We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother”
Review of Hotel Vittoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vittoria
Ranked #209 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed for 2 nights. We were upgraded allegedly - I would have loved to see the room we should have had !! The one we were given (avoid room 25) was a broom cupboard at the front of the hotel next to a supermarket. Couldn't swing a cat.

Came back from town in the evening and had a drink at the bar. The desk manager had to interrupt his sandwich to come and serve us and he did not have a clue. We wanted 2 plain vodkas mixed with a can of lemon soda - however they had no lemon soda so we were served with 2 Vodka Lemon (not the same as Vodka - you know - the stuff you should have from the freezer as a shot) and 1 x 200ml can of Fanta Orange. I asked to pay cash but he said he didn't know how much it was so put it on the bill!

When we left the bill for the drink was 24 Euros - Yea - rip off.

Only reason I have not give this a "Terrible" rating is because we could park the car at the front of the hotel for Free - a bonus in Milan

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

I stayed in Hotel Vittoria for one night. Stepping into the hotel is like stepping back in time. The décor is so over the top it is laughable. Our room was red and gold everything: bedspread and matching curtains, wallpaper and carpet. The room was also tiny, and I can imagine it would get particularly frustrating if you were there for more than one night. The quilt on the bed was also made of a slippy material and in the shape of the bed, which wasn't really great for sleeping under.

Another problem with the room was the vent in the bathroom. It is obviously shared between two rooms as I could hear a full rendition of the person using the bathroom next to me when I was in the shower. It also meant that the noise of our neighbours coming back and using the bathroom came into our room and woke us up.

We decided to use the hotel bar in the evening, after seeing it advertised in the lift as having cocktails and live music. Again, absolutely over the top gross décor, with every space covered with fake flowers and magazines. There wasn't any live music, we were the only ones in the bar and the staff member managing reception had to run down after us to serve us at the bar. They also only had 3 cold beers and so when we tried to buy a fourth we were told it was warm. The bar also had so many items from breakfast on it that it had obviously not been used as a bar in a long time.

The breakfast itself was average. As vegans there were a few options available, but we were ignored by staff (potentially because we were a young couple) whereas everyone else seemed to have been offered tea and coffee. The fruit had also almost ran out by the time we arrived at breakfast, which was 9.30am and breakfast was meant to run until 10.30am.

A few good points on the hotel are it's location - it is a 20 minute walk from Duomo and is on the route for line 73 to Linate Airport - and the reception staff. I found the reception staff to be most obliging and pleasant.

Overall, Hotel Vittoria is a good hotel if you want somewhere to crash for a night before you head to the airport, but I'm not sure a longer stay would be tolerable.

Room Tip: Rooms are tiny and noisy so maybe book a bigger one if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Extremely friendly staff, free parking and excellent service. Would definitely stay here again, perfect location for a city break if you don't mind a bit of a walk into the city centre to burn off all that Italian food. This hotel is also located near some fantastic restaurants (Giacoma Fish Restaurant - a must), and laid out a lovely spread for breakfast. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Challoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Our room was like staying in a Louis XIV broom cupboard. Small and dark and way overstuffed with over the top furniture - we ended up having to put a chair and table in the bathroom to make room to move around. And that is without the light-up padded bed head, fold up bed disguised in gilt and red padded leather, marble topped bedside tables, heavy swagged curtains, fitted bedcovers (to match curtains) and overmantel mirrors. Even the wardrobe lights up inside when you open it. It was like sleeping in a museum. The decorator obviously has a Versailles fixation and every surface in the breakfast room is loaded with hideous ormulu furniture, bijouterie, fake flowers, piles of magazines and lamps to the extent that you cannot actually put anything down without having to move things. Even the garden is crammed with stuff. As a result, the atmosphere is incredibly stuffy, formal and uncomfortable. Children certainly would not feel comfortable staying here.

The receptionist on duty when we arrived was possibly one of the rudest I have ever encountered. He started to check us in then answered the telephone without so much as an "excuse me" and proceeded to ignore us completely for the next five minutes - we stood there, hot, tired and sweaty while he finished the call. And not an apology in sight afterwards. The staff just ignore you.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CapabilityBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

My wife and I were booking a short break in Milan and for some reason, the hotel booking was made for a single room for one person (rather than a double for two people). We were informed that we would have to pay extra (which we did) however for the first night we would have to sleep in the single room as no other rooms were apparently available.

We made the booking via Bookings.com and the hotel stated on the page that the rooms were sound proof. When we were moved to the double room the following day, we quickly found out that the rooms were far from sound proof as we were subjected to a live performance of the guest in the next room going to the toilet (bathrooms share a vent apparently).

After we complained, the receptionist apologised and informed us that all of the double rooms were like this and that the only room available which didn't have this problem was the single room. So we went back to the single room for our second night.

It wasn't until our last night that hotel management offered to "upgrade" our room which we declined because we were tired of packing and unpacking and felt that this offer should have been made sooner if anything.

We were made to pay extra for the double room however were in the single room for the entire stay and hotel management refused to refund us the money that we paid extra for the double room.

The staff were generally friendly and helpful and the interior was nice however I would not recommend this hotel due to its management and if you would rather not be subjected to a live acoustic performance of people going to the toilet, I would recommend staying elsewhere or at least not opting for the double room.

Room Tip: Avoid the double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tclassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVittoriaMilano, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Vittoria, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Client,

We would like to thank you for letting us know your experience and for giving the opportunity to have you here with us.
We always put the client first and we are very sorry that you did not fully enjoyed your stay.

Regarding what happend, the reservation made on Booking.com was for a Single Classic room. When you requested a room for 2 persons, we were fully booked; so we offered you a bigger single room adaptable for 2 persons. We asked you to pay an extra for the second person (not for the room). When we had a chance the next day we offered you a free upgrade to a classic double room and than the 3rd day a free upgrade to a Superior Deluxe Double Room.

We can ensure you that we have very high standards for our rooms (as requested by the law).

I hope there will be a new opportunity for you to be our guest and, this time, you wont be disappointed.

Best Regards

Gabriele Perla
Customers Satisfaction Dpt.
Hotel Vittoria Milano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Antares Hotel Rubens
#27 of 428 in Milan
803 reviews
MiHotel
#219 of 428 in Milan
294 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Marzo Hotel
#68 of 428 in Milan
541 reviews
Hotel Silver
#141 of 428 in Milan
315 reviews
Cinque Giornate Hotel
#330 of 428 in Milan
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vittoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vittoria

Address: Via Pietro Calvi 32, 20129 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: R1 577 - R4 827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vittoria 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an extremely privileged location, near the Courthouse, at 100 meters from the bus and tram stops for the airport Milano Linate, the Central station and piazza Duomo, Hotel Vittoria is ideal for business or tourist stays in Milan.Elegant and carefully furnished rooms, a pleasant garden, two conference rooms, free parking and attached garage as well as all the services of a modern 4-star hotel , make Hotel Vittoria one of the most sought-after hotels in central Milan.The management of the hotel for more than twenty years welcomes guests with family warmth and professionalism at an international level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vittoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vittoria Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing