We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect slice of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sogara

The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Swimming Pool Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Villa
Swimming Pool
Bedroom
Living Room
Dining Room
Swimming Pool
Upper Loggia
Library
Library
Living Room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Vineyards
Courtyard
Patio
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Verona, Province of Verona, Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Charlene...
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect slice of heaven”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Every year I take a group of adult students to Italy for a sketching workshop and this year we stayed at Villa Sogara. It was a dream of a place: beautiful rooms, modern conveniences (like elevator and air conditioning and a swimming pool!) blended wonderfully with old world beauty (antique furniture, art, books, courtyard). The host, Tomaso and his wife, Ella, are wonderful too. Available, flexible, kind, thoughtful. Just a slice of heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything really!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabel R
Lymington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Dream Stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most wonderful place. Tomasso and Ella were perfect hosts and so welcoming. The house with all its history is stunning and tranquil. I stayed here with 11 other friends and we had a really happy few days, swimming in the good sized pool, eating the most delicious food cooked by Ella in the loggia and basking in sunshine within the idyllic grounds of the villa. This place is an absolute must!!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie246...
New Forest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in stunning surroundings.”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at the beautiful Villa Sogara where we were met by the owner Tommaso. He is very knowledgeable and proud of the history of the villa and shared this with us as he showed us around.
You get a sense of this history as you walk around the rooms, all furnished with antiques and pictures that his family have collected over many generations.
Once unpacked, we headed to the pool where we sat on the loungers and soaked up the afternoon sun. The pool is a good size and perfectly situated to get the most out of the sunshine and views across the vineyards.
That evening we gathered under the shade of the trees and drank in the heady smell of the Gardenia and Jasmine that is growing in the garden.
Ella and Tommaso had catered for us for 2 out of the 3 evenings that we stayed, we were treated to 4 or 5 courses of the most spectacular food that Ella had lovingly cooked for us and to some wine from Tommaso's own vineyards.
Villa Sogara is a unique property and is set in the most spectacular scenery and if you are looking for somewhere to stay that offers a real sense of Italian history and style then this is definitely the place for you. But what will really make your holiday something to truly remember are the owners Tommaso and Ella for whom nothing is too much trouble. They had purchased our shopping for us (we had previously emailed a list to them), organised transfers and taxis throughout our stay, and booked a table in a restaurant opposite the Arena for the night we had gone into Verona to the opera.
I would highly recommend Villa Sogara as a place to stay especially if you are a large group (we were a group of 12).
Verona itself is stunning I highly recommend a walk along the river and stopping for a gelato. The Opera was something definitely worth doing but suggest taking a seat cushion and a bottle of water.
We were only in Italy for 4 days but definitely intend to return and hope to stay at the Villa Sogara again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuliacan...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best of everything”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We recently had the opportunity to once again vacation at the splendid Villa Sogara located among the hillside vineyards just east of Verona.  Welcomed back as if we were family by Tomasso and Ela, eight of us spent the week absorbed in Italian culture both in their spacious villa and on outings that our hosts not only arranged but accompanied us. We never would have discovered some of the treasures of the area without their guidance. Language problems were not an issue with fluently bilingual hosts to accompany us on the outings to wineries and even a pasta ‘factory’.  The full use of the kitchen made for relaxing meals in the dining room.  We loved the interactive cooking class provided by Ela, where we were taught to make many unique and delicious creations followed by a meal together.
While Villa Sogara is located on a secluded private estate, it is very central to many of the local ‘must see’ attractions.  We enjoyed quick easy drives to spend the day in Verona, beautiful Lake Garda and the spectacular waterside towns, as well as other historical sites.  The drive along the lake was one of the most picturesque routes that we have ever experienced in many years of travelling in Europe.
If you are a group planning a trip to Italy, we highly recommend that you consider Villa Sogara. It will provide an experience to which you will undoubtedly want to return again and again. 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts took care of everything we needed. The villa is in a quiet, lovely area but is an easy drive to wherever we wanted to go.
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungathe...
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Time Had By All”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014

There are not enough superlatives to describe our time in this wonderful villa. Eight of us (four couples) were fortunate to spend a week with Tomasso and his family as our hosts.

The villa itself met all of our expectations in size, layout and comfort. It is located in a lovely area untouched by modern development. But our stay was made exceptional by the warmth and generosity of our hosts. On the evening of our arrival, Ella prepared a delicious meal that set the tone for the week. Tomasso led us on a very informative tour of a winery where we sampled the local wines and olive oils. As we headed off on day trips, Tomasso provided valuable information about routes, parking etc. There was an abundance of nearby markets, both supermarkets and smaller groceries that allowed us to take advantage of the well stocked and ample kitchen. (My husband cooked an eggplant dish that is a gourmet highlight of the trip.)

Some of our best memories are of an evening spent with Tomasso, Ella, their young daughter and Ella's mother. We had invited them to join us for an "American" meal (meatloaf, macaroni and cheese and an apple crisp). We learned much about the history of the villa, which has been in the family since the 1600s, their family and the region.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing