We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$69
View deal
Expedia.com
US$69
View deal
FindHotel
US$101
US$64
View deal
SAVE US$37
Hotels.comUS$69
PricelineUS$69
getaroom.comUS$101
View all 14 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
55
46
16
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
55
46
16
10
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2019 via mobile

Lovely stay in this quirky and historic building in Catania.
Arrived and climbed the steep steps into reception. Rooms a good size with well appointed shower room.
The breakfast was delicious.
We took a Mt Etna walking tour from the hotel and everything including hotel recommended restaurants were all within a short distance from our base.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Kazza65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Very deceiving reviews that I don't know if they stayed in the same hotel! La Collegiata Hotel is a public building that has been adapted to become a hotel and when I say 'adapted', I am using the term in a very loose way. There were problems since our arrival, when we have to climb 2 flights of stairs just to get to the reception and there was nobody available to give assistance!
We decided to stay on the first floor so we didn't have to climb more stairs, bad mistake, the walls are so thin that we could hear every noise in reception, people coming in and out, the dreadful buzzing noise of the air conditioning from the houses opposite and people chatting downstairs! We couldn't sleep a wink that night, so the next day we decided to move to another room in the next floor although we had to climb another two flight of stairs!
The toilets were noisy because every time we flushed it it made a loud noise as there were not proper toilets but adapted with a very noisy system of disposal!
In general our stay wasn't very satisfactory at all and I wouldn't reccomend the place to anybody.

Room tip: Higher floor are better to avoid noise
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaMur, Direttore at Hotel Collegiata, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Madam Isabel,
we are sorry to receive such complaints as we always respect our guests.
We are hoteliers for more than 15 years and our guests are treated making them feel at home.
We are not a hotel, but we are a guest house in a historical building, and this means that our structure is adequate to the norms of the historical center.
To avoid the "noises" coming from outside, you are wrong to book in the historic center, because in all the cities this problem occurs, even if we have inserted soundproof windows in the rooms.
We are also sensitive to the environment in fact we have the ecological baths and that "noise" comes from this, but once the noise is not heard!
If you wanted a quiet stay and out of your reach you could book a five star HOTEL outside the historic center.
We never allowed ourselves to write fictitious inventions because the comments on booking and the compliments of other guests make us unique and we do not need to use fake comments to praise a structure that is run by professional people.
Just this week we received from booking the certificate as "heroes of availability" and this makes us proud of our work! If you have had problems we are sorry because being a leader in the industry we do everything to make them happy and cuddle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

A reasonably comfortable hotel in a really great location in Catania. The stairs up to the reception are really daunting with heavy suitcases, and then there are even more stairs to the rooms, with no lift. Breakfast was adequate. A bit noisy both from outside and from other rooms, especially the plumbing.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Scottie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

The hotel has a superb location just off the Via Etnea and the breakfast room looks out onto the Basilica della Collegiata which means that most of the major sights are within 5-10 minutes walk of the hotel.

However there are 26 steps from the street to the reception and then a further 34 to the rooms - not much fun with heavy luggage!. There is also the issue of parking if you have a hire car with the nearest garage parking being in the Piazza Pietro Lupo a 10 minute walk away for a cost of 10 euros per night.

The room was quite dark and the bathroom was small and cramped but thats only to be expected in a historical building and at least the bed was comfortable.

The breakfast didnt have any savoury items but one gets used to that abroad - oh for an English breakfast!

The street on which the hotel is located gets transformed in the evening with tables and seating areas for the local bars and it could be quite noisy so if possible dont look out on the Via Vasta.

The Wifi was free and fine and the staff were all very friendly and helpful so I'd recommend this for the fit and healthy person who doesnt mind climbing lots of stairs.

Room tip: Not overlooking Via Vasta
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

The good news is the location is excellent...
However, everything else about this hotel was NOT!
We were booked into this hotel by EScape Travel for an independent hiking trip for 16 days. Unfortunately we had to stay here for 2 days at the beginning and 2 days at the end of our trip.
Upon checking in we let the management know we were unhappy with one of the worst rooms we've ever seen in Europe. We overlooked an alley, room was small, dingy, poorly lit. They promised us a different room when we returned (and showed it to us) which we were happy to accept when we returned.
When we returned however, they gave us another room just like the 1st one!
It was the only place in Italy that not only was the breakfast meager, at best, they limited you to 1 cup of coffee and 1 croissant!!!
Their rules stated that breakfast was served at 8 AM but other arrangements could be made. When we had a plane to catch we asked for breakfast at 7:30 but the attendant would not prepare our 1 cup of allotted cappuccino...As well as he was extremely rude!
Our advice, do not stay here!!!!!!

Room tip: Go elsewhere!
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertaMur, Proprietario at Hotel Collegiata, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear guests,
thank you very much for your review. We really care about your feedback.
Our hotel has been open for 17 years and we have been accomodating about 3000 satisfied guests each year, all of them travelling around Europe, that's why we are actually surprised to read that your stay didn't meet your expectations expecially with regards of room size and its conforts.
Reading about our breakfast we would like to pointing that we do have breakfast buffet( tea and coffee, croissant, yougurt, juice, cakes, bread, cheese, jam and butter).
However we are very sorry about the delay of your breakfast your last day and we would like to ensure you that we are investigating about the customer service practices. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews