We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location”

Review of Contarini

enjoy the view of the gondolas sliding along the canal reading a book...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
enjoy the view of the gondolas sliding along the canal reading a book...
loft style living room with large dining table loft style living room with large dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
enjoy the view of the gondolas sliding along the canal reading a book...
loft style living room with large dining table
loft style living room with large dining table
view of the loft from the kitchen
the kitchen is old-fashioned but functional
the kitchen is old-fashioned but functional
the apartment is characterized by antique furniture and wooden trusses
plenty of light is received directly from the glass roof
curtains to divide the space in the loft and staircase leading to the bedroom
a comfortable and new double wall-bed is hidden behind the curtains
a comfortable and new double wall-bed is hidden behind the curtains
upstairs the bedroom is really big and bright
upstairs the bedroom is really big and bright
canal view enjoyable from the bedroom
a small toilet is accessible climbing four steps
a small toilet is accessible climbing four steps
the main bathroom is at the ground floor, behind the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ieme d
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Contarini apartment is located in the heart of Dorsoduro. A stones throw from Campo San Barnaba and an easy two minute walk from vaporetto stop Ca'Rezzonico.
We had the pleasure of staying in this apartment for a whole week.
The photos provide a good overview of the apartment. The main living space has a large 10 seating dining table, several different sitting and relaxing areas.
The main attraction are the doors that open directly onto the canal. Every afternoon we would open these whilst having Italian afternoon tea and say 'ciao' to the passing gondolas. Can't get more Venetian than that.
The kitchen is sufficient although we rarely used it. The food in local restaurants is just too good to eat at home.
Again the bathroom is sufficient; ample room, hot water and could do with a renovation.
Upstairs is a separate large bedroom with its own toilet. Again, it has a great view of the canal. It has a large wardrobe and huge desk. Ample space to stow contents of several suitcases. In my opinion the mattress needs replacing; not uncomfortable, just noisy.
Furthermore the bedroom can be fully shuttered so it is dark, cool and quiet.
It does provide a very good air conditioning system.
The apartment has eclectic mix of classic furniture, books, arts. Seems like it has been thrown together, it works though.
I can only highly recommend Contarini. Why stay in a small Venetian hotel room for the same price when you can get all this space.
Would we stay here again? Yes, please.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dodderer
Scilly UK
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“very special apartment”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very unusual and beautifully adapted space to make a very comfortable and very spacious apartment. It would appear that a former boat yard has been roofed over mostly with glass. The rafters are an interesting construction and mirror the roof construction in the Arsenali. My son a civil engineer by training told me it was an interesting way to carry the stresses of a heavy roof.. The apartment has a well equipped small kitchen with all the usual appliances. A modern bathroom with pressure plumbing,and hot water. There is heating and air conditioning. We needed neither. There are some amazing antique furniture, particularly fine bureaus. Lots of old and fragile books,and an eclectic collection of old and unusual objects. It is a marvelous place to stay in excellent position only a few steps from San Barnabus one way and the other to Ca Rezzinco vaporretto stop.Our only wish was that the water gate door on to the canal no longer opens. We would love to stay there again. The letting agents(Truly Venice) are top class,and quite the best and most professional of agents in Venice that we have used in the past.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the comfort of this amazing apartment
Liked least: not being able to open the water door to the canal!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Not Luxurious”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband booked this apartment as a birthday surprise. We’d used Simply Venice before so thought we’d be fine. Met by lovely Hannah (the rep) at our vaparetto stop and a 2 minute walk to the apartment. It used to be a boat house and was full of quirky furniture and features, backing right onto a canal, picture perfect Venice. The kitchen was small and basic, but that was fine as we weren’t planning to do anything more than make tea in the mornings. The bathroom however was shocking. The shower head didn’t fit either of the holders, so you had to hand hold and wash, not ideal and the bath was too shallow to actually bathe in. This is not an acceptable standard of provision for a ‘luxury’ apartment. We contacted the office on our return, but they were less than apologetic. We won’t be booking through them again. Having said that the location on Dorsoduro was wonderful .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryanne3...
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Absolutely spectacular apartment!”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were so fortunate to spend 10 glorious days at this gorgeous property in March of 2016. The photos were wonderful but we felt the 'real thing' was even better. The entire apartment is filled with an eclectic collection of books and art. So much to look at and enjoy! Everything we needed was provided. The woman, Hannah, met us at the vaparetto stop and reviewed everything with us. She was lovely. The apartment was comfortable and quiet. The upper floor included a very large bedroom and a powder room. Great views out the windows to the small canal. We opened the large doors on the first floor that lead directly to the small canal which was quite lovely. Full bathtub with shower, toilet and bidet. All bedding/towels are included. Someone came mid week to change bedding and towels. Large murphy bed on first floor for an additional person/couple. An excellent location with a small campo a minute away with cafes and a DaVinci museum. We cannot say enough about this location. One thing to consider: I don't think the unit has A/C so not sure what the experience would be like in the summer. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. *probably would not recommend to people with children. Too many valuable pieces of art/furniture/books that could be damaged by boisterous kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Some noise in mornings from boats travelling in canal; but closing shutters worked well.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaeljb...
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Highly recommend Truly”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at an apartment for New Year which we booked through Truly Venice. We were met by Daniela Scarcia at the water taxi stop. She was excellent and gave us a lot of local information and booked our water taxi return for us. Nothing was too much trouble for her we will be booking again with Truly, Grazie Mille Daniela.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Support by Daniela
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$333
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
41800002729
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing