We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth coming back”

Trattoria alla Speranza
Ranked #3 of 936 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

This is a simple no-frills location, a genuine “trattoria”. The owner is very friendly and you can smell the family feeling around. The small open kitchen can produce little miracles. Good quality food and fish, excellent main courses (panzerotti and ravioli my favs) timely servicing. Maybe some sauces were a bit similar. Appetizers were good too and desserts were simple but tasty. The price is fair (some 35 euros for a full fish based dinner). It would be 4,5, if Trip had the half mark, but we’ll get back soon to chase the fifth star.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Marco61Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018

Actually, it was the first restaurant I went after arriving Trieste. I love the dessert so much, elegant and good taste.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Zhongda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The place is a familiar not fancy restaurant with great food. We were there with our two kids and the service was amazing. Franco suggested us fish and pasta that were unbelievable good and we enjoyed so much our time there. We had great desserts, a picture with Franco and unforgettable memories!

P.S. Choose fish!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 72jans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione. A presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

We visited Trieste for 24 hours and found this place TripAdvisor.
We got the seafood pasta, cabonara and mixed fish platter + local wine. Seafood were fresh and tasty.
Great choice!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank LyshaT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie per la bellissima recensione a presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

First of all, the food is insanely good. Not a fancy place, in fact the opposite. But they are producing world-class stuff, including the pasta with seafood, the meat plate appetizer, in fact any of the pastas are out of this world. Wine selection was good. Service was terrific. The family takes care of you there. Of course, they brought us grappa to drink on the house. Stuff is lethal, although their dark grappa was very good as firewater goes. It's a bit of a hike from right down at the harbor where we stayed but well worth it.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WBreskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speranza15, Proprietario at Trattoria alla Speranza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018
Google Translation

Grazie mille per la bellissima recensione . A presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria alla Speranza also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Trattoria alla Speranza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing