We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious and comfortable apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The main room is a spacious area with an abundance of natural light.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The main room is a spacious area with an abundance of natural light.
Ample seating and a large TV define one end of the space.
Stay entertained on vacation. Our TV has Premium Sky TV channels free of charge.
The comfy sofa opens to a full-size sofa bed.
The kitchen is compact but complete, with a microwave/oven, cooktop, and refrigerator.
End tables offer more storage and low lighting for reading.
This apartment has a large bedroom with a very large closet.
Stone-like tile surrounds the elegant bathroom, which also holds a washing machine.
And just outside your door -- a large, sunny terrace.
It's easy to find us in the big red building, right in the center of town.
And at night, we light up the building with these striking lights.
The Stresa boat station and the Stresa Tourist Office are 200 meters from La Lombarda Apartments.
From the boat station you can reach the islands and many other places.
Piazza Cadorna, with its shops and restaurants, is two minutes away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stresa, Lake Maggiore, Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Else-Hild...
Larvik, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spacious and comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at La Lombarda apartment 2A for 5 days in the beginning
of october 2016. The owners picked us up at the train station
and kindly drove us to the Alibus-stop on departure. A service one would not expect, but of course very appreciated, especially since we were not quite
sure of the location of the bus stop. Before our stay Dana and Giuseppe were very easy to get in touch with by e-mail and flexible with our arrival time.
We liked the appartment very much. It was spacious with modern and practical furnishing. Comfortable bed with a nice duvet/piumino instead of the ususal sheets.

​Great location in a quiet part of Stresa, yet very central. Bakery shop just outside the building and 3 minutes walk to the Carrefour supermarket. Five minutes to the boat "imbarcadero"​.
There is heating in the apartment, but we could not figure out whether the same system also functioned as air conditioning. During our stay we did not need either of them though.

Some reviewers have mentioned lack of view. It depends on what you expect to see. No, you don't see the lake, but you don't look into a depressing back yard or wall either. You see the mountains,buildings, and the parking lot means a large open space with much light - and privacy. We thought it was very nice. We were not bothered by noise from cars or anything else.
​Some have mentioned slippery steps with no railing. We were delighted to see that this was not the case. The stone​ tiling is new and not polished, not slippery - and there is a rail!
​Only negative remarks from our point of view: The lightning in the apartment is very good, except for over the kitchen sink/worktop. There is a small light over the cooking unit, but it would have been very nice with a light also over the sink, as we mostly washed the dishes in the evening. It would of course have been extra convenient with a dishwasher..., but we knew there wasn't , so that's ok.

All in all we loved our stay, would very much like to return and would certainly recommend this place to others!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: No light over the kitchen sink
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2016
Thank you for this review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed the apartment. Your detailed review will certainly be a huge help to future guests; we think you have described the apartment and all its benefits just perfectly. We hope to see you again in Stresa!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FAILEDTOS...
chillin with a stella in uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“GREAT BASE”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

great base all you could need from an apartment air con was good we were meet from the Alibus in the town and bought to the apartment by Giuseppe which was nice,there was a bakery in the car park 1 minute away,all the shops are 5 mins including a supermarket,it was a safe and quiet area with all locks on internal doors and cupboards which we locked away our valuables when out although it wasn't a worry
The balconcies are shared so its a little awkward as next door is passing at times and your out eating on the balconies at times together which some people could find strange we had french neigbours so we couldnt understand there conversations. .we used the bus,ferries,trains which are all a short walk away so its a great base to explore,if your after a base to explore and enjoy eating out with a little eating in its prefect and i would recommend.
If you like to know all the little unsubscribed bits to this apartment here they are
no kettle,freezer compartment,,toaster,oven,safe, but we knew this before hand,
an iron & board,hairdryer,washing machine, are included which was helpful.
we rented a boat,maggiore lake express,did the bucket ride up a mountain,cable car ride and toboggan ride, see my reviews for them ta

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: clean and tidy wifi,location
Liked least: no kettle.oven,safe,freezer compartment for ice,beach mats.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review! We agree, La Lombarda is a perfect base from which to explore Stresa. We wish you had mentioned to us that you wanted a toaster; we would have shown you the toasting/grill pan in the apartment. For electrical (fire hazard) and cleanliness reasons we do not supply toasters in our apartments. They cannot be kept as clean as we want our kitchens to be. All of our apartments, yours included, are supplied with these grill/toasting pans, as well as stove-top kettles and tea steepers.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauaidude...
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Unit - Great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My husband and I rented the unit for 9 nights. Giuseppe picked us up at the train station and helped get us settled in our unit. It is a very updated - modern one bedroom apartment that can sleep up to 4 people It has all the modern conveniences - great WIFI, air conditioning, a fully equipped kitchen. The location is very central to downtown Stresa - and less than a 5 minute walk to a major grocery store. It is also conveniently located to many local stores - bread, gelato, veggies, etc. It is also about a 7 minute walk to the main ferry/boat docks where you can catch local boats to visit the neighboring islands. The only minor negative is the lack of a view. Our unit looked out on a parking lot - which was quiet at night but active during the day. On Fridays the parking lot transforms into a local farmers market and it was so much fun to walk around the stalls, picking up the freshest of fresh veggies, cheeses, grilled meats, etc. Dana and Giuseppe are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We would definitely recommend to others. Unit 2A is the best unit. Quiet and private. It is on the second floor - there is no elevator so handicap access would be a problem. The restaurant downstairs is closed but it plans to reopen by year's end. Don't know if that would add to noise level.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The modern conveniences and the location
Liked least: the parking lot view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gene H
1 review
“Simply Fantastico!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed in many holiday apartments and this is one of the very best. What shown out was the owner's attention to detail, from helpful pre-arrival emails, to picking us up at the train station, to stocking the apartment with everything we could need.

The apartment is in a great location within easy walking distance of everything (on Fridays the market is right outside the door!), super well equipped, large, airy, spotless and nicely decorated. Thanks again Dana and Giuseppe!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caroma201...
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us spend one week in this apartment and we certainly expected more for the money we paid. Parking is at a premium and one best not move the care once a parking spot is found. Friday nights ALL cars have to be moved for the market to take place Saturday morning or they will be towed.
The apartment has very little housewares in it. When we got there we had no coffee maker. After we requested one several times one was provided. They did supply a very small coffee press and a small teal pot.
The worse part was that the apartment is on the second floor with a steep staircase and tiled stairs leading from the front door to the apartment and there is NO handrail. What a treacherous situation, especially when it rains and the stairs get wet and slippery.
The owners of the apartment are very friendly and try to accommodate. The apartment is overpriced for what it has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Safety hazard of the stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing