We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
130
26
2
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
26
2
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two young boys taxi trip the main house amazing views washing machine felt like home views over lake como fully equipped kitchen short walk two couples three nights cottage castle property casa manuela village
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2018

Agriturismo is a great spot to unwind after adventures in Milan. We stayed one night in Varenna then moved to the hilltop at Agriturismo. I was a perfect end to a perfect vacation. We enjoyed spectacular sunsets from the small detached patio at the edge of the bluff and nearly exclusive use of the bluff side pool during the start of the off season. Access to Varenna is via taxi (about 15EU one way) or by rigorous footpath (uphill at least) so plan your visit accordingly. Vezio is small but charming and we frequented the one restaurant in town 3 times. Met some great people there and enjoyed the local cuisine.

Room tip: Stayed in main building spacious suite bottom floor with patio off the great lawn. Larger groups should consider renting one of many villas.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The real charm about this place is the location high above the lake with large outdoor areas overseeing the lake. Plenty of space for all guests. Houses are well spaced to allow full privacy, and they are beautifully and modern equipped to make fully functional holiday houses. Only small complaint is that the bed was rather hard, a top mattress would have been nice.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

If you want the little extra, you can book a stay here.
The only thing that can prevent you from a good holiday is the weather.
Small cabins located on this beatiful property is top notch.
A big pool and an old castle located on the property.
The only minus is the long walk or taxi trip from the centre of Varenna.
Friendly staff as well
A place I want to go back to again...and again....and again

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StrandPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We took the footpath up from Varenna to the castle and it was great! The walk up was a bit tough as it was a steady incline for about 20 minutes, however the Alpine foliage made the trip a beautiful one. Once at the site we paid a very reasonable price to enter the grounds. The views of the lake and surrounding towns were unbelieve and the landscaping/ruins of the site we're beautiful. One of the best informational brochures to help you along a self-guided tour. We also stayed for one of the falconry demonstrations and were very impressed by the beautiful display of the birds. Definitely try not to miss this site while in Varenna!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Juliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

Some holiday apartments or villas have been efficiently furnished. Enough to get by with, nothing special.

The Casa Delle Rosa, part of the Agriturismo complex has been furnished comprehensively. Looking at the (very pretty) crockery our wives started exclaiming about them being Villeroy & Boch. Apparently this is a good thing. I was impressed that the cooking knives were sharp. How many owners would look to this sort of detail?

The Casa was ideal for four of us, two couples. It would suit a large family, and you could probably squeeze in a total of ten if you were all friendly. There are some comfy settees in the 'cool room' a semi-subterranean sitting room.

The short walk up to the main house, grounds and swimming pool isn't arduous, but they are not close at hand. However there is a splendid little restaurant about 100 metres from the front door. Because of this we never felt the need to go down into Varenna itself of an evening, preferring to eat there. We spent a lot of time in the garden which is part patio and part lawn, with adequate shade which we did value. It has a big table, six chairs and a couple of loungers. There's also a lawn mower which none of us felt inclined to experiment with; it was a holiday after all.

Lovely staff at the main complex, all seemed to be English-speaking

We stayed for three nights, we really wish it could have been longer and may well return.

It's not cheap, but it is value.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews