We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
12
56
91
45
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
56
91
45
16
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Rated 2 for the good breakfast...
If you are there for brief stay for job it should be ok as breakfast is fine and wireless fine (just be aware that the connection is not WPA/WPA2 so di not connect to internet banking and do not use for sensible data transfer).
We were here in couple for a 4 days vacation: cleanliness of room was not so great. The bathroom, nevertheless we were 2, shows after the first day, just one towel. Shampoo and related were just set for one person while I booked a double explicitly. I booked here to avoid Limited Traffic Zone in the center of Modena: do not make this mistake. Phone to a more central hotel and asks for their policies about ZTL.
Just near the hotel there is an XXX place. Lunch and dinner always done in the center of Modena (25 minutes walk). I've been around Europe in 4 stars hotels for the same price, this is my first bad review of an hotel rated 3 stars (???)
Staff not very useful except for the breakfast girl. Review attached picture speak by themself.
At the check out they try to make me pay for frigo-bar that I've never touched neither opened, so watch out for the receipt.
Va bene per chi si reca a Modena per lavoro. Posizione sfavorevole per turismo.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mfrizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Clean and cheap. Far from downtown, but closed to "Modena 2" business center. Friendly staff, acceptable breakfest. I visit it periodically during my business stays in Modena and I am satisfied. Cheap restaurants around.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Considering this was a 3* hotel, we expected more. The receptionist couldn't find our reservation. He was unfriendly. We couldn't get the air conditioning to work because he hadn't initiated it! Breakfast was awful. There was very little choice and we were there an hour before it ended. We were very unhappy with our stay..

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Lee Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Not the nicest hotel Only stayed due to closeness to Ferrari museum. Rooms dark and gloomy, no bathroom light, wifi kept dropping out, no English speaking channels on TV. Décor needing updated and brightened. Staff did not speak much English. Breakfast very poor. Little to choose from however, great coffee and free water from the mini bar in your room. Parking was not a problem for us. Unlike hotels in UK, Italian hotels do not have tea/coffee in rooms. All have fridges and some offer water free of charge but most charge. So bring your own (little bottles). A/C not great. Looks like they may have some newly decorated rooms according to some reviews - so maybe ask for one of these rooms??

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a newly decorated room - ours was dated and gloomy!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My Daughter who stayed at the Hotel twice during her school exams , felt very welcome at The Donatello Hotel. THE STAFF was fantastic and even helped her stamp her school report. My daughter, who is a teenager was traveling alone and she felt very safe and so did I.
On her first visit, she was given a room on the top floor. It was very lovely and had just been decorated. The second stay , she had a older room, but she said it was very large and comfortable and had a great big bathroom. The Breakfast is included, and was very good and in the rooms, they supple you with a tea pot and complimentary tea and cafe. I and my family will be returning to this lovely hotel in the near future. A Special Thanks to the Receptionist ! cheers, THE ALTEA /WILKES family

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are brand new
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Prisciila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews