We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 039)
Filter reviews
1 039 results
Traveller rating
277
431
205
84
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
431
205
84
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake como enclosed balcony ferry terminal the main square piazza cavour excellent view corner room old style old world charm large room charming hotel three nights breakfast was excellent croissants the air conditioning bellagio
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1 039 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Metropole Suisse Hotel was in the perfect location for both shopping and transportation to other parts of the lake with great views, great employees, very nice and clean rooms! Breakfast selection was good.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank caroleustace5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Trainee at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear caroleustace5,
We thank you for your kindness and your lovely words.
It is always a pleasure to satisfy all your needs and wishes.
Hope to see you again.
Many thanks and best regards.
Monica Badolli
info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

This hotel is right on the water, convenient to the ferry, and offers a fabulous view. Our first night included fireworks on the water from an engagement party of a sheik's daughter. Quite spectacular! However, even though the staff is incredibly nice, our room was lacking amenities, such as running water in the bathroom. The faucet had a trickle of water coming out. That didn't make me so happy. The bed was quite hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was ok, but certainly had better in other hotels. Overall, I couldn't give it a good rating and wouldn't stay there again unless I was promised a room that had been renovated. We did have a wonderful dinner in the restaurant there, and were able to dine outside which is lovely. Service was great, too.

Room tip: Ask for soft pillows, a room with a shower, and renovated bathroom. Of the 3 couples, ours was the only room which had the faucet problem.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Shermaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Trainee at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

Dear Shermaine G,
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.com
We are sorry for the inconveniences you found during your stay, we will improve our services as soon as possible.
It is a pleasure for us to know you liked our restaurant and its staff.
Hope to have a second chance to satisfy your expectations.
Best Regards
Monica Badolli
info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

We were delighted with our choice of this historic hotel for our final two nights in Italy before flying home to Australia. The staff greeted us cheerfully and were quick to satisfy any request.

I like to have tea in the room and a tray with kettle and cups and saucers were promptly delivered to our room when requested. The pillows were rock hard and it was difficult to sleep so I asked if there were other pillows. They were instantly sent to our room.

The room on the 5th floor with a stunning view across Lake Como and the square was reminiscent of Swiss detail experienced by us decades ago. There was a monogrammed top sheet on the bed and a crisp white woven cotton coverlet. All of the other hotels we stayed in provided individual duvets on a bed for two with no top sheet. October is considered winter and the air conditioning is turned off. The weather was unseasonably warm and other hotels had no alternative bedding.

Having said this without air conditioning the room was very warm for sleeping and we had no choice but to open the window. Our first night was Sunday which is very busy and it was extremely noisy well in to the early hours. The bathroom was modern with a deep bath tub always important to us when we travel. Water pressure was very low in the shower.

Breakfast was adequate but I expected more choice from this hotel. Not everything was perfect but we did love staying here. The location is superb and there were also many positives. The building with a classic 19th century facade is protected by the Monuments and Fine Arts Office.

What I have learned this trip is to always ask if there is something lacking from your room. Chances are the hotel will have these things set aside to supply on request rather than equip every room with facilities not required by all guests.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Elene Montorfano Reservation at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2018

Buongiorno Marj,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel MetropoleSuisse!
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your visit: from our unique view on the lake to our historic building. The weather this year is very unpredictable as the last week was very cold 10 degrees, we decided to turn off the air condition.
Thank you also for your kind words about our staff – We won’t hesitate to share them.
We look forward to welcoming you again!
Have a lovely day,
Elene MetropoleSuisse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed a few days with family. Great location over looking Lake Como. The hotel was clean, the rooms extremely clean but the place is very tired looking and needs a serious makeover. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was ok but I’m on a vegan diet and there was very little I could eat. The hot food was only scrambled eggs and bacon. The cold food was cheese and ham, pastries, cornflakes, granola, yoghurts & fruit. I had fruit and bread and jam. The hotel was expensive for what we had but I expect it warranted it because of the views. We at least expected to have a kettle and tea/coffee in the rooms and we didn’t even get that.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 194janev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Jane V,
We are happy to read that you liked the view and our staff.
As you might have possibly read, our structure is very old and sometimes it's difficult to renovate it.
We are sorry for the food and we will try to improve to have more choices.
We always supply our guests with kettle with tea, but if it's not we suggest to ask at the front desk so we can provide.
Hope to have a second change
Best Regards
Eleonora Di Giuseppe
info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We had a corner room up on the 5th floor overlooking the lake. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was renovated and there was no carpet in the bedroom. Breakfast was ok but could be one notch better if there were capuccino or espresso stations. The staff were friendly and service was speedy. However when we checked in, no information was provided about the hotel or surrounding areas.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMetropoleSuisse, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Metropole Suisse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2018

Dear Michael R,
Thank you for your lovely words about the lake view, the staff and our service.
Regarding the breakfast you can simply ask for a cappuccino or espresso at the waiter who will be happy to prepare it!
We also are sorry for not giving you the information you wanted about the city centre and the lake but we give map and information quiet always, but if it's not the guests usually ask at the front desk which is all the time helpful.
We hope to see you again in our hotel
Best Regards
Eleonora Di Giuseppe
info@hotelmetropolesuisse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews