We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
390
156
22
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
156
22
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private beach lake view lives up to its name restaurant terrace business event spacious bathroom quality hotel triple room aperol spritz an upgrade highly recommend this hotel town centre old school crystal chandeliers fitness room outdoor pool underground parking
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2018

A great little hotel in Baveno sitting on the wonderful lake shore. The hotel has a feel of opulence with gold building everywhere without it getting too kitch. The staff are amazing and it is small enough to avoid the big tour groups swamping the hotel. Great to sit outdoors overlooking the lake in mornings and evenings and very relaxing surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dingen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We stayed at the Hotel Splendid for one night and we wished we stayed for a few more. This hotel is elegant and the view of Lake is magnificent. The rooms facing the lake have beautiful balconies, but beware, when closing the sliding door, you can get locked out as we did. The interior of the rooms are decorated nicely and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. Buffet breakfast was diverse and average. I wish that the Italians would learn how to make scrambled eggs. Everywhere we went the eggs were runny and loose. The staff was very courteous and the exterior grounds were immaculate. Only one suggested improvement. There should be more than one electrical outlet in the room as, the other outlets are not accessible because the furniture, bedroom end tables are attached to the wall.

Room Tip: Lake View Room Is A Must!!!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsbinnewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

The staff were rude and inefficient. Our room was not made up until mid afternoon on one of the days.
The restaurant staff were insolent and unhelpful. Half way through our breakfast we were told to move to a group table as our table had been reserved. There was no reserved sign on our table so we refused. Nearly all the tables were free. He was very belligerent.
Not a lot of guests in the hotel (this was in early May) but this did not surprise me.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Hermione W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful Hotels I have been, charming, romantic and sophisticated! Staff and General Manager were 5 stars, always caring about our group ♥️ Congratulations to all team. I truly recommend to all that visit the wonderful area of Lago Maggiore

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank SandraR8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Splendid Hotel Zacchera in Baveno

Snooty joint. Pretentious staff with Stepford Wife smiles, making it impossible to establish rapport. The Lakes District, bordering Switzerland, caters to people with money. It's one of those places where they think you're made of money and want to unload it on ethem. Service, therefore, is worse than in cheaper, normal places. Personally, I have a problem with people looking down on me. I also have a problem with paying more money to get abused by pretentious people who will will never have money themselves. They forget that they cater to group tours, such as Trafalgar bus tours, and that their hotel is actually moderately priced.

Service in the restaurant was horrible. Eight people pretending to be busy, using it as an excuse to ignore you. Ask for more bread and they ignore you. They refuse to serve you tap water and then charge $8.50 for a bottle of water. Food was OK at best.

Pros: The appearance of the hotel is excellent. Wifi in room 132 was very good, even in the evening. Hot water was hot. Breakfast buffet was OK.

Cons: Refrigerator was locked (non-sensical if it had a mini-bar). Bathroom was large but layout was poor - toilet in a corner behind the door, towel rack flush with the wall and over the bidet, bathtub slippery and with no hand rails. Toilet didn’t flush that well. They’re chintzy with the wifi - first gigabyte is free, you pay after that. Bedside tables are not near the beds. The other usual European hotel room omissions, such as no clock or microwave in the room.

Like Paris, the hotel would be a nice place without the staff.

Staff 1/5. Wifi 1/5 for cost, 4/5 for speed. Dinner 1/5. Building 5/5. Breakfast 5/5. Overall: try someplace else.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alexwolf2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews