We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful Paradise! Truffle hummus!”
Review of Adonis RistoBar

Adonis RistoBar
Ranked #26 of 936 Restaurants in Trieste
Price range: US$23 - US$114
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Truly spectacular. Food is sooo delicious and staff extremely helpful, we loved the decoration inside, very elegant and chill. We will definitely come back for more delicious hummus in all the possible variations and colours this amazing place offers. Thank you.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nenaJk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2017

Lovely atmosphere, professional and prompt service, and most of all great food; fresh and well presented. Lots of options for vegetarians. A welcome change in the city!

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

This little restaurant offers good quality courses from a Lebanese menu. Appetizers and main courses are well presented. The dessert list is somehow more limited. The overall environment is kind of elegant, and prices are adequate (some 30-35 euros each). Staff is courteous although the feeling I had both times I went there they could be more informal and smile a bit more. Tartare (fish and meat) falafel and sauces are very good. Maybe bred is a bit flat and kind of raw, but maybe this is the way it must be done.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Marco61Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Our hotel tried to warn us off this restaurant as not being nearly as good as reviewed--4.8/5...we ignored the hotel staff and went anyway. We were the first of the evening to arrive. Initial service was pleasant and attentive. We were informed of an item or two on the menu not being available and about 30% of their very short wine list was also not available. Humus selection was great...after all it should be in a Lebanese restaurant. My wife was pleased with her food, I thought mine was good, but not exceptional in any way. As business picked up we were totally ignored. No one ever checked on the food or offered to get more wine. When we were finished we placed our silverware in our plate, after a 15-20 minutes wait we were still sitting with our plates. We then pushed them so they were about 30% off the edge of the table and within 5 minutes they cleared our plates. 10-15 minutes passed and they never returned to inform or inquire about deserts. I finally flagged the manager and I requested the check. When he provided it we put down a Visa card...he said they could not process a card for payment. That was the last straw and we made our displeasure clear. He said we were rude and disrespectful in an apparent effort to quiet our concerns..to which I responded, bad service is disrespectful and gave him the litiney of issues. He then attributed our disappointment to our being Americans--that's rich, he took no responsibilty.

Over all the food is good, prices are reasonable, but it is not anywhere near 4.8--maybe 3.5--3.8, wine selection small and what we had was relatively mediocre, decore plain and truly charcoal grey, service terrible, attitude not too good either. Our hotel was right.

Date of visit: September 2017
4  Thank mondongo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fadlallah D, Proprietario at Adonis RistoBar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

First of all we are not the restaurant of 5 stars and don't pretend to be.
The scoring on social networks is an evaluation of quality/price/service that we offer.
Let's return to the facts in order that you wrote.
One dish from menu wasn't available but you forgot about other 2 dishes that we had out of menu. As we are not 'commercial' restaurant it happens often that something is not available because we're preparing all dishes that we offer to our clients.
The list of wines? There wasn't available 2 types of Lebanese wine (Ksara red and Kouroum) but there was other types of wine of high quality that you can't find in Lebanese restaurant of 5 stars (Chateau Musar: Jeune red 2014, Jeune white 2014, Gaston Hochar red 2003; Ixsir: Altitudes white 2016, Altitudes red 2012, Altitudes rose 2015, Grande reserve white 2015, Grande reserve red 2011; Ksara: Blanc de l'observatoire 2014 and 2016, Sunset rose 2015). Italian wines were even more from which Pinot grigio and Friulano from Reguta that you've drunk.
What about your 'Americans so rich' is your conclusion and not ours. Offer other wine? The type of service is based on feedback from the client and we are not disturbing other clients any second if they want other glass of wine or no. Is enough to ask for it. Anyway the fact that you didn't tell the word from when you entered with your superior area despite seeking a feedback from our staff you created the service that you wished.
What about 15 minutes of waiting - due to etiquette rules only after puting cutlery in plate you can talk about the time of waiting.
The payment? I don't know what did you mean with that. Anyway our answer was that there wasn't connection where you were sitting and we asked to come to bar to pay with card.
Your wife has beaten her hand on the glass of the table with risk of break it and talked to manager with high voice making other guests notice your reaction. The way in which you react with high voice shows your rudeness in comparison to our staff and you decided that you are rich and despise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

I came back to live in this town and I just couldn't believe there is such a place.

All mezze and mains are really good, fresh, well presented and they always have a couple of various dishes of the day. A plus is given by Fidel and his crew, who are always very nice and careful.

Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Giulia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adonis RistoBar also viewed

Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 
Trieste, Province of Trieste
Trieste, Province of Trieste
 

Been to Adonis RistoBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing