We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gracious and comfortable rental in an ideal...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Discount at Harry's Dolci
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
NovaScoti...
Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gracious and comfortable rental in an ideal location!”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We are together writing this brief review of our stay in the apartment in the last two weeks of October. We loved our time in this gracious, calm space, and particularly appreciated the aesthetic simplicity. The kitchen was well equipped, the knives in particular were a delight; all the pots and pans one could want were available. The living room space was ample for we three people. The bed was as comfortable as the one in our own home; bed linens were high quality. The bathroom was well fitted out and worked – warm water as you needed it; there were plenty of good towels The heating worked well; we were always as warm as we wished. There was plenty of cupboard and drawer space; the maid service did a fine job.

The apartment was wonderfully situated. We had garbage pick-up frequently and efficiently. One could not have asked for better security. The range of first-rate shops – baker, greengrocer, fishmonger, salmieri, even a man selling modest and delicious wines from large containers into your own plastic bottles – was extensive, and five minutes walk. The Co-op supermarket was not more than fifteen minutes walk and there was a shopping cart in the apartment. Italian fruits, vegetables, meat and fish were of high quality in comparison to the products in North American stores. We found our local “hang-out” in the Osteria del Botti (next door to our bakery). We took morning coffee, afternoon drinks and any number of dinners in this charming, simple and locally well patronized establishment. The staff were a delight.

We had perfect weather with sunny, warm, days and just a short experience of aqua alte which gave us some sense of the ambience in such times. That too was a pleasure. There are few areas for improvement.: We would have liked more artificial lights by which to read; the internet connection was sometimes unreliable; There could have been a more complete orientation on our arrival. The garden that was advertised was not available to us – there should be a spare key.

We loved our time at the Byzantine and would highly reccommend it.

The Canadians

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and asthetics
Liked least: No access to the garden (as advertised) and intermittent internet issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Must stay location!”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have been to Venice many times. This is, by far, the only way to do Venice. Stay on Giudecca away from the madding crowds, live near actual Venetians at their pace. Great restaurants, and easy access to Venice proper. This apartment is PERFECT. The owners have exquisite taste, & have thought of your every need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & decor
Liked least: Can't think of a single complaint
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solotrave...
west coast
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect appartement ”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Got distracted by the beauty of Italy on the way to Venice , and made some prior stops in Verona and other little cities , so by the time We got to Venice Walter was already helping other guests check in at his other properties , but thanks to his very detailed instructions we were able to get to Giudecca at the Hilton's water boat stop and wait for him while admiring This beautiful town from the other side of the bay .
When He arrived and let us in the apartment , we were in Awe in front of this immaculate place .
Every detail was handled , and the contemporary meets Old Venice plaster walls and decor of the apartment was incredibly beautiful .
Going to Venice by shuttle took 10 mins by water shuttle , but then returning to this cute and quite little Island made total sense .
Harry Dolce Cipriani is literally next door, and many little local shops like a bakery, a vegetable & Fruit little Mart , and also a mom and pap Italian Charcuterie and cheese store etc...and a real Supermarket near by.
I would use this property again for sure .
Thanks Walter for your great and detailed communication skills and sorry again for not arriving on time to Venice that first night .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raulnaon
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best real venizia experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

THE APPARTMENT IS SIMPLY PERFECT
living in giudecca was an amazing experience
It was a pleasure to return at night by vaporetto
Few tourist , nice local people
I think it is a must experience

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airvallee
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Byzantine was all it was advertised and more: the location was ideal, the property was spacious, light and luxurious. My colleague and I spent a week at the Byzantine for a conference being held 300 meters away at the Hilton. Many of our friends from the Hilton came to the Byzantine to enjoy a home-cooked dinner and a glass of wine away from the crowded conference venue. Hats off to Walter who greeted us exactly on time and was a great font of information. We would definitely recommend this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and overall decor
Liked least: I really have nothing negative to share about this property.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing