We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding...”

Restaurant Il Desco
Ranked #10 of 1 379 Restaurants in Verona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$102 - US$159
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 December 2018

My notes at the time (July 19, 2018): "Wines: Pannier Champagne and then 2014 Monte Dell’ Ora Valpolicella Camporenzo Classical Suporiore. 2 amuse bouche, one featuring cucumber foam, the other tomato based. Then ‘Cocotte’ mountain egg. Then a wonderful Spaghetti with acid mountain butter, summer cauliflower sauce, pollen and barely. Then steamed Guinea fowl ‘cutlet’ with glazed saffron endive [how clever! And good!] with risotto with melting onions, tomato, basil and peat aftertaste. Dessert was a de-constructed tiramisu which was wonderful. A superb dining experience!"
All the dishes we had were outstanding, but the spaghetti still sticks in our memory: perhaps the best pasta my lady and I have ever had; bravo...
Service was flawless and attentive but not fussy or over-bearing.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FoodieAngelino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

We had a superb meal & were wonderfully attended to by the staff. We had the taster menu & each course was a sensation, and although the sweetbreads were an experience I personally wouldn’t repeat & one my girlfriend couldn’t get over, this is our personal taste & no reflection on the preparation.
Highly recommended Il Desco. Fantastic.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank johnpC1157TL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

It's a fascinating entrance hall and dining room with a somewhat hushed 'Michelin Star' ambience where people tend to talk in whispers. We had the tasting menu and shared a wine flight.
Courses I particularly loved - amuse bouche 'test tube' drink and pizza biscuit; fish tartare; fois gras cherry
Courses about which I was not so sure - the strong cheese 'butter'; fish & fennel (we were told this was the chef's favourite but it felt a little dated to me); sweetbreads
Course which was bonkers and not sure how we felt about it - final dessert!

Great for a one off experience but not somewhere I feel strongly I wanted to revisit.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janetyjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

This long established restaurant in the heart of Verona has an amazing à la carte menu, but we went for their special tasting menu and didn’t regret. In some restaurants, service between tasting dishes takes a long time and it seems that your meal would never end, but at Il Desco they serve at a good pace and your lunch flows elegantly. Every dish of the tasting menu was better than the previous one. It’s like a symphony which opens with sonata, slowly builds up, gently flows and culminates in allegro or rondo. From veal tartare, through potato gnocchi with red mullet ragout, seabass with deliciously mashed fennel and foie gras presented as cherry (!) generously served with sweet wine, it culminated with saffron ice-cream, whisky and chocolate cream. You can’t miss that in Verona! They have also got an extensive wine list to surprise any wine connoisseur.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 551sergeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

We visited as special occasions with our 3 adult sons and had booked months before
to secure a table. The food did not disappoint and delighted us all with exquisite taste, flavour and theatre and style.
What let this place down was a stern self important sommelier and waiter with no more charm than a mobster’s body guard. Not once was there a welcoming smile. In fact we felt most unwelcome and a burden.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank caroncampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Il Desco also viewed

Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 
Verona, Province of Verona
Verona, Province of Verona
 

Been to Restaurant Il Desco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing