We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
331
221
52
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
221
52
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar canal view small canal san marco la fenice water taxi top floor gondoliers singing breakfast room roof terrace mark's square minute walk pastries smaller canals venice airport central location st marks
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We spent a week at this charming hotel in January. Our second visit to Venice at this time of year, when the crowds are smallest and there are no queues. The hotel is comfortable and welcoming, staff all helpful. Breakfast has everything you could want for this standard of hotel, including Prosecco. No kettles in the room, but tea coffee, mugs and hot water are left all day by the dining room, also an honesty bar on the roof terrace cheap and varied.
We were booked for 5 nights but our flight home was cancelled because of airport strikes, and the hotel let us stay for two extra nights at a good price. This just gave us 2 extra days to enjoy Venice. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank grannybBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference accorded to Hotel Dell’Opera for your stay in Venice and for this kind feedback.
We’re looking forward to see you in Venice in the future.

Best Regards

Hotel Dell’Opera Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

Well-located in the vicinity of St Marco and its shopping district, about a 5-minute walk from the main attractions. Takes about 10 minutes to walk from the boat deck, across cobbled paths and 2 bridges. We stayed in the topmost room which featured a lovely balcony and beams with high ceiling, very rustic and cosy. The hotel is right by a small canal, was not able to get the downward view of the canal from our room but now and then we could easily hear the lovely singing from passing gondolas. Felt right in Venice!

Stayed: December 2017
Thank NaniSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you once again for choosing us and for your kind words.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Rooms exactly as pictured. Large, clean and comfortable. Continental breakfast plentiful, with a glass of Proseco if you fancy one. Honesty bar on 3rd floor very useful.
Staff pleasant and helpful. We had an upgrade to a canal view which was much appreciated. Thank you.

Room Tip: Canal view is very nice - but may be noisy in the summer with windows open
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Madruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you again for choosing us and for your kind words.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel dell'Opera. The front desk staff were each very helpful - answering all of our questions about the area. The hotel itself is nice and clean. It is located very close to Saint Marco, however it is on its own small street so it is quiet in the immediate area of the hotel. One very nice feature is that the rooms overlook the canal, so we would often hear the gondola singers passing by outside of our window.

We enjoyed the breakfast - it is simple, but nicely done and attended. For a relatively small European hotel, I would describe the breakfast as generous.

My only minor complaint is the bedding. If the hotel were able to invest in new, modern bedding (better pillows, duvets, etc.), I would have given it a 5 star rating.

This was our first visit to Venice, so I appreciated the tips that people shared, so I feel like I should pass some along. If you stay at this hotel, you should note a few things - you can walk out of this hotel - it is not one that requires a boat entry; you should plan to do a lot of walking on cobblestone - Venice is just not an easy city to get around in; you should be aware that this hotel is located in a heavily touristic area, so nearby restaurants and shops are very expensive.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a canal view, which was very nice!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice feedback.
The management has taken good note of all your suggestion in order to improve our services.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This hotel was excellently placed - just 5 minutes from St Mark's. The staff were consistently knowledgeable in several languages, polite, and helpful, and the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The only drawback was the breakfast, which was bland and repetitive.

Room Tip: Third floor is the best!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamini K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DellOpera, Responsabile reception at Hotel dell'Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the preference accorded to Hotel Dell’Opera for your stay in Venice and for this kind feedback.
We’re looking forward to see you in Venice in the future.

Best Regards

Hotel Dell’Opera Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews