We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic find, highly recommend”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool Pool and Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Pool and Mount Etna by Night
Tranquil secluded private pool
Pool and Villa
300 year old former winery
Gallery
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with bath and shower
Kitchen Area
Cook your own pizza
Enjoy a cocktail or two whilst taking in the stunning view of Mount Etna
Pizza oven and cocktail bar area
Crocus beautiful walks from property
View of Mount Etna from Grounds
Etna In Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
hkxpat196...
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, premium prices with cheapish undertones”
Reviewed 21 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We hired over Christmas and received a warm welcome from the owners who were helpful throughout. The setting was excellent...fine views of Etna on a clear day. The cottage was itself small with just enough room for a family of 4 to survive a week. Shoddy details of the property suggested minor nuisances.

As prices are significantly increased over the Christmas period we were prepared for the price hike. What we weren't prepared for was a limited supply of wood for the fire, enough for 3 days probably....then extra payment for anything initially supplied. We were also limited to 2 bottles of gas to heat the cottage, this was obviously not enough to heat it for one week over the winter so we had to purchase more.

All so unnecessary...I don't want to call round requesting more gas/wood and how much? Include it in the price and for the price we paid I'm sure it was just a mosquito bite. So for the sake of not being mean-spirited...make your rental all inclusive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, swimming pool and the pets (for children)
Liked least: Hidden added extras
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jan 2012
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed that you were required to pay for the extra gas and wood, above the amount we supplied complimentarily. This information was clearly listed on the website before you agreed to your booking. Clearly paying an extra €22 Euro's at the end of your holiday has marred your experience. In fact judging from other reviews by guests your experience is unusual. All guests are provided (included in the price) £44 worth of gas (about 62 Kg) and a large basket of logs. Additionally as this booking was for over 7 days we supplied an additional £22 worth of gas free of charge(£66 worth of gas). We make no mark up on the gas, it is supplied at cost.

At a cost per person for a family of four over a peak Christmas period of under £25 per night with nearly £100 of complementary extras included, Villa Segreta is highly competitive. It is not our aim to appear cheap by asking guests in a self catering accomodation to pay for extras they choose to use. We provide a guide in the accomodation explaining how best to use the heating system for maximum efficiency.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aalborg
Reviewed 23 October 2011 for a stay in June 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A little hard to find at first...
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
england
Reviewed 1 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting of the villa
Liked least: Having to come home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments so glad you had a great holiday. It was a pleasure having you all stay. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vejle, Denmark
Reviewed 12 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The site of the house and the kind and helpful hosts.
Liked least: The bed upstairs
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Oct 2011
Thank you for your review, it was lovely meeting you both, hope we see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing