We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ferry

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mel G
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This apartment is in a wonderful spot with amazing views over Varenna from all the windows. It has everything you could need for your stay and Luigi was so helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary B
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a fantastic place to stay!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Varenna is, in my opinion, the most beautiful of all the mid-lake towns. This apartment is right in the heart of Varenna, close to the ferry terminal & train station for easy access to other places & an easy stroll from many cafes, restaurants & gelato shops!!

There is a couple of small shops selling grocery type items, a pharmacy, post shop etc etc in town.

The apartment owner met us at the train station & made us feel most welcome; giving us all the local knowledge we required to find our way around. I highly recommend this apartment as a place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clauds179
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and well-equipped apartment”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We travelled to Varenna as a group of 5 friends to stay in this apartment on Lake Como and we were not disappointed. Luigi was great telling us lots of tips of where to go and what to do and met us at the train station, the apartment was a 5 mins walk away with the most incredible views of the lake. Located right near the car ferry stop and away from the main centre was perfect. It is only a 5-10min walk to the main Varenna town and this side felt quieter and was perfect for us. The apartment was well-equipped with all necessary kitchen utensils/cooking equipment, wifi, clean towels, linen. Close to a few places to eat as well. Overall it was very clean and comfortably slept 5. The sleeper couch mattress was very hard which was the only negative point. Would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views and location
Liked least: Very hard mattress on the sleeper couch
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nancy m
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location & wonderful views!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband, daughter and I spent 2 days in beautiful Varenna during our 2 week vacation
to Italy. This was our first trip to Italy and the apartment was one of the nicest
accommodations we had during our visit. We found the apartment very clean and
comfortable with a fully equipped kitchen and everything you would need for a short or
longer term stay. The location was excellent. Walking distance to everything in town, a short walk to the train station and right across from the ferry. The owner, Luigi was very prompt in answering all of our questions during the booking of the apartment and he
greeted us at the train station upon our arrival and walked us to the apartment.
There were literally windows in every room and the views
were gorgeous! We would highly recommend this apartment for anyone who has
the good fortune to visit this magical and picturesque village!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cleanliness, views
Liked least: property had quite a few stairs and no elevator which might not be good for older travelers
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan J
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What an enjoyable holiday! We were met at the station by Luigi who escorted us to the apartment 5 minutes away. It was all we hoped, clean, bright, airy with views of the lake and ferry station. The bedroom was very comfortable, there is wifi with good signal and a small kitchen we made breakfasts and pasta suppers in. The neighbours were very friendly. It is 10 minutes walk to some excellent restaurants and 15 mins to the 2 local food shops and the beautiful gardens by the lake. Highly recommended apartment in a lovely village.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing