We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
67
204
158
71
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
204
158
71
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station elevator stops between floors basic room nice hotel enjoyed my stay close to the city center stay there again min walk breakfast room perfect location within walking distance top floor coffee machine good size excellent breakfast the main square pastries
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018

This hotel is far more positives than negatives, it is a great central location being right on the centre of the city less than 5 mins walk from the bus and rail stations.
The reception staff (who speak excellent English) are helpful, we were able to check into our room before midday. As others have mentioned the lift is a little strange having 4-5 steps up to it to access it plus the lift stops between floors at the staircase.
The room was great with a total blackout system, plus there is a fridge in the room (which is small) the bathroom and bed were fine (and unlike many hotels was a "proper" double bed. There is also a safe in the room.
The air conn in the room needs updating so doesn't cool the room as fast as more modern systems.
The free breakfast was fine limited to hot egg/sausage plus the usual bakery items,the orange juice was only cordial which was the only real disappointment.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Our room was a little larger than the typical European hotel room and had a hide-a-bed couch besides two twin beds. Conveniently located near the town square, the port, and the train station, this clean and up-to-date hotel is a perfect place for a good nights sleep. I can forgive them that the lift/elevator wasn't working when we stayed there, but, I would not have wished to have stayed a long visit without it functioning since the beautiful breakfast room is located on the top (5th) floor and that is quite a hike. The breakfast was fresh and varied with fruit, yogurt, eggs, meat and cheese, pastries and the like. Some in our group especially liked the hot chocolate/coffee machine. Staff was very friendly and the shower nice and hot!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank donnalorrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Getting a good room in Trieste for a decent price is a bit of a challenge. The Hotel Roma has the feel of a thousand other pensions in Italy. A tiny check-in. Tiny elevator and a room that is made to crash. The charm factor is just about zero. All in all, for the right price, this place would be acceptable as it is within walking distance of the sights. The first problem we had was where to put the car. The front desk was not exactly helpful as they just pointed out areas around the hotel that were perpetually full. We ended up parking it for the night underground close by. If driving through, it's passible.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Location: on one hand good, close to the city center. On the other hand not so good, close to the railway station.
Rooms: clean and spacious, but across the main building (then it's apartment house, not a hotel) with uncomfortable beds.
Excellent breakfast.

Room tip: Excellent breakfast, bad beds
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Refile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Excellent location, the room is renovated and clean.
The restaurant is new, and
The breakfast is varied.
The price is affordable!
The only problem is parking in general in Trieste.
I would recommend to friends

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stefanab2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews