We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal place for a relaxing break in the sun...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of piccolo paradiso

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
WilliamFi...
Hythe, United Kingdom
1 review
“An ideal place for a relaxing break in the sun, with spectacular views.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This is a comfortable and very attractive property located nearly 3000 feet up Mount Etna. The views are spectacular from the terrace. There is a good size swimming pool and an attractive terrace for sun bathing. The owner and his wife are extremely friendly. We had an excellent time.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thetombie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing hideaway with everything you need.”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We normally do city breaks and stay at budget hotels. When we went to Sicily we wanted to stay somewhere nicer, away from the busy towns and in nice surroundings. Piccolo Paradiso was the perfect choice – a really nice house in a quiet, out-of-the-way location with its own private pool.

I was a bit nervous about driving here as I've not driven abroad before. Owner Salvatore met us at the airport then lead us to nearby Belpasso in his car while we followed behind. We stopped off at a hotel where he introduced us to his friend who could help us with any problems we might encounter and he stopped to point out where the local supermarket was. When we got to the house he had bought a load of snacks and fridge essentials for us to use. I would recommend learning some basic Italian before you go as sometimes we struggled a bit with communication – luckily my wife had done some Rosetta Stone lessons which was a great help.

The location is a bit out of the way. You definitely need a car, and I recommend taking a SatNav too. Even if you use public transport you need to drive to get to it as it's on a winding road with no pavement. The plus side to this is that it's quite quiet and private. There are some other houses nearby, but you don't really notice as there are lots of trees between them. It's easy to get to Mt Etna from here, and driving to other locations wasn't too bad either.

The house itself was great. It's fairly new and in great condition with nice decor and everything you need inside. There's a secure gate, a driveway with lighting and room to park. The kitchen was good and we cooked at home quite often – you can pick up really nice fresh fish and vegetables at the market in Catania, something you can't really do if you're staying in a hotel. Other bits and pieces can be bought at the nearby supermarket. There was no kettle, but I think we had everything else we needed.

The garden and pool were the best bit – we tended to go out in the morning, then get back in the early afternoon and just float about in the pool, enjoy the garden, drink wine and watch lizards and other wildlife. Again, much more relaxing and enjoyable than being stuck in a hotel room. As you can see from the photos, the garden is beautiful with a well in the middle and lots of plants and flowers. There's a barbecue too, which we used a few times, and a table and chairs on the patio.

Definitely the best place I've ever stayed on holiday, highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, UK
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host, the peace and quiet,and pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
870Robert...
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paradise”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Piccolo Paradiso is a great place for a holiday. Starting with the property, it is a new house but built out of traditional materials, such as lava from Etna. Inside it is not so small with a large dining table, plus sofas and easy chairs. Ouside there is a further dining table plus more chairs. It is on the slopes of Mount Etna and the view towards Catania is amazing both by day and night. But its strongest point must be the privacy and it is very rare in Sicily to have a private swimming pool for a house of this size.

Location: At a height of about 2000 feet above sea level there is a plus in that the nights are a bit cooler than by the coast, but you still get the sun during the day. You can access the Catania/Palermo and Messina/Syracuse autostradas without having to go through major towns which is another advantage. Quiet and secluded location where the use of a car is almost essential.

The owner: then the care taken by the owner Salvatore was great. He met us at the airport and guided us there: although access is no problem after you have done the route once, it would be tricky for a stranger to find it at night even with the best directions. There was a generous welcome pack. At one stage we texted Salvatore to say the toaster wasn't working, and within 24 hours he had arrived not just to check the situation but carrying a new toaster. A really charming host.

So a very good base for south east Sicily. Perhaps be careful if you have a toddler with you as the shallow end of the pool is about 1 metre deep.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The private swimming pool, lovely garden and view. Charming host.
Liked least: No problems!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing