We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal and beautiful atmosphere”
Review of DuCoq

DuCoq
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$94
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The atmosphere and food were perfect! Very fresh seafood. One of our best meals. A touch of Paris in Italy making the the bread and desserts even more delicious, great wine list too

1  Thank MaryAnn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDuCoq, Proprietario at DuCoq, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Mary Ann,

thank you so much. Short review full of beautiful words... this is what we like more!
Proud to be one of your best meal in Santa Margherita. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in advance and was expecting great things based on trip advisor reviews but sadly we were a little underwhelmed.
Starter of scampi was good and overall food was fine just not as outstanding as we were expecting. Garden setting outside was pleasant.
Decent value as well.
Service though was intermittent at best, and left waiting at the end for 20 minutes for a bill, and forced to ask for it 3 times.
I suspect just off an off night and with slicker service we would have readily scored it a 4

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDuCoq, Proprietario at DuCoq, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paul,

I'm sorry if you wait so long for the bill. It was my fault: I want to print the check personally, just to be sure nothing is wrong, and in that moment I probably had other things to do. Anyway, you didn't stand up for going away, just because sitting in our beautiful garden is not so bad!

I'm sure next time you will find slicker service and some seafood you will enjoy more!

A presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The presentation and the food were fantastic, in particular the Oysters we opted for the tasting plate. It is amazing to see how different and how sublime these little suckers can be.

The special of the day was OK but when you come off such a sensational start it is hard to back it up.

Service was OK but a few small details to work on - no problems though and will be back in the future

Grazie

1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDuCoq, Proprietario at DuCoq, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Mark, it was a pleasure having you and your family at us.
I will remember: special of the day first, and then oyster plate, as a dessert! We work hard everyday to improve service and menù, next time you come from Australia you will be surprised!

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

Du Coq is far superior to the tourist places on the beach. We had the oyster sampler. Amazing pasta of the day with scampi. Huge King Crab legs simply prepared. The fish special was superbly cooked and a large beautiful piece of sea bass. Hot homemade bread the best in Italy. Small intimate location with very good service— very nice staff.

1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDuCoq, Proprietario at DuCoq, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

We are very happy when our Clients love us and underline that “we aren’t a touristic restaurant”. You got the point, we are different!
Few years ago, when we were looking for a location in the lovely Santa Margherita, we felt in love with this place and its secret garden… even though it wasn’t seaview waterfront. We thought it was a sign: our tip top products are oysters, and we love thinking our restaurant like a pearl, we are not easy to find… our Clients must look for us, we are hidden in heart of Santa, but when they find us, they will never forget their way!
Thanks a lot for appreciating our homemade bread and thanks a lot for being with us.
Proud to serve the best seafood in town and most of all proud to became part of your italian memories!

Thanks from all of us and please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Nice decoration, typical for an oyster bar. Excellent service, explaining every question the diner may have... Good QvP of their short wine list. Excellent quality of seafood. I would definetely visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AngelK73GR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaraDuCoq, Proprietario at DuCoq, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Thank you so much for your good words.
We put quality first ever, in the seafood, in the wine and in the service too! We would our client became our friend, even if they have to come from far away!

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DuCoq also viewed

Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
Santa Margherita Ligure, Italian Riviera
 

Been to DuCoq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing