We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An embarrassing display”

Pinacoteca Giovanni e Marella Agnelli
Book In Advance
More Info
US$13,86*
and up
Turin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #56 of 426 things to do in Turin
Attraction details
Reviewed 12 August 2018

If you’re planning on seeing some of Turin’s fine art museums, for example the Castello di Rivoli, I would most definitely avoid Pinacoteca Agnelli located on the gritty edge of the city. The museum itself is situated inside a depressing shopping mall far from the heritage of great industrial buildings. It was such a great disappointment taking time to locate the museum itself only to discover its meager collection, a handful of over published Matisse and Canaletto paintings. The temporary exhibition floor was closed as well as the library leaving one floor open with perhaps ten paintings on view. The racetrack on top of the building was unidentifiable as only an asphalt covered area. I could also mention the rude staff adding insult to injury. Don’t waste precious time here.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank AlfLoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"small collection"
in 12 reviews
"fiat test track"
in 15 reviews
"renzo piano"
in 7 reviews
"art gallery"
in 8 reviews
"italian sub"
in 11 reviews
"nh lingotto"
in 4 reviews
"entertainment complex"
in 2 reviews
"previous trip advisor"
in 2 reviews
"congress hotel"
in 2 reviews
"shopping centre"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 5 reviews
"top floor"
in 2 reviews
"matisse"
in 23 reviews
"rooftop"
in 16 reviews
"factory"
in 30 reviews
"casanova"
in 5 reviews
"minis"
in 3 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

Have always wanted to visit this track and on our second trip to Torino we finally had time. Thanks to previous trip advisor directions we found it very easy. Paid to look at the gallery ( we are not huge art lovers) but enjoyed looking at the small amount of art works that were on display. A couple of Picasso’s so was great to see them. The young lady on the desk was very helpful, but there was a very stern lady walking around the art, and when we finished walking the track she was on the desk. The track did not disappoint, as well as the building it self. Great to see where the cars drove up. We were very happy we had taken the time to find the track. Cost was €8.00 adult, €7.00 seniors. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Dianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

We made plans to visit this famous architecture made by INI Family.The old car plant have changed to commercial mall plus on the top building they made two sections.one and Exhiption for masters which is the collection of the family tor every one to appreciate The main painting are 7 painting of Henry Matisse , painting by Modgliani ,and one for Picaso and Renoir. The small collection make you concentrate on details of painting,
The other parts of the building is the race track on the roof which is one of a kind.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MIA28kuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Pinacoteca Giovanni e Marella Agnelli is located on top of the NH Lingotto Congress Hotel some distance from the City Centre but the Metro (Lingotto Station) is nearby. It is the old very large Fiat Factory, closed in the 1980’s and now converted into a shopping Mall, Hotel and entertainment complex.

This Frank Lloyd Wright designed building is famous for its rooftop test track for the Fiat cars, featured in several films and TV programmes, and that is what most people come to see. However, a new Art Gallery has been constructed on the roof and that is what you have to enter to see the track. If you are not staying at the hotel, you will not get to see the track if you go just for that purpose unless you pay the entry fee to the Art Museum. The entrance fee is around 10 Euros I believe but is free if you stay at the hotel. The museum is small and will not retain your interest for very long although it does contain some really good exhibits including Picasso and Matisse. The test track is not signposted per se and you must look out for the museum posters on the top floor of the Mall.

Surprisingly, in a way, there is nothing remaining of the old factory and its history with Fiat. The test track remains fundamentally “in tact” as do the access spirals each end and are still used for VIP arrivals via the helipad. It is definitely worth a visit and a must for all “Petrol Heads”.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank TJA950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Free admission while staying at the Doubletree! Art museum has paintings from Picasso, Matisse and several others. Only about 30 in total, but nice to see them.
There is currently a Frank Lloyd Wright exhibit on display also. Falling Water is my favorite of his designs especially since it is about 40 miles from my home near Pittsburgh.
The old Fiat Factory is now a mall and entertainment complex. Very nice transformation for the present and future. The test track on the roof is interesting and cool that they used this from the 1920's to 1980's. I wish there was more display of the Fiat history etc.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ricofarnetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pinacoteca Giovanni e Marella Agnelli also viewed

 

Been to Pinacoteca Giovanni e Marella Agnelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing