We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 210)
Filter reviews
1 210 results
Traveller rating
676
455
62
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
455
62
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rialto bridge great location water taxi four poster bed small canal continental breakfast antique furniture lovely hotel lovely room canal view venetian style superior room would stay here again vaporetto stop ham shower head pastries
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 1 210 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We booked three nights at the Antico Doge with Hotels.com and I am convinced that you never ever get the best rooms with them even though we paid for a Deluxe Double Room. The room we were given was classed as Deluxe and had the bed on a mezzanine and seating on the ground floor. We found it small, dark and oppressive and immediately asked to be moved. Although this was obviously a problem the hotel thankfully moved us to another room but this was only Standard. The staff in all areas are very helpful and accommodating and can not fault the service. Breakfast was buffet style and good selection for a continental breakfast although I am sure other Europeans would prefer better selection of cold meats and salad. Hotel is in a good location next to the canal Rio dei ss Apostoli and can be at Rialto in 5mins or St Marks in 10mins. Also you can get a gondola to the door and the water taxi will drop/pick you up just across the small bridge. Overall it was a lovely holiday.

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank Johnsam50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Antico Doge is a great choice for a stay in Venice. It's a walking distance to all attractions. There's a small piazza across the hotel where one could relax before retiring to bed. The staff of the hotel are so courteous and efficient. The room was very spacious and clean. I will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claudine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Antico Doge is in a charming, popular location: alongside a small canal with pretty bridge, a small gondola station and nearby square with a very tall elegant clock tower. It is in a convenient central location: 5 mins from the Rialto Bridge, 20 mins walk from St Marc's Square and within 15-20 mins walk from the quieter area of Carnnargio. The nearest vapparetto stops are Rialto or Ca'd'Oro. From the airport you have a number of choices to get to the hotel: a private water taxi can get you door to door; boat service Alilaguna Arancio Orange route to Rialto ( which we took on our arrival) or a the Alilaguna B route from Fondanenta Nuove ( 15 mins walk from hotel and runs every half hour. This boat is bigger and more pleasant to ride on than the Arancio route boat.). The best way is private taxi but it is not cheap if there is just two of you. During our stay we took a gondola from outside the hotel which made it more personal.
Antico Doge is more of a b&b than hotel in that there are no public seating areas. You access it from some glass double doors at street level, through a narrow hall way where there is a small reception desk. The rooms are on the upper floors and breakfast takes place in a salon on the first floor. Our room was a good size and well decorated with lovely fabric linings on every wall. The bed was also very comfortable. The bathroom was also a good size and very clean. Our room looked over a courtyard to the back which was nice and quiet given the front of the hotel faces the busy canal bridge and square. Breakfast was just ok certainly not to the standard I have experienced in similar style hotels in Paris: the fruit was tinned rather than fresh, the pastries and breads were quite stale rather than crisp and fresh ( exception were the slices of panettone ). However all the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Ps it is not the easiest place to find if you are coming from Rialto: you'll come out of a passageway and you'll see the small bridge, there is a restaurant to your right under some arches and the hotel entrance is to your left before you cross the bridge.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Gave it a 3 star for location. We had the triple room and thank goodness we r short people because if u r tall u will hit your head on the ceiling. Also the bathroom was so small that i could sit on the toilet and brush my teeth at the sink.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Stayed with the lovely folks at Antico Doge the first full week of September - our 4th year in a row and our 5th stay since discovering this marvelous boutique hotel in 2003. From the ever elegant and charming managers - Mariella and Massimo - to the extremely efficient and helpful desk staff, including Sara and Elena - to the lovely and friendly ladies who staff the breakfast room and insure that your room is spotless every day, you will not find a more welcoming place to stay in the whole of Venice. Ideally located in the Cannaregio section of the city just off the Campo SS Apostoli, it is a 10 minute walk in either direction to San Marco or the train station... just close enough to get to the busy hubs of the city quickly and easily and just far enough from the hustle and bustle to allow for an escape to the less frequented neighborhoods for a quiet dinner or stroll. Do take the staff recommendations for dinner... they are always spot on. The buffet breakfast served daily provides a wide assortment of delicious options. The staff is so welcoming and friendly that you will feel like you've found a new home away from home. Do make this hotel a must stay in Venice - but please leave a room free for us when we return next year.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GHartpence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews