We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 047)
Filter reviews
1 047 results
Traveller rating
534
363
93
27
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
363
93
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool area nice pool lovely pizzeria conference hotel nice hotel downtown bologna good nights sleep small gym minute drive hire car the bus clean bathroom following morning close to the city center very pleasant stay business trip quiet location
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 1 047 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

This was our third stay. As usual easy to find from the autostrada. Plenty of parking. Polite staff, and big clean rooms with a balcony. Quiet & very comfortable. Huge choice available for breakfast which is just what you need ready for a long drive. Next year it’s a 2 night stay as the pool looks fantastic but never had the time to try it !

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank FrenchCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloCarignano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Bellaria Hotel & Congressi, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for sharing your experience at Relais Bellaria Hotel.
We are thrilled to know you appreciated our services.
We wait to welcome back you in the next future, for a longer relaxing city break!
Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Pros:
Gorgeous hotel. The rooms were amazing and very modern. Extremely comfortable. Air con was good, not too loud but turned off when balcony door opened. There was basically a little garden in the balcony that blocked any view but that was a blessing because our room looked out into a car park. Chairs and table on balcony were lovely.
The pool was amazing with plenty of beds. There was two hot tubs, that were divine.
Lovely little garden to drink in at night time with comfortable seating.
Staff had great English and were very helpful. For example they were willing to order us takeaway when we didn't feel like going to a restaurant
Free bike rental at reception and gym included.
Breakfast nice and had a good selection but apparently the coffee was awful according to my boyfriend.

Cons:
Food was a bit overpriced for what was received e.g €12 for a club sandwich that was average at best.
Wasn't in walking distance to supermarkets and restaurants, would recommend a car if staying here.
The bar seemed to close at 10pm and the night porter only served a limited selection of drink etc bottled beer..
There was so many wasps at the pool which led to some being dead and floating in the pool but they mostly stuck to the side of the pool area.
One night when we were having a couple of drinks in the garden area, the lights were turned off and the sprinklers came on and we felt as if were being pushed out. We were informed the sprinklers were on a timers but it never happened before and the night porter was nice and tried to turn on a light for us.
Staff always tried to charge everything to the room even though we wanted to pay cash and we felt as if we were inconveniencing them because we wanted to pay in cash.
Only ate dinner in restaurant once, very little food for example the roast potatoes were cut the size of a 20c coin and paper thin.
Small bottles of water very expensive, we ended up ordering a lot of large bottles from the takeaway because it was a lot cheaper.

Very nice stay. Only a few minutes walk to bus stop to take you into Bologna centre. Wifi amazing. Felt very luxurious for a decent price and would stay again but definitely get a car.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KCNOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloCarignano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Bellaria Hotel & Congressi, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Guest,
we are glad to read your general satisfaction about Relais Bellaria Hotel.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Bologna.
We really apologize for giving you some little bad feelings, but we are sure it was a misunderstanding. Our Staff always do their best to make you feel better at home!
Hope to see you soon! It will be a pleasure to host you again in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

We chose the Hotel Relais Bellaria as it met three basic criteria - parking, air conditioning and a pool. It met these criteria although our experience during the three day stay didn’t do anything for the property to earn additional stars.
On arrival our room (231) was nearly the furthest you could be from reception, dining room and the pool. We entered the room just as a large mirror hit the floor. When the staff member arrived he showed us room 230. For some reason there was a large sofa taking up space in what was otherwise a good sized room. So we were next shown 232 - this is the furthest you can get from the main body of the hotel! Given that the alternative seemed to be room-by-room inspection, we took it.
This room is designed for disabled people. Not a problem for us although I would question the bathroom layout. A contortionist would have trouble accessing toilet tissue, let alone someone with a disability. There is no shelving in the bathroom except for a tiny shelf with two plastic cups on it (weird!). (A point of note re disability - if you’re sight impaired, you won’t be able to use the lifts as this involves a touch screen with no Braille buttons.)
Access to our room involved a smart key. They don’t work on the first time and you have to push them in and out several times before eventually you can gain access to you room.
Pool towels cost 2 euros each; they charge for water - no complimentary bottle unlike elsewhere; given the cost of the room, these charges seems miserly.
Clearing up my table around me at breakfast because it was 10am was needlessly passive-aggressive. There were other tasks the wait staff could have done while I finished up. This rudeness was compounded on check out when the receptionist continually interrupted me while I was pointing out these issues. I think this hotel has lost sight of the needs of paying customers.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PC20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloCarignano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Bellaria Hotel & Congressi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Relais Bellaria Hotel for your stay in Bologna and for taking time to review your experience. Your complaint will give us the chance to improve our service.
We are very sorry to read that our standards did not meet your expectations but we have to clarify some points:
- our building was born in 2007 as a "low enviromental impact project". We have just 2 room floors, developed horizontally in order to stay set in a small hill. For this reason, rooms are not so close to the elevator, ensuring moreover the maximum silence.
- We did not registered any complaint regarding key malfunction, but we are always available to replace them, if reported.
- We know that other hotels often increase rates in order to offer free water or free pool towels. We choose a better policy: maintaining an excellent quality / price ratio, leaving our Guests free to choose which services to use. We are glad to specify that you paid around 65 € for a double Superior room (24 sqm), including buffet breakfast, wifi, parking and pool access, where is allowed to use your own towels or the free ones you find in the room.
We are very sorry for reported issue at breakfast and we apologize for it. Although the breakfast time was already over, our staff could have done otherwise. We will work to prevent this from happening again.
But the thing we are most sorry for is that, at check-out time, you used the threat of negatively reviewing to get a discount, which obviously was not granted. We firmly believe that this is not fair to those who work hard for the well being of all guests.
We stay at your disposal for any further clarification and send our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018

When you drive in it looks nice with all the trees and the surrounding quiet.
When I checked in, since I had pointed out while making the reservation that I am vegan and I expected vegan options for the breakfast included in the price, the lady at receptions advised to please notify the staff in the breakfast room when I got there the following morning. Room was way too cold with blasting A/C. Not spotless cleaning and no extra cover available given the freezing temperature. Very good sleep on soft mattress and no noise at all.
In the breakfast room I pointed out that I was vegan and was told that they don't have any 'special vegan option' and I could have some fruit (totally unripe), some green leaves with tomatoes and that's it. Luckily they had soy milk so I had that with 3 slices of bread and some maple syrup. Very disappointing especially in the wake of the dimensions of the breakfast buffet which is huge. It certainly would not kill them to have some actual vegan options available.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ECJUNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloCarignano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Bellaria Hotel & Congressi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear guest,
we are sorry to read your dissatisfaction and we apologize for have not been able to satisfy your needs.

We have to clarify that the room’s temperature can be managed directly by yourself from the display and our staff is always at your disposal 24h, always happy to give you assistance for everything.

Regarding the breakfast this is what we offer for vegans:
- fruit juices (orange, pineapple and grapefruit)
- coffee or barley coffee, rice milk or soya milk, tea and infusions
- fresh fruit of season and fruit in syrup (pineapple, peach, apricot and plum)
- rusks and wholemeal rusks
- rice crackers
- honey and jams (orange, peach, strawberry, berries)
- cereal (rice flakes, chocolate rice flakes, muesli and corn flakes)
- salad and tomatoes.

If you want to suggest other vegan dishes please contact us directly. We will be happy to improve our hospitality services.
We hope to have you again with us.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We found this hotel to be very nice. We were only there for about 12 hours as we had an early flight, but the pool area was very relaxing - ensure you get a wrist band at the front desk and bring money for towels (2 euros a piece). Found a nice pizza place about 10 minutes away. Beds were comfortable, shower clean and hot, and patio was private. No complaints! Would stay there again :)

Stayed: August 2018
Thank lisatB8124LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngeloCarignano, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Relais Bellaria Hotel & Congressi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Dear Lisa,
thank you very much for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad to read your general satisfaction and we wait you for another relaxing stay in Bologna.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews