We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
52
144
213
96
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
144
213
96
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station city centre ferrari museum road side the location is perfect great hotel breakfast buffet old city comfortable bed good size garage wardrobe wifi car shutters meters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

I had a really great stay. A very nice and cosy room.
Particularly wonderful staff: always helpful and smiling.
The breakfast is also very nice. The location is perfect,
close to downtown and the train station. I will definitively
go to Europa for my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alain372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_VHG, Direttore at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Dear alain372,

Wow, you are making us blush. It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor!
Your feedback will of course be shared with our entire team who will be thrilled to hear of the positive impact they continue to have on our guests' journey.
We really hope to welcome back in the future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived it seemed nice and clean, we checked in and got our room key. We then went to our room. That’s when things changed!

When we first entered the room, it smelt like it hadn't been used in a while. We were also greeted by our own guests! 30 flies! We thought ok, we will go out and explore the city and inform reception and they will take care of it when we are out. We headed to reception, handed the key in and explained the situation! To which we where first questioned: are you sure it’s flies and not mosquitoes? As if we don’t know the difference (we are from milan where there is significantly more). So I thought maybe its because I'm speaking English, so my partner spoke in Italian and explained the situation. The receptionist then said she would give us bug spray to kill them when we returned! Ooooookkkkkk!

This is the only hotel I have been into that has had something like this, we returned and used the big spray (almost killing ourselves at the same time with the toxic fumes). This then left us another issue: we had to clean the flies up!

So they seem to expect guests to kill flies and clean rooms on their arrival! I am appalled at the service! Just to show you some of them, and I mean some: this was just at one corner of the room I have attached a photo.

This does make you question how clean the room actually is!

Also, many of your reception staff are rude! Often not acknowledging us on arrival but throwing the key at them! Upon check out we where told to wait many times, no sorry or anything just aspetta!

After leaving I emailed the hotel complaining - expecting a simple apology - but they denied that we told them about the flies - apparently we asked for the spray - which we did not.

When we handed the spray back the receptionist asked if they are gone, I replied yes - but its not normal - and I am not happy with the situation to which we where responded its strange.

My advice, do not go here. Uncomfortable bed, receptionist not friendly (although 1 was)

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WilliamH2272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_VHG, Direttore at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear William,

we are sorry to hear about your negative experience at Hotel Europa.

Your room overlooks one of the most lovely boulevard of the city and during the cleaning procedures we always open the window to air rooms.

We really care about guests journey and their satisfaction and we have taken all your comments on board and they have been shared with the respective heads departments to take the necessary actions.

Moreover, we are really sorry you perceived our staff behaviour rude. Our reception team is generally appreciated by our guests for its professionalism and kindness.

We value your time and effort to share your feedback and concerns with us so that we can continuously improve our levels of service in efforts to be better tomorrow than we are today.

We do hope that in the near future we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Best Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was a good size and comfortable and despite being on the road side it was very quiet. The noise we had was from the hotel itself, people scraping chairs across the tiles floor, slamming doors etc. The photographs on the website show a bar, this is a bit misleading as the photo is of the bar/restaurant next door. It is in a great location to walk into the city centre to explore Modena, and a short walk to the Ferrari museum. Staff were very helpful with ideas for a days drive into the countryside. Although their car park is very small, and twenty euros a night, you can park on the street and they give you a card for your windscreen so you don't have to pay. I would stay here again as it is good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_VHG, Direttore at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear drewlawrence,

we are in a perfect city centre location, few minutes walking from the city centre and the amazing Ferrari Museum.
Happy to know that you appreciated the room and our great staff who is always happy to give suggestions about what to see in town and also in the countryside.
We offer two options for parking: we provide a free ticket to park nearby the hotel, otherwise there is a garage with an extra cost.
Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

After a walk through squalid corridors, i found my room, sort of a plasterboard cubicle realized in a recess.
At first step, i realized the tremendously bad small of bathroom, the sticky floor with dirt spreaded instead of cleaned, stained and worn furniture, and the en-suit is again a small origami of plasterboard sharing part of the room's window, with lavatory placed literally under the basin. Shower is the most raised place to enjoy such piece of architecture.
Bed is uncomfortable, doors are rattling, minibar placed on top of the desk, with dust balls around.
I only enjoyed the chunks of homemade cakes for breakfast. On the other hand, i've had a really bad coffee from automatic dispenser (some clients could get hand-made coffee...).
An (expensive) garage service is available, and indeed steward has amazing maneuvering skills!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Flavio1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_VHG, Direttore at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Dear Flavio,
We are sorry to hear that you were left disappointed with your recent stay at Hotel Europa.
We value your time and effort to share your feedback and concerns with us so that we can continuously improve our levels of service and product in efforts to be better tomorrow than we are today.
Our rich breakfast buffet has sweet and salty products with also local food!
Our Guest can always ask for a coffee or cappuccino prepared by our breakfast waiters!
Hope to welcome back in the future.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My wife and I stayed 2 nights with a TripAdvisor PrePay.
After arriving on the morning train from Mantova, we walked 500 meters S to this hotel along a wide tree lined street. An English speaking clerk copied our passports and stored our bags, and we were off for the next several hours with the Ferrari Museums.
Returning at 4PM, we retrieved our bags and our key and took the elevator up to the 2nd floor.
Our tiled #240 entered to a closet wardrobe, and to the side, a fully outfitted bathroom with tub shower. The good sized bedroom had a comfortable king with back shelf for nightstands, desk with extended shelf unit with chair, wall TV(no English), 2 extra chairs, refer with safe, and hot pot for tea.
The large insulated window opened to the sidewalk, and with shutters, enjoyed quiet nights, We also had secure WiFi, and a complete serviced 7 AM breakfast buffet.
Located midway between UNESCO’S Piazza Grande and the Ezno Ferrari Museum, with a large COOP 600 meters N, this hotel seemed a good, but expensive choice for us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direzione_VHG, Direttore at Hotel Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Gene,
thank you for writing this detailed review.
Happy to know that you had a good stay at Hotel Europa.
As you highlighted, we are in a strategic position: few minutes walking from the city centre, the railway station and the fantastic Enzo Ferrari Museum.
Hope you will be our guest in the future!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews