We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Villa, Beautiful Location!”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool Pool and Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool
Pool and Villa
300 year old former winery
Gallery
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with bath and shower
Kitchen Area
Cook your own pizza
Enjoy a cocktail or two whilst taking in the stunning view of Mount Etna
Pizza oven and cocktail bar area
Crocus beautiful walks from property
View of Mount Etna from Grounds
Etna In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
viccirobe...
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Villa, Beautiful Location!”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and i, and 2 friends have just spent a week at Villa Segreta, just outside Bellpasso, and what a fantastic week we had. Firstly, i would like to say that the photo's and descriptions online do not do this beautiful villa justice at all. As good as they look, the care, love and attention to detail that the owners of the Villa have applied is fantastic.

Everything that you would or could need is provided including the even little things such as travel plugs and beach towels. For anything that is not provided and you may need, the onsite caretakers Christine and Salvartore are pretty smart at finding them or advising how to find them, including ice, cool bags, olive oil and even a beach bag, thanks guys!! : )

On arrival we were greeted with a cold bottle of Prosecco and some beers for the boys, and even some juice for our pregnant friend. They went down a treat after travelling through the night from Wrexham to Gatwick, then to Catania and up to Bellpasso!

The standard of the Villa is very high, particularly so for Italy, where in my opinion, Villas can be very basic and usually with minimal attention to detail. The kitchen is ace, we love to cook and so the large gas 5 ring burner and oven, large BBQ and Pizza Oven areas went down a treat. There is a good fridge, no freezer, but Christine and Salvatore have a freezer available if needed.

The bedrooms are huge and beautifully set. Large, Overly Comfortable beds and lots of storage and dressing areas in both. The communal living area is very basic but has everything you need when you don't intend on spending much time inside watching TV.

There are dining areas outside and inside, pool side and set back into the garden too. You can pretty much choose where you want to relax, all areas are light at night and catch the sun in the day.

The pool is lovely, a great way to cool down when the temperatures are too high, we clocked 38 degrees this week, so if you need a dip, the pool is perfect. It was cleaned whilst we were staying, early in the morning and maintained daily to remove any bugs or vegetative matter.

The Villa is around 1000 meters above sea level, and you do need a car. Access to South Etna National Park is 20 minutes uphill, which is amazing to visit, and local villages Bellpasso and Nicollosi are 10 minutes drive away too, for all your amenities, restaurants and bars. These villages are not tourist destinations, they are very much local towns and English is not widely spoken, so if you have no Italian vocab, you will struggle in certain places, so get to grips with the basics. Locals in restaurants and bars will try their best to houmour any communication barriers and get there eventually but it may be tricky at times.

Our whole week was amazing and made perfect by our hosts, we are probably younger at 30/31 than most that would choose to stay in this area so it was lovely to be welcomed so generously. Nothing bad to say about the Villa at all, some reviews on here moan about little things such as water pressure, but to be honest, when you are staying half way up Mount Etna you don't expect much different and if you do.......well........no brainer really. 4 of us showered adequately, twice daily, every day so it wasn't an issue for us.

In Short, i would highly recommed Villa Segreta and will certainly return again. A beautiful, loved and happy place to stay, in a beautiful part of the world. If i can say anything negative, it would be that we didn't get to see Etna blow off any steam.......rubbish!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham A
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at Villa Segreta for five days, we would have liked longer but the flights didn't work out as we would have liked.
On arrival at the Villa we were met by Christine who made as very welcome, we were shown the villa, dropped our bags and were given a bottle of chilled Prosecco by the pool with a view of Mount Etna in the background, marvellous.
The villa is comfortable and adequate, there was a slight problem with hot water pressure but this was minor, the villa it is perfectly placed to explore Etna and surrounding area.
There are three dogs on site who gave us hours of entertainment they are certainly not a problem.
All in all we had a lovely stay at Villa Segreta and I would like to thank Christine and Salvatore for there wonderful hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we are happy you had a lovely time at the Villa. I shall of course pass on your comments to Christine & Salvatore who are doing an superb job as our new caretakers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tpowell9
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquility and bliss”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was a holiday with a difference. Wonderful surroundings, superb hosts. The Villa is perfect if you are looking for a quiet, restful holiday with a perfect Sicilian lifestyle experience. I would recommend hiring a car so you are able to visit many of the attractions/historical sites.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review we are so happy you enjoyed yourself you were lovely guests and hope to welcome you back to Villa Segreta in the future.

Regards
Jason & Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jude S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Kind”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I had an amazing time over my holiday I hope I go back soon so I get to know the people who live the house to the Villa they made me there friend and made shore I was ok with how my House area looked they were very kind to me and at the end I took them for a meal to show my thanks and most people wouldn't insist that they should pay but they did hopefully I will see them again and I would highly recommend Villa Segreta to every one looking for a place in Sicily Catania I hope that's how you spell it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you such a kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary J
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We spent a week at Villa Segreta, and had a very nice stay. The apartment is on the slopes of Mt. Etna, with a great view of the mountain and a nice pool where one can swim, or just lounge and enjoy the views. The villa is within easy walking/driving distance of several nice restaurants and markets. We did a fair amount of cooking ourselves in the small, but fairly well-equipped kitchen. The WiFi service was somewhat erratic, but worked most of the time. The villa would also be a good place to stay if you are into skiing (in the winter) or into hiking within the national park. The apartment itself was very clean and comfortable, but we were dismayed by all the garbage and litter strewn all over the roadsides in this area (not the owner's fault). This seemed to be a problem in most parts of Sicily that we visited. It rained fairly hard for several days that we were there, which we were unprepared for. So if you come in the fall, be aware that this can happen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing