We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cliff Side Gem”
Enjoy the amazing view over the Poets' Gulf!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the amazing view over the Poets' Gulf!
The Blackberry Cottage from the pine tree terrace The Blackberry Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Enjoy the amazing view over the Poets' Gulf!
The Blackberry Cottage from the pine tree terrace
The Blackberry Cottage
A nice meal under the pergola
The amazing view for the outdoor dining area
The master-bedroom on the ground floor
the view from the master bedroom
The bedroom downstairs
One of the rooms upstairs with bunk beds
The second bedroom upstrairs
Open kitchen and dining room
the cheminy
The main bathroom
The toilet upstairs
Panoramic view of the kitchen and living
The typical terraced garden
Panoramic view of the garden and the Balckberry Cottage
You will be surrounded by flowers!
The terrace in front of the cottage and the typical olive trees
The dining area with the view over the Poets' Gulf
The typical terraced garden
The sunrise over the Apuane Alps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cinque Terre, Italian Riviera, Liguria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mnitaly
Cinque Terre
1 review
“Cliff Side Gem”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in June 2013

My husband, two teen children and mother in law stayed at Blackberry Cottage in June of 2012 and we have wonderful memories of our time. The views of the bay and the hillside are spectacular and highlight the regions natural beauty. The cottage itself is steeped in charm and perfectly weathered by years of love and tender care by Alberto and his family.

The gardens on the property are breathtaking and expertly tended. One of my most treasured memories is sitting on the back terrace surrounded by the white lights and the setting sun, sharing a meal with my family.

You will definitely need a car to travel to and from the property and driving up the hill can be a bit sporty, but you wouldn't have the amazing view if you didn't tackle the hill. The only other thing I would say is that there are a number of stairs leading from the road to the house itself - this could present some difficulty for an elderly person.

Overall Blackberry Cottage was a magical place that we hope to visit again in the near future. Working with Alberto was very easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were spectacular
Liked least: The one bed in the property - I told Alberto and he was going to take care of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernhard1...
Medford, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful respite high above La Spezia bay”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The best is sitting on the patio and enjoying the view of the bay, at sunset or any time of the day, watch the large ships come and go, and enjoy being away from the throngs of tourist that during high season take over the truly picturesque towns of Cinque Terre, along with Porto Venere as the gateway. We rented the cottage with our two children and friends who had children of similar age (5-10 years). The cottage and gardens are well maintained, and watered regularly by someone who stops by.

The cottage is not large, though adequate for 4 adults and children if you don't expect large rooms. Access from the 2nd patio is via a somewhat narrow stairs that leads into the kitchen - was perfectly fine with us, who were all slim, but maybe a problem for others. The access road is not for the faint of heart, but no problem if you have navigated other narrow roads (including the ones leading to Cinque Terre).

Overall we loved the cottage and our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The patios and their views
Liked least: Not finding the turn-off from the main road the first time
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCandRR
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed at Blackberry Cottage for 5 nights and would love to return one day. It is a truly magical place. The Cottage is not big, but it doesn’t matter as there’s a beautiful terrace garden with plenty of room for eating or relaxing outdoors. Plus being outside gives you one of the best views you’ll ever see in your life. We spent a lot of time just sitting out on the terrace.
We stayed here with our two-and-a-half year old and 8 month old baby. We were initially worried about the kids falling down the steps but it didn’t turn out to be a problem.
The Cottage is a great base for exploring the Cinque Terre and Portovenere. It’s only about a 10 minute drive to the closest Cinque Terre town. We stayed during the week so didn’t have any problems finding parking outside the towns.
This place is perfect for families with a car who want somewhere quiet and relaxing to stay away from the crowds. Thank you Alberto, staying here was one of the highlights of our trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were wonderful
Liked least: The driveway was a bit rough in parts
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guimss
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent rate quality / price.”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The service is perfect. Even if the main room is a little bit short, the house is very pleasant. I strongly recommand this location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie205
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blackberry Cottage is an idyllic place to spend time and from where it is possible to escape from city life.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Blackberry Cottage is a beautiful little villa perched on the hills above the Bay of La Spezia. The views from the cottage are stunning, whether it be first thing in the morning, at dusk or at any other time of the day or night.
The cottage itself has a rustic charm. The main living area is adjacent to a small but well-appointed kitchen. From this main room there is access to terraces at the front and back of the house. We had breakfast on the former and lunch on the latter.
There are two double bedrooms, plus two bedrooms on the first floor with bunk beds 'a castello'.The sleeping facilities are comfortable but, I would suggest, for not more than four adults plus two children due to the lack of a second bathroom (although the WC and basin on the first floor help in this respect).
The terraced garden is well maintained and full of many plants and shrubs, To get to the cottage form the parking area it is necessary to walk down steps through the terraces and one has ample opportunity to appreciate the garden - on the way down and on the way back up! At night there is a series of well-placed lights to guide one to and from the parking area.
A car is essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view; the garden; the location; house well-equipped; excellent modern bathroom;
Liked least: Very limited casual seating inside the house (but then who wants to be inside, except out of season or in wet weather!?)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing