We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in Brera”

Ristorante Santa Virginia
Ranked #92 of 9 246 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: US$23 - US$68
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Brera
Description: Inspired by its owner’s mixed Milanese, Sicilian and Pugliese heritage, with a good sprinkling of family memories of great home cooking and that most vital of ingredients in all great cuisine, the joy of good company, Ristorante Santa Virginia not only immediately won the hearts of Time’s existing clientele but, more importantly still, quickly gained a loyal following of its own in the worlds of journalism, management, fashion and design. Santa Virginia’s founder and driving force Francesco Sciacca has worked with Chef Diego Pecchia to create a refreshing and very personal take on Mediterranean cuisine. The menu changes every month to guarantee that fresh seasonal ingredients are used in a context that has a whole new look and character yet remains faithful to its own essential nature. The result is that the cuisine is still very Italian indeed –italianissima, in fact! - as the duo treat the signature ingredients used in Italian cooking, and of course, its tradition with the greatest of respect. Because we believe the philosopher Feuerbach was onto something when he wrote “Man is what he eats”. In fact, the question that we constantly ask ourselves – and everyone else– is: “So who are you?” Looking forward to finding out when we see you at Santa Virginia!
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

The quality of the food in Santa Virginia is excellent, paired with an outstanding service - the owner suggested us a wine (actually one of the cheapest on the menu) which went amazingly with our food.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank GretaBDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VirginiaS2299, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante Santa Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Ms Greta,
Thanks a lot for your nice words, we look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Santa Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2018

I would personally regard opening a restaurant as a colossal gamble, even more so in Brera, where lately you can find reasonable food at virtually every corner. Thus, I will double-up my compliments to owner and chef Francesco, who will surely cash on his bet: everything – the food, the service, the décor, the price – is well balanced and falls in the right place. Been here many times – will return soon.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alessandroisact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia S, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante Santa Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!!
Come back soon, we are waiting for you!

We’ll be closed from the 3rd of August till the 3rd of September.

Happy Summer!
Santa Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

Stopped here for lunch after a few hours wandering Berra including markets which right next to this restaurant.

It was hot and we were pleased to find a cool and air conditioned interior.

Food was very good with some good options and service prompt and friendly.

Date of visit: July 2018
2  Thank grahamo133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia S, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante Santa Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you for your nice review!
We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Best,
Santa Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Went here with four friends. We were greeted by professional staff, and the first impression was that of professionality. The food was very good. I had the roasted octopus, which was excellent. The coffee and almond milk mousse for dessert was also quite nice. Highly recommend Ristorante Santa Virginia.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank nikolaip53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia S, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante Santa Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you VERY much for your nice words! Please, come back soon!
Best,
Santa Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Looked for a good close by good scoring resto and this one was fantastic.

Seat on the terras overlooking the plaza. A very friendly waiter helped me with the choice if wine to go with the gazpacho and squid I ordered. His choice was excellent.

The gazpacho was best ever with the slices of scallops with just a pinch if sea-salt ; the squid was grilled to perfection and perfectly seasoned.

Thank you Tripadvisor: another find in the jungle of tourists traps.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 962filipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia S, Public Relations Manager at Ristorante Santa Virginia, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Thank you SO much for you nice words! We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Best,
Santa Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Santa Virginia also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Santa Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing