We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Grand Canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grand Canal
The entrance The living room - detail 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
The Grand Canal
The entrance
The living room - detail 1
The view from the apartment
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
A bathroom
Map
Venice
The kitchenette
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
desantisd...
Palmdale, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in May 2018

This is the second time I've stayed at the home of Anna on the Grand Canal and once again it was fantastic. The apartment is roomy enough with two bedrooms and two bathrooms and is very close to a vaparetto stop so travel across the canal was very easy. We had a few questions throughout our stay and Anna was very kind and helpful. And would be happy to stay again if I return to Venice. Thank you,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billamir
Dacula, GA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Canal Gem”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Easy access to all attractions. Unique lodging; right on the grand canal but in a quiet place. Two couples were very comfortable. Restaurants close by. A wonderful place to stay in Venice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely old world apartment but lacking functionality”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is charming, providing the feel of old world Venice. It sits right on the Grand Canal so you can sit in the living room and watch the life of the city pass before you. We found it to be quiet with the doors and window closed, unlike at least one other reviewer who found noise from upstairs to be a problem (there is an art gallery above that did host parties at night while we were there but there wasn't any noise in our apartment). The location on the Grand Canal makes it very convenient for the water taxis to drop off and pick up - they apparently do not do this for private residences that are on other canals (they are expensive though, 60 euros from the train station, 107 euros to the airport). The location was excellent, many restaurants, shopping, a small grocery store all within a few minutes walk. Rialto bridge is about a 15 minute walk and San Marco square is about a 20 minute walk, crossing the bridge. There is not walkway along the Grand Canal near the apartment however.

The apartment had some quirks that one should be aware of. Although it has a kitchen, there was no oven. There was a cooktop (gas) and microwave (situated high on top of the refrigerator). There is a small washer but no dryer. There was no bath soap or shampoo, so we had to find a place to buy some. There are 3 AC units, but even turned on full blast, the apartment never cooled down and the air coming out felt like it was from a fan, not an AC, and could only be felt a few inches above the vent. During the time we were there (mid July), I would say the inside temperature in the apartment was over 80 degrees F (we are from S. Florida and are used to hot weather, and keep our house around 76 degrees; this apartment was much warmer, we were sweating the whole time). Opening the windows did not help, there wasn't much of a cross breeze. The AC has to be turned off if the washer is on, otherwise a circuit will blow. We didn't try to do any wash, but if that had been necessary it would have been even warmer. Initially, showers were great with good pressure and good hot water, but after 24 hours, we started losing the hot water and by ~ 36 hours after being in the apartment we had no hot water at all. We were only there for 2 days, so I don't know if this would have resolved spontaneously, if this was an isolated problem, or if it is an ongoing problem. It is a 2 bedroom 2 bath place, however, the 2nd bedroom is more like a sitting area with a bed. There is no door and one has to walk through this area to get to the back bedroom, which does have a door. This was OK for our family of 4, but would not work if privacy is needed for both bedrooms. The toilet in the back bedroom is VERY narrow and may be difficult to use for larger people. At the time we were there, a boat was docked at the entrance. This made it difficult to get on and off the water taxi (particularly moving the luggage) as we had to dock alongside that boat, cross through it with the luggage and then up on to the dock. This was very difficult when the tide was low and the boat was 2-3 feet below the level of the dock. People with mobility difficulties and small children probably would not be able to negotiate this well. (The water taxi drivers help some with the luggage but the passengers have to do a lot of getting it into and out of the boat).

Anna was helpful, although there were delays in communication. I was unable to communicate with her through Trip Advisor due to the website not showing the booking. I emailed her directly instead, but she emailed my husband in reply so her emails were not seen in a timely fashion. I was able to reach her through WhatsApp, a messaging app that seems popular in Italy. She provided very detailed instructions for us to give to the water taxi drivers, and was willing to speak with them on our behalf (that wasn't necessary). We were met by Lucia, a very nice lady who did not speak any English. We communicated a little in Spanish, but overall, I had to guess at what she was telling me. As a novice Italian traveler, not speaking the language and in a place as unique as Venice, it would have been extremely helpful, and appreciated, if there had been an email ahead of time or a guest book or some other written communication that would have described the practical things about using the water taxi, the vaporetta, where to buy groceries, good restaurants, and key things for around the apartment.

All in all, I liked the place, but I am glad we were only there 2 days. A longer stay would have been very uncomfortable with the lack of AC and hot water. I did inform Anna of these problems when we left. If they are fixed, you don't need 2 private bedrooms, and don't plan on using an oven, I would recommend the location. If the problems with the AC and hot water are permanent, chronic conditions, or you need more privacy, I would not recommend it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard K
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Palazzo on the Grand Canal!”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, teenage daughters and I loved staying in this historic building right on the Grand Canal. What an amazing experience to watch the taxis and gondola go by from the beautiful living room windows.

Awesome location. Our water taxi driver wasn't sure which building it was, and because there was a visiting boat tied to the dock he took us around the back where Lucia met us and guided us a short distance to the entrance. He would have know if we had given the name, "Passi", as that is what he later exclaimed when he saw the palazzo. One of the tenants had friends over both mites we were there so unfortunately we were unable to enjoy sitting by the dock as other reviewers spoke about.

Lucia doesn't speak English but called Anna to answer our questions. The apt. does not have a dryer as advertised, but there was a washer and our clothes dried overnite on the rack. We couldn't find an iron or ironing board, so bring wash and wear if you are staying here for a long period of time which we were not.

Loved the antique furnishings in the living room. Beds were fine. Pillow smelled slightly musty but there were several in the closet that didn't. Bathrooms are modern which is nice.

Wifi worked intermittently but all the restaurants have free wifi so it was not a problem. Lucia showed us the AC units. It was fine since it was not too warm during our stay, but you may need to inquire about colder air if it is later into the summer.

We did not know there is a light switch next to the door that lights up the court yard until too late. So we scrambled in the dark to find our key to open the front door.

The day we left Anna asked the water taxi driver to pick up us up at the dock. My wife thought that was romantic!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Venetian Dream”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were enchanted the moment we entered the apartment. The ancient roof beams, skylights, furnishings, and the big green doors opening onto a canal left us reluctant to leave. Our greeter Thomas was wonderful and his suggestions for restaurants spot on. We went to every one and enjoyed great Venetian food. Memories of sitting with a glass of wine, waves lapping the steps, and gondalas glliding by, make this apartment a must stay in Venice.
A

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing