We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$100
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/23
Hotels.com
US$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/06/26
Trip.com
US$100
US$86
View deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 21/06/27
Expedia.comUS$87
PricelineUS$100
TravelocityUS$87
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
15
13
40
25
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
13
40
25
62
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2019

The hotel has absolutely no charm and needs urgent renovation. The only advantage is that it is close to the airport which makes it convenient to catch a plane in the morning. Besides the rooms are ok, the breakfast if ok. One major good point, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jean-Claude A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel as it apeared to be very close to the airport. You can only reach it by taxi as its located on a main road with no pedestrian walking zone and the taxi is not cheap. You might as well take a bus to Catania center and book a cozy nice hotel, cheaper and close to all amenities.

The hotel is very old, the rooms were not clean, noisy and smelled humid and cigarette. The bathroom was old and dirty and the shower was deffinetly not up to standards. Deffinetly not worth the price.

We had to use their restaurant as everything around was closed or too far as you cant walk on that main street and that was the drop that overflew the glass. It was like hospital food but worse. My chicken was raw (no need to be a master chef to cook chicken) and the mixed vegetables where green beans, so no mix there really. The only waiter that works there does what he can with a sense of humour so cant blame the service. Breakfast was alright with a good variety of sweet food, no salted stuff aside from bread and no real coffee nor noone to prepare a real coffee.

Internet works alright.

Overall not worth the price at all and really not convinient if you are looking to stay close to the airport.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank whatsnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

It was a nice hotel, the room was reasonable and the bathroom too. The wifi was really good.
We have stayed only one night, next day we were going to fly home the next day. It was near the airport but also near the sea. We had a nice view of the sea so it was nice. We ate dinner there too, it was good. The breakfast was good too, we got eggs which was really good because we did not get it at a single hotel we were staying on during our holiday. The staff were really nice and helpful.

Aircondition could be a bit better, it was really hot in the room, but it was not possible to regulate more than that.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khamlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We booked this hotel as we thought it would have been close to the airport. Well, if you would travel by air to the airport it would take you 5 min, yes. However it's about 6 km and you need to take a taxi that costs you 20€! I opted for the public transportation and it took me one hour but I saved around 16€. Watch out though. The first bus I took didn't sell tickets onboard and there is nowhere around where to buy them.
Other than the location, the room was smelly and very noisy (dogs barking all night) and not that clean either. Breakfast was average but there was a terrible smell of cigarettes coming from the kitchen while having breakfast.
Not sure why this hotel has three stars, maybe just for the price they charge you for one night. I would not recommend it especially if you're looking for something clean and close to the airport.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank ciacobeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We traveled with a small child and needed a hotel for a night before our flight from Catania. We have done the reservation and payment 3 months in advance, directly on the hotel website which requested a bank transfer on the name of Marcella Arena. Upon arrival we have seen that the hotel roof has been transformed into a huge base station with at least 6 masts with mobile phone antennas and small satellite dishes (the smaller they are, the bigger the radiation). I am aware of the dangers of the electromagnetic fields from these masts and have been suffering for 5 years from EHS (electrohypersensitivity) due to irradiation by mobile phone antennas in front of our old flat so the view of the antennas on top of Miramare hotel was my nightmare. Radio wave sickness is a well known condition and every day many people become new victims of these antennas, let alone all the research which shows that cancer is in clusters in areas near base stations, masts, and power lines. Children are even more susceptible and vulnerable as they get much more radiation compared to the adults. For these reasons I have declined to sleep in that hotel and explained to the receptionist my condition. He wanted us to prove that we have paid and we showed him the reservation and payment confirmation received by email from the website. He did not want to give us the money and in case we decided to stay, he said we should pay (again) as he cannot find any conformation of payment in his system. He advised us to come the next morning and speak with the hotel manager (Mrs. Marcella Arena). We were not able to do so as we had an early flight. It was getting dark and it was cold so we had to quickly find another solution where to sleep. I have told the receptionist that these antennas are deliberately hidden from the pictures of their website, they were not advertised so that people know what to expect. He said that I should have looked on Google Earth where the antennas would be visible and there was no need for the hotel to update its info nor pictures. This was an unseen impertinence.
Upon arrival at home we managed to call the hotel and speak to the manager who has told us that she needs time to find our payment confirmation. We have since left two emails with the bank statement proof and the sent by the hotel payment confirmation. No reply so far and we are going to have to take other measures to get a refund. Not only this hotel is misleadingly advertising its facilities but is treating its customers with a insolent negligence and stealing money, abusing people's trust. The hotel itself is a health hazard! Apart from that, just for the record, in Italy, each mobile phone company pays 100 000 Euros per antenna for a private owner to put it in his/her property. So the hotel has received a huge benefit from putting the antennas on its roof, endangering the health of its employees and customers with a non-ionising radiation passing multi-fold times the safe limit of a mobile phone usage radiation. This review is a warning to those who are EHS and those who care about their health. The hotel is having an old picture on other websites with only one antenna (which I saw much later) and not with the 6 or 7 masts as you can see from the pictures I supply here. I will not recommend it to anyone with a sane reasoning.

Room tip: Miramare Hotel, Catania, is a health hazard
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank l24682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews