We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 092)
Filter reviews
2 092 results
Traveller rating
1 166
758
125
33
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 166
758
125
33
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station former monastery church bells grand canal scalzi bridge arriving by train no elevator vaporetto stop hard boiled eggs water buses narrow alley lounge area your luggage side street pastries piazzale roma perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 2 092 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Stayed here for a few nights for a recent family trip to Venice. The hotel is located in the busy area near the train station, but off the main plaza down a quiet street. The hotel was simply fantastic, with a very large room and bathroom that was classically adorned. The hotel's roots as a former Abbey are clear in design of the rooms and the common areas. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. The hotel is a short walk from the vaparetto station across from the central train station, so it's a good launching point to get around Venice. It's also a short walk to the Rialto bridge area, and there are many nearby dining and shopping options. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ibeplato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

This is a interesting hotel located in an old monastery. We were booked there for 3 days in Venice. However as soon as we entered the room we had a problem. It smelled very strongly of perfume or air freshener. Due to scent sensitivity there was no way we would be able to stay in this room. The hotel staff were very understanding and tried to find an alternative. We were grateful that they took to time to show us two other rooms. Unfortunately none of them worked so we decided to move to a different hotel. I would still have recommended this hotel, until the next morning. We were on a tour so we had to meet our group in the hotel lobby. It was there that the hotel manager came over to talk to us. He proceeded to yell at us in the lobby about us moving to another hotel. It was embarrassing to be yelled at in front of a bunch of people.

TLDR If you don’t mind strong smells and want to stay at a quirky hotel close to the train station this may be for you. You will be treated well by the staff unless you upset the manager. In which case look out.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvise V, Direttore at Hotel Abbazia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

I thank Susan for her wonderful review!
First of all, it is right to know that we do not use perfumers for the rooms, much less chemical perfumes, air freshener or other, but only hypoallergenic products to clean the furniture, the bathroom and the whole room.
I personally assigned the nice superior room to these people on their arrival around noon and only hours later they told the receptionist that they wanted to change, without a valid reason (we also checked with their tour guide and the room was magnificent, spotlessly clean and absolutely no smells of any kind!). The receptionist very kindly (perhaps too kindly ...) first showed another room and also a third one (yes, a third one!), which was immediately accepted by the customers and their luggage was immediately moved to the new room. After using the third room for other hours, they went down again with the luggage in hand and went out the back door (yes, from the back door !!!) without saying anything and even with our room key in their pocket to go to a another hotel.
In short, these people have used two rooms (during the high season, so we couldn't re-sell them, obviously!) for hours and then go to another hotel, without saying a word and taking our key with them.
In the morning I naturally asked for explanations of their so silly behavior and the only thing that was answered (by the Susan's husband!) was: "I'm sorry, we were wrong". "I absolutely agree", I thought to myself!
These people have treated our work without respect: I have never been rude or offended anyone, but what could they expect from me? A red carpet?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

The reviews were great and I was really looking forward to this stay, but our triple room was disappointing. No shower, bad a/c, hard bed. Looks like there are nicer rooms so maybe ask. Be aware no elevators and 4 floors. On the plus side, very close to transportation, quiet, great lobby for meeting up with family, nice breakfast, friendly staff, and outdoor space.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jzee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile


This old Abbey was a very good choice for the start of a recent long European trip beginning with a cruise out of Venice. It's within easy "walking distance" of Piazzale Roma, the transportation hub. Schlepping bags there is a different matter. But aha! There is a service industry with porters and special carts who will tote your bags over the bridge to get to the hotel for a reasonable charge (5 Euros a bag at the time of our trip). Once there the staff was a blast! Amiable, jovial, helpful. You name it.  There is no elevator, but there are some strong guys to help you up to the room. If going back to the cruise port, they'll call the porter service to get you to the people mover. The train station is practically next door. Breakfast is good. There's a bar. Air conditioning is adequate. Only word of warning...the standard room is very small. We were in a superior room that at least had a couch and some seating. If we start another cruise from Venice we will definitely stay at Abbazia again.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mavmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about this hotel!! It was a wonderful one night post cruise stay for my family of four. It started
when we first walked in the door early Sunday morning. First of all Matteo immediately knew who we were and greeted us warmly!!! He immediately offered us breakfast and informed us he could hold our luggage until our room was ready. We explored the property and had a snack while waiting. It didn’t seem long until he stated we could head up to our room. All luggage was taken up for us and offered to be brought down for us at departure as well. Fantastic service!
The room was large and beautiful and I really wish we had stayed here for the 2 night pre cruise as well. Matteo was also helpful with a map of the area and interesting info about the area. The recommendations received for pizza was wonderful as well.
Wonderful hotel and wonderful way to conclude our trip to Venice ! Thank you Hotel Abbazia!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank CRush8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews