We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Live like a local!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Entrance
San Sebastiano
Near apartment 30 m.
Campo Santa Margherita
Shop of fruit
Campo Santa Margherita
The Master Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living Room
Street
Street
Street
Santa Margherita
Near Guggenheim
San Marco
Maschere
Carnevale veneziano
Giorgio S.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
WH0A
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Live like a local!”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We very much enjoyed staying in Giorgio's "Sunny House" and would not hesitate to book it again if we ever were lucky enough to be back in Venice.

The house itself is very Venetian and many people stop to take photos. It's in a wonderfully quiet area - something to be aware of when booking in noisy Venice - but still provides easy access to the main spots. You'll be staying next door to a nunnery, in fact, so you'll awake to the gentle sound of lovely morning singing each day, drifting through the windows with the only other noise being the birds that call nearby.

The house is effectively yours for your stay. We believe there is some sort of business on the ground floor, but we only ever heard anything a couple of times and never saw anyone. The building is fully secure and feels very safe.

Inside, the apartment is very spacious. Ideal for a couple, manageable for a family. The whole house is very well fitted out. We understand Giorgio used to live in the house and he has left many of the things needed for daily life. The kitchen, for example, has everything one could possibly need and even includes quite a variety of things you are free to use from the pantry.

The bathroom is the only real negative - rather old and very cramped - but that's a small price to pay for accommodation in central Venice.

Giorgio and Sabina (who actually meets you and does the final arrangements) are both lovely to deal with. Booking takes a little while, mainly because of language, but stick with it. Sabina's English is excellent and she has a lot of good advice when you meet her. They also provided comprehensive information on Venice, the local area, and restaurant recommendations, etc, in a very good portfolio that is in the apartment for guest use.

We have no hesitation in recommending this apartment for a great stay in Venice.

Tip: if you have heavy luggage or you're just tired, water taxis can drop you very close. Just ask for the dock near the San Sebastián Garden Hotel. Cross the little canal bridge and the buidling is the on your right. First door is the nuns', yours is the second door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and size
Liked least: Bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldstephen...
Brighton, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous location!”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very spacious apartment in a great location. Only 5 minute walk to the water bus and away from all the tourists. Anytime we got lost wandering the streets of Venice, which was often and fun, we just had to ask for directions to San Sebastian Church as it's right next door. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Located right next door was a Nuns residence and we loved waking up in the morning to their singing of hymns. Sounded like angels! The apartment came very well equipped. Our only concern was the very tiny bathroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of living spaces.
Liked least: Tiny bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Great review!!! And it is WHOLE true!! THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Giorgio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauried20...
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is in a very nice part of Venice. It is an easy walk to all the main attractions. There are many cafes and restaurants nearby, an ATM around the corner and a good sized supermarket only 2 minutes away. With Sabina's directions, it was very easy to find the apartment, which was about a 12 minute walk from the bus terminal. We caught the number 5 bus from the airport, it was only €6.00, compared to €40 in a taxi. The apartment is quite large and bright, and has all the facilities for a comfortable, self catering holiday.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kshakir
Cambridge, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just off the heart of Venice”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a quiet trip to Venice, near enough to places to eat, and visit. The Sunny House was perfect, a short walk to water buses, or a medium walk to places like San Marco.

Inside the apartment was warm and friendly, and relatively spacious. My girlfriend serenaded me with on the provided xylophone, and we ended up using some of the shared mosquito spray a kind renter left behind before heading out.

We had a wonderful time exploring the city, especially at night. Giorgio and Sabina were also very helpful with providing tips for the area, including how to park for 5€ a day while we visited Venice. The apartment was also a short water bus hop across to Giudecca which had wonderful views, quiet restaurants, and even a bit of green.

My first time to venice, I would have never found the place, so I thank Sabina for meeting us and escorting us to the apartment. If you want to know where it is located on a map, it's close to the "San Sebastiano Garden Hotel Venice"

For the nerds like me, wifi was provided a wifi modem with a 3g sim. Because of the size of the apartment / strength of the wifi, the signal couldn't reach my phone from the bedroom (ok because I had my own 3G). Also because it's a prepaid plan per month, you really shouldn't use that much of the wifi, I think 600MB per day was the recommended amount.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula a
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Venice without the hassles!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
8
people found this review helpful

The apartment was spotlessly clean and indeed full of light. It has everything you need, including boots for high water! (thankfully we didn't need them). A comfortable bed, a very usable kitchen. We were happy to stay in a quiet part of Venice, away from the tourist craziness but close enough to walk to all the sights. There is a large supermarket just a minute away with everything you could want and or you can try the great restaurants nearby.
It takes just 5 minutes to walk from Piazzale Roma or there is a vaporetto stop close by. I believe this is all explained in the apartment description, but I want to confirm that it is all true. Surprisingly, you can also get a taxi just down one of the little calles on the square behind the apartment, which is great if you don't want to carry suitcases up and down over the bridges.
Mr. Silver and Sabina were welcoming and made sure our stay was perfect. Sabina met us at Piazzale Roma and showed us the way, thank goodness, because Venice has so many twists and turns it can be hard to find things.
This is a great apartment. A great neighborhood. Turns out an old friend of mine who has lived in Venice for 40 years moved to this neighborhood 10 years ago and says it really is the best place to be.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2014
Grazie per i gentilissimi complimenti che sono per noi una grande gratificazione. Arrivederci. Giorgio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing