We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“extraordinary place”
other travellers have booked this property
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna' Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
the lakeside terrace from our pergola
The vista that welcomes you from 'la casa piu' bella di varenna'
Meet Alfie, one of your hosts!
The newly fitted shower with room for two....
including the bathroom sink....
and whirlpool bath.
The recently renovated twin room which once was part of the convent cloister.
One of the antique beds in the twin room.
An original 16th century period feature.
The romantic double room.
enjoying the breeze
The front door that leads to your private garden and lakeside mooring.
Walkway to the main terrace where your breakfast awaits.
Breathtaking views of the lake, from the end of the garden.
The only pergola view in Varenna.
Historical Varenna from the pergola.
An alpine view.
The outstanding private view of the central lake and Bellagio from your garden sun terrace.
Connecting you to the breakfast and sun terraces.
Another magnificant central lake view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kyle M M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“extraordinary place”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My fiancée and I recently stayed here, I proposed on the terrace by the lake, and Julie was a huge help in organizing my proposal. Easily one of the most beautiful places on all of Lake Como. Prime location to anything you can imagine, restaurants, shops, the ferry, amazing view, great hospitality from Julie, it's so magical all around that it's hard to believe such a place actually exists. The breakfast was also fresh. Fresh croissants, cheeses, meats, and fruits, also good coffee and tea. Strongly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a great time on Lake Como. After 6 days in Italy, by far our favorite place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location and Views
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
thank you kyle......it was a pleasure to help make your day special!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joannna N
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Overall a very pleasant location in a lovely village. Breakfast was substantial with lots of Restaurants to choose from for dinner. Unfortunately there is no parking on site.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The views from the garden
Liked least: Not ideal if it is raining as no lake view from the room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie K
Inverell, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“This place was absolutely amazing we absolutely loved it”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I would like to thank Julia for allowing us to experience her beautiful accommodation in Vareena, Lake Como. It was located in the most amazing setting you could imagine. She made you feel so at home and couldn't do enough for you to make your stay more wonderful. The beds were so comfortable, the bathroom was large and airy and the fact that you had your own private access to the lake made it even more special. I would highly recommend and would love to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There wasn't anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowden15
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb place to stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at il Giardino sul lago. The views are stunning. The location is perfect - near all the bussle of Varenna yet quiet and private when sat in the garden by the lake. We swam every morning via our own private entrance to the lake. Breakfast was on the beautiful terrace. Our host was extremely helpful and generous.
Cannot recommend staying here enough. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the private garden with views over the lake
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claranda
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Quaint B&B with unbeatable location”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a spot! With wonderful views of the lake, only a minute's stroll from Varenna's small harbour, and with one of the best restaurants in town directly opposite on the small square, Il Giardino is a small gem.

Inside is cool and well decorated. We had the room with the nicely firm kingsize bed and found the armchairs in the small living area very comfortable to move to once the temperature had dropped too far to sit out by the water. Breakfast was very much to our taste - nothing cooked, but good bread and croissants, excellent fruit, juice, ham and cheese. A bit of variety over our four days would have been welcome - perhaps a yoghurt or muesli on one morning - but that is searching for faults!

Our hostess was very hospitable and kindly gave us a lift to and from the train station. The wifi worked well in the sitting area.

Along with the coolness of the rooms came a feeling of dampness, and the de-humidifier had filled up by the time we left. This was not really a problem in June, but may be a consideration out of season. And I had made the error of thinking the whole place would be ours, when of course we had only rented a room. We felt fortunate that the second bedroom remained vacant throughout our stay, but if you are a party of three/four and take the whole place - or if you do not mind sharing a loo and bathroom - that should not stop you stayng a while in this perfectly placed B&B.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Liked best: The garden and views
Liked least: Slight dampness in the rooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing