We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner!”

Baracca e Burattini
Ranked #21 of 936 Restaurants in Trieste
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Very nice service! Love the bread on the table. Great Pasta, very traditional Trieste style! Atmosphere was nice.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Christian Kuei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We simply chanced on this Osteria, walking past, and when we arrived it was quite empty. Within 15 minutes it had filled completely. Lots of office workers and locals, only one other tourist table as far as we could tell. Lovely freshly made dishes, enormous helpings, full of flavour. Great find.
They do a new menu daily, so obviously lots of regulars.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank AlexandriaSion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

After train from Venice and while waiting for bus to Rovinj,
we had a wonderful lunch here. The service was outstanding and the food exceptional. After traveling through Sicily, Bologna, and Venice the past 3 weeks this is the best meal we have experienced so far!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

We grabbed a late table around 9.15pm and the restaurant was packed (a good first sign) and had a warm cosy atmosphere.

We ordered a 1/2 carafe of white wine and settled into reading the menu. With starters at €8-10 and pastas or mains at €10-16 euros the prices were all encouraging.

I ordered the zucchini flowers and steak in autumnal fruit sauce, my partner went for the prosciutto in the Gorgonzola cheese fondue cup. First some freshly baked bread followed by complementary amuse bouche came out as we waited and then the starters. Both were wonderful and actually the zucchini flowers came with mozzarella and prosciutto on the side making it an extremely hearty dish.

The main courses of steak (phenomenal) and ravioli (also v good) were a hit with use alongside a second 1/2 carafe of red this time. If you have a larger appetite I would recommend a side dish with steak as it comes solely as steak in sauce with a small bed of crushed potato peas underneath. But this was plenty for me.

The staff worked hard to keep the place going and were doing a great job. At €50 for all the above we thought it represented great value and would recommend! Well done!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mrsdrum1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I ate tasty lasagne for starter and for main course something with potatoes, looked like fishballs. It was too much for lunch. The house white wine was excellent. The atmosphere was lovely. Nice artworks on the walls.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Saija m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baracca e Burattini also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Baracca e Burattini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing