centre and managed to walk and find the hotel after asking a few people where it was and remembering to look out for a McDonalds as it was next door. We got to the hotel.

We were faced with quite a few steps which we didn't mind. The guy at reception was so friendly and helpful, once he even walked outside the hotel with us to show us where the bus stop was for going back to the airport!

The hotel is very small, which was nice. The room was fine, big bed, nice room, bathroom was fine. For the price we paid, we were in no position to complain like others have as we only wanted to sleep in the hotel, and as we were only staying for 2 nights, we wanted to explore and not stay in the room. The room had a tv, hairdryer, big cupboards and other amenities which was nice.

The breakfast was a nice selection, the ladies didn't speak English but were friendly enough. The cakes were lovely. Basic but perfect for a start of the day. I was not expecting a 5 star lavish breakfast.

would definitely recommend staying at the hotel and would definitely stay again if I was in Sicily. I wouldn't call it a palace but wouldn't call it a hostel either. A nice hotel which was great value and enjoyed it more than the 4 star hotel we stayed in Malta!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huzzmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StesicoreaP, Proprietario at Stesicorea Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you so much.best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews