We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, Convenient, and extremely helpful land lady”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Varenna, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Venu M
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Convenient, and extremely helpful land lady”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was very clean and has everything we needed from making breakfast to a very nice dinner. And this apartment is really close to everything, fisherman's house where you can buy fresh fish he caught that night, really good restaurants, close to the ferry dock, 2 minute walk to Villa Monastero. But most important the land lady who lives in the same building. The day we arrived she took us in her car to a town nearby (Bellano) for grocery shopping because she said it is a lot cheaper to buy there then in Varenna. We bought really good wine for around 2 Euros, and enough food for two families for a week for just 80 euros. And she even took us to a bakery with some incredible Paizana.

This apartment is really close to a very good Pizzeria. Pizze e focacce d asporto
Via XX Settembre, 7 (Means name of the street is September 20th). For just 4.50 Euros we had the most delicious Pizza ever.

Also, this apartment is right next to a decent Italian restaurant. Albergo Del Sole
Piazza S. Giorgio, 20.

We really liked our stay and highly recommend it. We stayed there with out 2 year old and a 7 year old.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, Close to everything, & a really helpful Landlady
Liked least: The church bell goes off at 7:00AM and that is really loud.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L1980
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect apartment in a perfect location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Having stayed in one of Marilena's apartments in 2008 with a friend I had no concerns about renting through her again when treating my parents to a trip to Lake Como for their 65th birthdays and 40th Wedding Anniversary.

The flat has everything that you could need for a comfortable stay on Lake Como with a very well equipped kitchen. Varenna is perfectly located on the lake, we arrived by train from Milan and also did a day trip to Bergamo by train, the ferries are only a short walk away to see all of Lake Como, we also got the C12 bus from Menaggio to
Lugano for a day trip. When the time came for us to leave Marilena gave us a lift to the station so we could head North to Tirano to pick up the Bernina Express.

All in all it has been a fantastic holiday, I would always choose to stay in Varenna over Bellagio! Thank you Marilena for making my parents' holiday so enjoyable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley404
Varenna, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Gems of Varenna”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If George Clooney is considered “The Treasure of Lake Como” and Bellagio is known as “The Pearl of the Lake,” then surely “The Gems of Lake Como” must be Marilena and her trusty sidekick “Tartufina”.

We discovered Varenna after typing “Most picturesque village in Lake Como” and were not disappointed when we arrived to see its stunning views across the Lake to Bellagio and Menaggio with snow-capped mountains.

From the moment we were greeted by our hostess, Marilena, at the nearby train station we were made to feel most welcome. Throughout our many years of travels within Europe we have never met such a helpful and vibrant person who goes above and beyond to provide a high level of customer service that ensure the best possible holiday experience.

The apartment location overlooking Piazza San Giorgio with its typical Italian buildings and historic church bells that regularly chime is simply charming. We found the accommodation to be well stocked and offered everything we required to make ourselves comfortable and feel at home which is in stark contrast to staying at hotels. As we had booked for 25 days I particularly appreciated access to satellite television/Wi-Fi, washing machine and a well-equipped kitchen. The apartment was moments from the lakeshore, shops, restaurants, and transportation making it very livable indeed.

Varenna itself is more relaxed than other more ‘touristy’ parts of the lake providing the opportunity for slow paced walks or to just sit and watch the white swans move gracefully through the water in an atmosphere of serenity and peace. Places of interest include Villa Monastro Botanical Gardens, Villa Monastero and Castello di Vezio. The locals are warm, friendly people who greet visitors with a smile and genuine “Buon Giorno”. There are many fine restaurants, bars, coffee shop, pizzeria, and gelaterios to explore and enjoy. Other essential service providers include post office, delicatessen, grocer, fishmonger, hairdresser, and bank all within walking distance from the apartment. Transportation links are excellent with frequent trains and ferries operating nearby making daily trips to Milan and other parts of Italy accessible.

We have no hesitation in recommending Varenna and Marilena Apartments to anyone considering Lake Como as a holiday destination. We enjoyed the experience so much we decided to move here permanently! We would like to acknowledge the outstanding help and support given by Marilena who was instrumental in securing our magnificent long-term residence overlooking the picturesque lake. Marilena made the transition from Rome problem free by organizing viewings of several apartments, setting up utilities and acting as intermediary all on her own initiative!!!

Visitors to Lake Como why waste time stalking George Clooney at Villa Oleandra in Laglio when you can visit Marilena at Maddalena House in central Varenna and live La Dolce Vita!!

Andrew and Lesley Miller
Australians

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Marilenas friendly manner and the village locals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4239Mille...
Jamestown, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where one feel's "at home" in Varenna -”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We first discovered the ancient fishing village of Varenna in 2006. In one brief afternoon, we fell in love with Varenna and promised ourselves that we would return. In fulfillment of that promise, we recently completed a two-week stay at Maddalena House in the historic center of Varenna. What a wonderful experience!

Our desire was to experience daily life in historic Varenna, and to meet it's local residents. Choosing to visit in the off-season, we opted to spend our Christmas and New Year holidays there. No itinerary, no car, no group tour guide. We were open to experience each of the 14 days as they unfolded. The experience was phenomenal, and central to that was Maddelena House and Marilena Anghileri!

Maddelena House has a long family history, and we felt honored to stay there. It is the quintessential older Italian home, honoring that tradition, yet offering all the desired modern conveniences. It was a warm, comfortable nest. A place easy to live in.

Marilena? She is simply outstanding! Excellent in her abilities as a property manager, and very genuine in her desire for her clients to have a wonderful stay. She goes above and beyond in her efforts to help clients. We will consider her a friend, forever.

During our visit, we had many blessings: a wonderful apartment overlooking the piazza, meeting many local residents, having superb dining experiences, and observing holiday traditions that were overwhelming in their simplistic beauty.

Maddelana House in historic Varenna? It was 'La dolce vita' in it's truest sense.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location on the piazza.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheilaKen...
Kenmore, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home in the village of Varenna...”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Maddelena House in the village of Varenna was the perfect end to our three week stay in Italy. Marilena met us at the train station, gave us a quick tour of the village and showed us our apartment in Maddelena House. This is truly a home. Warm and cozy with everything you need for snuggling in, cooking meals and relaxing. But you don't have to relax! The apartment overlooks the village square, and is a short walk to the ferry terminal for cruising on the lake, Hotel Villa Cipressi and its lovely gardens, as well as restaurants, bars, and shops. Staying at Maddelena House is like living, even for a brief time, in a lovely village on the lake. We arrived in early November, and unfortunately many attractions and restaurants were shutting down for the season. Even so, we had plenty of places to eat and things to see and do.
I can't say enough about Marilena and this property. Marilena's friendly customer service is flawless, and the apartment provides everything one could want or need. I hope to visit Varenna, and stay in this apartment, someday in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and caring customer service of Marilena
Liked least: Seasonal shut-downs, which we were aware of in advance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;