We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 542)
Filter reviews
1 542 results
Traveller rating
671
663
149
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
663
149
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st marks square great location free afternoon tea san marco square clock tower best western hotel rialto bridge free tour stay there again glass factory the hotel staff water bus an excellent hotel doge's palace side street breakfast was excellent venetian style
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1 542 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. You can't beat the location, breakfast, and overall service. The room was semi-upgraded (new and clean bathroom), with AC and all other comforts. It was extremely convenient to stay there and be able to pop in and out from our walks. Even when we misunderstood the service situation, the were quick to provide prompt room service as needed. I even wanted my conference paper printed out and the manager obliged without any reservations. And when they tell you that there is coffee/tea time at 4, make sure you go with enough appetite for the most delicious dessert buffet! We arrived from Marco Polo Airport on a vaporetto and it was literally a 7-minute walk from the San Marco stop to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlmaMahler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Guest
thank you very much for your beautiful review.
We are happy to read that you loved our location, our tea time service and our staff.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment. Perfect accommodation for our family of 5, washing machine such a bonus. Location is perfect. Afternoon tea at the hotel was a treat. Highly recommend! Made our trip to Venice so comfortable.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Dear Guest
thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay in one of our apartments in the annex building.
We are very happy to read that you rated your stay with the highest score!
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

We found the room to be unbearably small and one side of the bed was against the wall. On the other side of the bed there was a space of about 2 feet between the bed and the desk. We tried to upgrade but couldn't. The desk clerk was unhelpful and was actually pretty denigrating about our dissatisfaction. The elevators barely fit two people so getting in and out of the hotel was hard. Also, I thought it would be wonderful to be so close to the square - but actually there were many more beautiful areas that were less crowded and touristy.

Room Tip: The less expensive rooms are unbearable for more than one person.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfg417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Guest
thank you for taking time to leave your opinion about your stay.
We are very sorry if your overall experience was below your expectations,
We only wanted to inform that the room assigned was exactly as described and shown on the website you have booked through.
We hope to have another chance to welcome you back for a more pleasant stay.
Best regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Great location, close to St. Mark's Basilica. You can enjoy dinner, Gelato, walks, music until late and still be just steps away from your hotel. The room was very tiny but beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfortable, the air conditioner worked amazing. The receptionists were very nice and helpful. The price was good, all the hotels in Venice are a little expensive but at least this one has private bathrooms. The elevator is very very tiny, if you have large luggage, only one person can go at a time. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when I return to Venice

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Kiararamirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Guest
thank you very much for such a positive feedback.
We are very happy to read your review, and hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

Great location in Venice with the most accommodating staff. Comfortable hotel, nice complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea and pastries. 1.5 blocks off St Marks Square. Water taxi can drop you within 150 yards of hotel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank GeauxTigers-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Dear Guest
thank you very much for your review.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews