We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Apartment in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
view from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view from balcony
dining area bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
view from balcony
dining area
bathroom
living room
bedroom
view from bedroom window
view from dining area window
other view from balcony
curtain rod
bed
balcony
another view from the window
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Irma1950
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Air Condition as advertised and Disrespectful Owner”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Apartment is clean, in the middle of the tourist area, good for two persons, small for three persons. We went in September when temperature was hot during the day and warm at night.,Although it claims to have air condition, the truth is that because some alleged regulation in Venice, there is no air condition after the 1st of September. We slept with a very small table fan afraid to open the windows because of the bugs from the canal. When complained, the owner Robert answered disrespectfully claiming that we were being racist and that we had to abide to what the rest of italians do. We were appalled with the treatment received. Donatella was very understanding and helpful.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
This, unfortunately, is just the kind of review that doesn't help anybody: it's profoundly misleading for future travelers, it doesn't help the owner (me, in this case) to improve anything, and it doesn't the reviewer any good, either (you know, lying produces bad karma).
To the facts: the (ultra-strict) air condition rule is no "alleged regulation in Venice", but a national Italian law, and Irma knew it - she asked me about that law already when making the reservation. I replied that it would definitely be warm inside the apartment, and she said she wanted to try it nonetheless. So the apartment has of course air condition, but it goes without saying that the air condition is only operating within the limits of the Italian law. And yes, of course I said that Irma had to abide with the same law as 60 million Italians; that's a very simple fact, and if anybody has been disrespectful here, then it's this traveler who seriously claims that what 60 million people are perfectly able to endure is unbearable.
Finally, it's just a bold lie that I called her racist; what I wrote was that - if hotels were really exempt from the air condition law as Irma stated, instead of simply ignoring it as I suppose - this would mean that tourists enjoyed the kind of treatment that 19th century European imperialists received in their colonies. The word "racist" is Irma's invention here, and above all, the criticism was not at all directed towards her.
Bottom line, the one who has a reason to be appalled by the (dishonest) treatment received is me, and certainly not Irma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen D
UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Apartment in great location”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable, clean and well furnished apartment. Booking and communication with the owner, Robert, was quick and easy. The arrangements for being met at the water bus stop to be shown to the apartment worked fine and checking out was easy.

The location is great, just a few minutes from St Marks, and within easy walking distance of the Rialto and most of the older parts of Venice. Also very handy for catching the vaporetto to the outer islands.

Good recommendations from the owner for places to eat out, and shopping. Supermarket is a few minutes walk away for essentials. The apartment kitchen has all you need to make breakfast and have lunch in if you prefer.

As others have said, the best feature of the apartment is the fact it has two double doors leading out from the living room to a small balcony, just big enough for two chairs, which overlooks a busy canal. There was always something going on and we enjoyed going back to the apartment, after a morning exploring, with freshly baked baguettes, cheese and ham, to rest and have a sandwich and a local beer on the balcony before venturing out again. It was also a nice spot to sit with a glass of wine when we returned in the evening after eating out.

Some people have mentioned the WIFI dropping out, but we had no problems. I think the owner may have changed the service provider. I should mention there was also a locked entrance so it felt very secure. There is lift access although the stairs to the second floor were an easy walk up.

I would highly recommend this apartment, and would return there if we visited Venice again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the balcony
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Live like a local in Venice!”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at La Rosa di Venezia. The very best part of Venice was sitting on our Juliette balcony watching the gondolas go by while sipping wine, and eating fresh meat and cheeses from the nearby marker. The bridge below is busy (Venice is generally busy and noisy) but we found that part of the character/charm of the city. The apartment is cozy and romantic and would suit two people much more comfortable than three. My teenage daughter thought the pull-out bed was uncomfortable and slept on the couch the second night - but other than that - it was a wonderful stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and view from the balcony
Liked least: The pull-out,single bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison196...
lincolnshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What an absolute gem, right in the heart of Venice, you couldn't get much better location. Literally 2 minutes walk round the corner is St Marco square.
The apartment is clean, well furnished and has all what you might need for a few days in this beautiful City. One of the best things about this place is its location, but also it overlooks the canal that leads to the bridge of sighs, so it is very busy down there as it's the main canal the gondolas go down, along with boat taxies,, so the entertainment factor is high! There is room (just ) for two chairs, so you can watch them for hours, and probably will, with a glass of vino! Be aware of mosquitos tho, you are over water! We learned to turn the lights off!
Also you will notice people sitting on the bridge with takeaway pasta! The famous Dal Moros fresh pasta to go is at the end of the street over the bridge to the left!
We flew to marco Polo airport, caught the water bus Alilaguna Linea Red route, then we were met by Donatella who walked us to the apartment (we wouldn't have found it without her!) and gave us our keys. So easy, so helpful, so reccomend it.!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Didn't get the sun all day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J W
Buffalo
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Location - if you want to be near San Marco ... this place is certainly in the heart of it all. However after staying there, I must say I prefer staying in a quieter neighborhood like Cannaregio. And yes, it overlooks a canal, and yes, gondolas go by much of the time. Lovely. But we were disappointed with our stay. The power kept tripping off. Once we figured it out it wasn't that big of a deal - but figuring that out in an unfamiliar apartment took quite a while and wasted precious time from a vacation day. After diagnosing the problem we simply avoided the light switch that was causing the trip - and worked in the kitchen in semi-darkness. Also this apartment was supposed to have a clothes washer - one of the reasons we rent an apartment instead of staying in a hotel is to be able to do laundry. The washer did not work – again wasting time contacting, getting someone to look at it – and ultimately having to trudge to a Laundromat during vacation was another disappointment. We contacted the owner who made excuses and offered no recompense for our troubles. He said power outages in Venice are normal? We have rented in Venice before and never experienced such problems. And - If it were known issue, then a procedure for resetting the breakers should have been included with other apartment information - it was not. This turned out to be an issue with a switch - not a problem with electrical supply in Venice. The apartment is ok, location is as advertised, but we simply cannot recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Overlooked a canal.
Liked least: Power trippng off, washer did not work
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
It's not my habit to correct my guests' notions, but since this particular review continues to mislead my customers, I just have to.
No, there are no issues with the electricity at our apartment, and there have never been any. What I had tried to explain politely to Mr. JW was that he was causing those power outages by inexpert use of electric appliances. This kind of power outages is normal not just in Venice, but everywhere - it's more commonly called RCD or GFI or, in powerfully pictorial Italian, salvavita - literally, life saver!
The clothes washer was another problem altogether - it's outside the apartment, in the basement of the building, and it was and is always in perfect condition, BUT at the time when JW stayed at the apartment, an electrician working elsewhere in the building (not for me) had involuntarily or inexpertly clipped electric supply of a whole part of the basement, including my clothes washer. Needless to say, it was a matter of few days until that same electrician was called back to correct his mistake, and electricity was back to the entire basement. Final note, that I told JW the reason for the lack of electricity in the basement can hardly be called an "excuse" with anything that faintly resembles goodwill - commonly, this is called an explanation and not an excuse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$174
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing